How to Order Your Michigan Driving Record
A Michigan driving record is issued by the Michigan Secretary of State for all residents who have a valid driver’s license. Explore your personal driving history report to get details about offenses or accidents you may have been involved in, or to complete required improvement steps for maintaining an active driver’s license.
What is on my Michigan driving record?
Depending on the type of driving record and where you purchase it, your Michigan driving record may provide either a partial or complete outline of your personal MI driving history. If you order your driving record directly from the Michigan Secretary of State, it will contain:
- Individual’s driver’s license number, full name, date of birth and address.
- License restrictions and endorsements.
- Moving violations history.
- Traffic accidents.
- Failure-to-Appear and Failure-to-Comply suspensions.
- Mandatory suspensions, revocations and denials.
If you order your driving record through DMV.com, you will receive valuable information such as: violation convictions, accidents (if reported by the state), suspensions or limitations, special license classifications and DUI offenses on record. DMV.com recommends ordering a copy at least every three years. Find out what is on your driving history report by filling out the form above to order a copy of your records.
Did you know? Your personal driving history is a public record. Potential employers, insurance providers, and courts of law can all request a copy of your driving history.
What do points on my Michigan driving record mean?
Having driver’s license points on your Michigan driving history report indicates you were convicted of a traffic violation. Depending on the type of the violation it was, between two and six traffic points can be added to your personal driving record. See below for a breakdown of points for specific traffic offenses:
- Felony involving a use of a motor vehicle: 6 points
- DWI offense: 6 points
- Reckless driving, fleeing or eluding a police officer: 6 points
- Drag racing, operating while visibly impaired, or DWI offense for drivers younger than 21: 4 points
- Speeding 16 mph over limit: 4 points
- Careless driving, disobeying a traffic signal, failure to stop at a school crossing, or for a school bus: 3 points
- Speeding 11 to 15 mph over limit: 3 points
- Speeding 10 mph or less over legal speed limit: 2 points
- Other minor moving violations: 2 points
How do points against my Michigan license affect me?
The more points you have on your Michigan driver’s history report, the higher the risk becomes of having your driving privileges reexamined. You cannot accumulate more than 12 points or more on your driving record within a two-year period. If your license is reexamined, your driving privilege can get suspended, revoked or denied.
If you collect more than seven points on your drivers history report or are convicted of specific offenses, then you will be fined with driver’s responsibility fees. The minimum amount would be $100, which increases by $50 for each new accumulated point.
Additionally, points on your MI driving record history affect the discount you could receive from your car insurance provider, or prohibit you from getting a job as a commercial driver.
How do I remove drivers license points from my Michigan record?
To reduce points from your Michigan driving record, complete a basic driver’s improvement course at a traffic school. By completing this drivers ed class, a select number of point information from your MI personal driving record will not be provided to auto insurance agencies.
How long do points stay on my Michigan driving record?
Most moving violations stay on your Michigan driving record report for seven years. Certain serious offenses can stay for at least 10 years.
A severe violation made under the influence of drugs or alcohol or one that had fatal consequences will appear on a complete driving history. For the purposes of driver’s license reexamination, traffic points are counted on your record for two years from the date of conviction.
Michigan DUI Records
Your DUI arrest record reveals all instances in which you were arrested or convicted of driving under the influence. Alcohol-related offenses stay on your personal driving history permanently and can impact your license status for insurance purposes.
By running an MI motor vehicle report lookup and checking the DUI section, you will be able to keep track of driving restrictions and obtain affordable insurance rates.
How do I know if my Michigan driving license is suspended?
A standard reason for checking your Michigan driving record is to find out the status of your driver’s license. By reviewing a recent copy of your MI personal driving history, you can see if your driving privileges are active, near suspension or already suspended. Take necessary action, like enrolling in traffic school, to avoid suspension.
Previous Traffic Violations in Michigan
Your Michigan driving history shows which citations you were convicted of. Each traffic violation is associated with a number of driving points, which will also be listed on your driving record. Order a copy of your MI drivers record to see how many points you have on file.
If you receive too many tickets or points, then you may be called in by the DMV for a reexamination of your driving skills. You are encouraged to practice safe driving practices at all times while driving behind the wheel.
Why do I need a copy of my Michigan driving record?
