Commercial licensing is complicated. Applying for a CDL can be easy with our NH guide to your CDL.

Basic Requirements For A Commercial Driver’s Permit/License

  • Must meet requirements for a New Hampshire Driver’s license.
  • You must be minimum 18 years of age for a NH CDL license and at least 21 to have an interstate CDL license.
  • Certify that you are in agreement with state motor carrier safety regulations. See Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration or call 1-800-832-5660 for more information.
  • Provide a valid Medical Examiner’s Certificate. You can obtain one by having a licensed medical professional fill out the appropriate Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness Determination. The medical examiner should provide you with a Medical Examiner’s Certificate.
  • Provide 3 forms of official identification; for name, date of birth, and residency. Social Security Number can be used as one of your identity proofs. You could either provide one primary, one secondary, and one residency document. Alternately, you can provide 2 primary and one residency document.
  • Ensure that you do not have a license from any other state.

Steps To Apply For A CDL Permit/License

  1. You must meet the requirements for a New Hampshire driver’s license.
  2. Fill out the CDL application form and hand in in-person to a DMV office.
  3. Apply for any endorsements that you want on your license.
  4. Identify the class of vehicle you want to drive and apply for a license accordingly.
  5. Pass the vision screening test. New Hampshire differs from federal law and requires 20/40 vision in each eye to be eligible for a license. If you fail the vision test, you cannot proceed with further testing.
  6. Pass the CDL written and road tests next. You may be asked to take up to 7 tests including:
  7. General Knowledge Test: Class A, B & C
  8. Passenger Test: Class C
  9. Combination Vehicle Test: Class A
  10. Air Brake Test
  11. See the CDL Manual for the required information.
  12. The written exam can be taken at any DMV location. Once you pass the written exam, the road test will be scheduled for a different day and possibly at a different location. Road tests cannot be taken at all DMV offices in New Hampshire.
  13. For the road test, bring a vehicle that you want to obtain a license for. Ensure that the vehicle has the same endorsements that you have applied for in your CDL.
  14. Attend and then provide proof that you have taken a Commercial driver’s education program specifically for commercial motor vehicles.
  15. Pay the required license and endorsement fees.

Instruction Permit

In order to be eligible to apply for a New Hampshire CDL, you should first have been a Commercial Learner Driver. If you have a valid class D license, you can practice commercial driving. You should be accompanied by a person with a valid CDL for that vehicle who is at least 25 years of age.


A New Hampshire Commercial Driver’s License will be valid for 4 years. Depending on the endorsements you are applying for, the cost will be anywhere from $60 to $105 for a standard CDL license. Please check with the local DMV for more fee information.

CDL Endorsements

The following is a list of endorsements you can get on your CDL. All tests require written tests, some up to 5, and two require skills test.

  • Double/Triple Trailers (Class T).
  • Passenger (Class P).
  • Tank Vehicle (Class N).
  • Hazardous Materials (Class H).
  • School Buses (Class S).

Federal Guidelines For Interstate Drivers

The following is a list of federal requirements for interstate drivers.


Last updated on Monday, July 30 2018.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!