How to Order Your New Hampshire Driving Record
New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles keeps and issues driving records for state residents who have a valid driver’s license. Below you will find everything you need to know about the information in your NH personal driving record.
What is on my New Hampshire driving record?
Depending on the type of driving record and where you purchase it, your New Hampshire driving record may provide either a partial or complete outline of your personal NH driving history. If you order your driving record directly from the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles, it will contain:
- Your date of birth.
- Your home address.
- The application date and status of your driver’s license.
- A list of all car crashes.
- A list of driver’s license suspensions or revocations.
- Past traffic violations and violation points.
- New Hampshire DUI reports.
Did you know? Your personal driving history is a public record. Potential employers, insurance providers, and courts of law can all request a copy of your driving history.
What do points on my New Hampshire driving record mean?
Every offense you have ever committed in New Hampshire will put demerit points on your New Hampshire DMV driving record. Accumulating too many points as a result of these offenses may lead to a suspension or revocation of your driver’s license.
Points on driving records have different values for different offenses. Those values are decided by the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles and are as follows:
- Aggravated DWI: 6 points
- Alteration of title: 6 points
- Change or remove vehicle ID Number: 6 points
- Conduct after an accident: 6 points
- Disobeying police officer: 6 points
- DWI: 6 points
- False report of theft: 6 points
- Lending license to minor to purchase alcohol: 6 points
- Odometer tampering: 6 points
- Prohibition: 6 points
- Road racing: 6 points
- School bus violation: 6 points
- Taking without owner’s consent: 6 points
- Transporting drugs in a motor vehicle: 6 points
- Driving without proof of financial responsibility: 4 points
- Failure to drive on right hand side of the road: 4 points
- Improper passing: 4 points
- Speeding at a rate of 25 mph or greater over the posted speed limit: 4 points
- Abandoned vehicles: 3 points
- Failure to use due care: 3 points
- Speeding at a rate of 1-24 mph over the posted speed limit: 3 points
- Allowing an improper person to drive commercial vehicle: 2 points
- Failure to display or produce a license for an officer: 2 points
Fix any mistake or incorrect points on your driving history record by contacting a New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles office. Taking a traffic school course can also help you remove points from your NH drivers record.
How do points against my New Hampshire license affect me?
Accumulating too many demerit points on your driving record may lead to a suspension or revocation of your New Hampshire driver’s license. Suspensions vary according to the age of the driver:
- Drivers under 18 years old get:
- Three-month suspension for six points in one year
- Six-month suspension for 12 points in two years
- A one-year suspension for 18 points in three years
- Drivers under 21 years old get:
- Three-month suspension for nine points in one year
- Six-month suspension for 15 points in two years
- A one-year suspension for 21 points in three years
- Drivers 21 years old or older get:
- Three-month suspension for 12 points in one year
- Six-month suspension for 18 points in two years
- A one-year suspension for 24 points in three years
These amounts of demerit points, and the suspensions you might get, affect your insurance premiums and your employment status. The more points you accumulate, the higher insurance rates you will get.
Furthermore, the number of demerit points on your driving record might also cause your potential employer to search elsewhere for other candidates.
How do I remove drivers license points from my New Hampshire record?
The best way for New Hampshire drivers to remove demerit points from their driving records is to attend a traffic school. Participating in a defensive driving course will reduce three points from your driving record. The points will be reduced, but they will remain on your driving history.
For a list of approved traffic school courses, click here.
How long do points stay on my New Hampshire driving record?
Three demerit points can be reduced from your New Hampshire driving record. Moreover, those points will remain written on your driving history, even though their point total will be lowered.
New Hampshire DUI Records
The New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles offers a driving record which contains a section about your DUI criminal records. Any driver might need this record in order to keep track of the committed DUI offenses or incidents.