A copy of your Michigan driving record report is useful to prove that you are a dependable driver. Presenting a clean driving record is proof of your professional integrity as a commercial driver, or can help you negotiate discounted auto insurance rates.
Check for Points in Michigan
By reviewing your Michigan driving record history, you can learn the number of points you have on record prepared by the Michigan Secretary of State. Depending on the severity of the traffic violation, a conviction can warrant between two and six points.
Before your license is suspended for having too many points, the DMV will call you in for a reexamination of your driving skills. Enroll in traffic school to not just remove points, but to learn better driving practices.
Applying for a Commercial Driver Position in Michigan
Order your Michigan personal driving record when you apply for professional driving jobs. By reading the information about violations or restrictions you may have been charged with, you can resolve them before you attend the job interview and stand out among the rest of the job applicants.
Your employee driving record shows whether or not you would be a safe and responsible candidate. Employers are searching for driver to entrust goods or materials with, therefore any traffic convictions or accidents will be considered a liability.
Lower Michigan Car Insurance Premiums
Your Michigan motor vehicle record contains information that verifies your driver’s integrity. Before you purchase auto insurance, order a copy of your MI driving history. Insurance providers are seeking to insure reliable and safe drivers.
The more points you have, or if you have a history of car accidents, you will be considered a risk and not be offered the cheapest option. If you have a clean driver’s report though, then you have an excellent chance of receiving a discounted insurance rate.
Take Michigan Traffic School to Prevent Points
By completing a driver’s improvement course at a traffic school, you can reduce the total amount of points you have on file. By cleaning up your driving record, you may be able to lower you auto insurance rates.
Run a motor vehicle report lookup to learn how many points on your SOS driving record. Keep in mind that if you too many points, you may be required to take a reexamination.
Why do employers check your Michigan driving record?
A spotless driving record is an added benefit to a presentable resume. Candidates who present a clean driving record are considered trustworthy. Truck drivers are responsible for transporting materials and goods, and employers will only hire candidates who can prove a responsible driving history.
If you have accidents or traffic convictions, your employee driving record will reveal them. Employers use employee driving history reports to determine how much of a liability a driver could be, and will choose the person with the cleanest record to avoid paying medical bills or property damages in the future.
How do I get my Michigan driving record?
DMV.com recommends ordering driving records from a secure and reliable source. You have the option of ordering your driving record directly from a local government branch of the Michigan SOS. This is usually the most cost-effective way to obtain your driving record.
However, as an alternative option DMV.com has partnered with BackgroundChecks.com to deliver you the most up-to-date information quickly and conveniently. We partnered with BackgroundChecks.com because their commitment to keeping your information confidential and safe is a top priority.
Different Types of Michigan Driving Records
There are four different types of driving records issued by the Michigan DMV. Depending on if you are a regular or commercial driver, you can a specific driver’s history report. Then, you have the option to get a certified or uncertified one.
Certified Complete Driving Record
Complete driving records Issued by the Secretary of State contain full details about the past driving conduct and are usually purchased by government agencies.
Certified Edited Driving Record
Specific information from your driving history, such as your personal details, is excluded from the edited driving record copy which is provided when requested by potential employers.
Certified CDL Driving Record
The certified CDL driving record report is issued by the Michigan SOS when commercial drivers need to present proof of their professional capacity.
How do I fix a mistake on a Michigan drivers history report?
Information on the Michigan drivers history report must be up to date and accurate. Incorrect information can affect your driver’s license status and can result in wrongful responsibility fees. To avoid unnecessary payment, get mistakes promptly fixed by submitting the relevant correct information to your local SOS office.
What is not included on my Michigan driving record report?
Your driving record doesn’t reveal anything not driving related, therefore to see your financial history or a vehicle’s accident history, review the other types of records offered by DMV.com:
- Background checks
- VIN checks
- DMV police reports
Michigan Vehicle Registration History
Vehicle registration histories include characteristics about each vehicle a driver has registered in Michigan. By obtaining a car registration history report, you will be able to check relevant information about past vehicles and prove your ownership, or release liability for those you no longer own.
Driving Record Fees in Michigan
A driving record in Michigan costs $11. If you wish to obtain a certified copy, you will be required to pay an additional $1 fee.
Driving Record Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Requesting Your Own Driving or Vehicle Record from Michigan.gov
- Requesting a Driving or Vehicle Record from Michigan.gov