How to Take a Drivers Education Course in New Hampshire
Drivers ed is required by the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for drivers younger than 18 years of age. The program is designed to produce safe and responsible youth drivers ready to take on the roadways. Drivers ed classes are offered at all public high schools throughout the state as well as more than 60 licensed driving schools. Young drivers benefit from this gradual education as they build their knowledge and skills in the classroom and on the road.
Drivers ed online is not currently approved by NH to satisfy the requirement. Drivers older than 18 may choose to enroll in an online program as a study method to prepare for the license test. Drivers education is an integral part of the licensing process for young drivers. For more information about the program, how to enroll in a course and how the program differs from traffic school, continue reading the topics discussed below.
Who needs to take drivers ed in New Hampshire?
According to drivers ed requirements in New Hampshire, all drivers younger than 18 years of age must complete an approved educational course before receiving a driver’s license. This requirement ensures that young motorists are properly trained before they get behind the wheel.
During the course of their education, students learn about the rules of the road alongside the dangers of distracted driving. Adult drivers ed for motorists older than 18 years is not a requirement set by the NH DMV. However, adults may still enroll in a program if they so choose.
Types of Drivers Ed Classes in New Hampshire
Drivers education classes in NH are offered in two settings. High school students may enroll in a course offered at their public school, while others may choose to attend a licensed driving school. The NH DMV gives drivers this option to ensure all motorists, regardless of location or preference, get the education they need to receive a full, unrestricted driver’s license.
Teen drivers ed is available at all public high schools throughout the state. It is the most common program among young NH motorists. Public schools are licensed by the DMV to provide this education to students who are at least 15 years of age.
Alternatively, motorists may choose a driver education course that is offered at one of the more than 60 licensed driving schools throughout New Hampshire. It is important that drivers make sure the program or school of their choosing is approved by the state to meet the DMV requirements for motorists younger than 18 years of age.
Motorists cannot take drivers ed online to satisfy the DMV requirement. They may choose, however, to complete an online course as a secondary study method to go along with their education from an approved provider.
What will you learn in a New Hampshire drivers ed school?
New Hampshire drivers ed classes review all the essential driving topics, such as road signs, laws, traffic procedures and speed limits. The program is designed to give student drivers a thorough education in order to pass the licensing exam. They will complete both classroom and behind-the-wheel training during the course of their education to prepare them to pass the test.
Teen driving school also covers the importance of avoiding distractions while operating a motor vehicle. Drivers will learn about the dangerous consequences of distracted driving, which includes cell phones, loud music and driving with passengers. Students also review the consequences of driving while intoxicated.
New Hampshire Drivers Education Requirements
Drivers ed requirements in New Hampshire are determined by the Department of Safety and the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). All drivers younger than 18 years of age interested in getting a driver’s license must complete the following:
- 30 hours of classroom instruction with a certified instructor
- 10 hours of behind-the-wheel practice with a certified instructor
- 6 hours of driving observation with a certified instructor
Parent-taught drivers ed is another component of the driving requirements. Driving students must complete 40 additional hours of supervised driving time with a parent, guardian or another responsible adult, 10 of which must be done at night. This practice time must be logged into the appropriate sheet and signed by both the driver and the parent or guardian.
Benefits of a New Hampshire Driver Education Course
The benefits of drivers education in New Hampshire are innumerable. Young drivers who are just beginning to learn will benefit from the professional instruction provided by licensed teachers. They will familiarize themselves with road signs, traffic rules and common procedures.
After finishing an education course, both the student driver and the parent can both be confident in his or her abilities on the road. The education requirement helps the young driver learn how to practice safe and responsible driving habits.
How to Enroll in a New Hampshire Driver Ed School
The drivers ed enrollment process in NH varies depending on the type of instruction the driver plans to receive. Those who are interested in signing up for a course offered at their public high school must do so with the school district. Drivers should contact the appropriate individuals to register for the program.
Motorists who plan to complete their education requirement at a driving school may need to complete additional steps during the registration process. There are more than 60 licensed driving schools located throughout the state. To enroll, drivers must usually call the phone number associated with the school or head to the website. If online registration is allowed, drivers may need to submit the following:
- Full name
- Email address
- Phone number
- Date of birth
- Identification documents
- Proof of residency within the state
- Proof of attendance in high school
New Hampshire DMV Drivers Ed Certificates
Upon completing drivers education school, motorists often receive a certificate of completion that acknowledges they have satisfied the DMV requirement. Depending on where the driver completes his or her driving education, the certificate may be automatically forwarded to the DMV. It is important to check with the provider regarding this process. If the school does not forward the certificate on behalf of all drivers, individuals must send it to the following address:
NH Dept. of Safety DMV - Driver Education 23 Hazen Drive Concord, NH 03305
Drivers Ed for New Residents of New Hampshire
Drivers ed is mandatory for all new drivers younger than 18 years of age. Those who have recently moved to New Hampshire and possess an out-of-state permit must get a New Hampshire license. They may be able to transfer their out-of-state driver’s education course, assuming that it meets the requirements of New Hampshire. If not, drivers must enroll in a course approved by the state and take the license test. To determine whether the driver’s out-of-state certificate is transferrable to the state of New Hampshire, motorists must call the DMV.
New Hampshire Drivers Ed vs. Traffic School
A driver education course is not the same as traffic school or a defensive driving course. All young motorists younger than 18 years of age are required to enroll in an education course before receiving a license. It is an obligatory step in the licensing process.
Drivers who commit traffic infractions may be required to enroll in traffic school to improve their driving skills, remove points from their records and avoid suspension. Some may choose to take a defensive driving course to brush up on their skills.
New Hampshire Driver Education Fees
Drivers ed prices in NH depend on where the driver receives his or her education. Costs vary between $450 and $600.