Drivers who have DUI criminal records, may receive one of the following administrative revocations on their driver’s licenses:
- Refusal to submit to a chemical test or prior NH refusal:
- Revocation of 180 days for first offense with no prior DWI convictions
- Revocation of two years for prior record of refusal to submit or DWI conviction
- Implied consent – failure of required testing:
- Revocation of 180 days for first offense with no prior DWI convictions
- Revocation of two years for prior record of failure tests or DWI conviction
How do I know if my New Hampshire driving license is suspended?
Purchase a New Hampshire driving record if you want to check your driver’s license status. In it, you will find all the information from your past driving experience and you can also check whether your driver’s license is suspended or not.
Previous Traffic Violations in New Hampshire
New Hampshire drivers have the option to check their previously committed traffic violations using their DMV driving record. Once you gain access to your NH personal driving report, you can check and manage your unpaid traffic tickets.
Why do I need a copy of my New Hampshire driving record?
Drivers who want to find out every piece of information about their previously committed traffic violations should order a copy of their DMV driving records. Your driving history will prepare you for employment that involves operating a motor vehicle or will get you lower auto insurance premiums.
Check for Points in New Hampshire
New Hampshire drivers order a copy of their driving records for the purpose of checking their status of demerit points. The New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles offers you a driving history record which displays your exact number of demerit points, enabling you to see whether you approach a driver’s license suspension or other penalties.
Applying for a Commercial Driver Position in New Hampshire
Employers want only responsible and safe drivers. Therefore, they will conduct research on every potential candidate for the driver position they offer. They will check your NH driving history record, which might affect your employment opportunities if you do not keep it clean.
In order to be prepared when applying for a commercial driver position, you are advised to order your personal NH driving record and correct any mistakes that you may find, before going in for an interview.
Lower New Hampshire Car Insurance Premiums
When auto insurance companies determine your premiums, they check your personal driving history. Keeping a clean NH driving record will help you get lower insurance rates. Therefore, order a copy of your personal driving record and fix any mistake you find, before applying for auto insurance.
Take New Hampshire Traffic School to Prevent Points
Attending a traffic school in New Hampshire will reduce three demerit points from your driving record. Although the points will be reduced, they will remain written on your driving history.
Another positive thing about the traffic school course is that it might help you avoid canceling your auto insurance, or raising the insurance premiums.
Why do employers check your New Hampshire driving record?
Employers always tend to hire only responsible and safe drivers, therefore they require the driving history reports of all potential candidates for the employment they offer.
Companies first examine the past driving experience of potential employees because they do not want to deal with problematic drivers who might cost them payments of potential medical bills, repair costs or lawsuits from third parties. Once employers eliminate problematic future employees whose driving records contain accidents and violations, they are left with the best candidates for the employment.
Different Types of New Hampshire Driving Records
The New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles offers three types of driving records, also known as driving abstracts.
Insurance Driver Record Report
The insurance driver record report contains only violations and accidents from the last five years on court convictions and the last three years on crashes.
Certified Driver Record Report
The certified version of a driving record has both a seal and a stamp with the Director’s signature and contains details about the driver’s past seven years of court convictions, ten years for DWI convictions and five years of crashes.
Non-Certified Driver Record Report
The New Hampshire non-certified driving record contains the same information about the driver’s past convictions and violations, with the difference that this version does not contain a seal and a stamp with the Director’s signature.
How do I fix a mistake on a drivers history report?
If you discover a mistake on your driving history report, contact the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles to fix it. That way you will prevent any unwanted suspensions or fines.
What is not included on my driving record report?
The New Hampshire DMV driving history report may sometimes be not enough for potential employers of insurance companies. Therefore, DMV.com has provided the following resources of additional information:
- Background checks
- VIN Checks
- DMV police reports
Vehicle Registration History
New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles offers vehicle registration history as part of the driving records. This document displays all your previously owned or registered vehicles and it might serve you as a proof that you can show without recollecting all vehicles.
Driving Record Fees in New Hampshire
Overall, a driving record in New Hampshire costs $15.
Driving Record Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Obtaining a Record from NH.gov