How to Order Your Maine Driving Record
The Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) maintains Maine driving records for every resident individual with an ME driver’s license. To access the information within these drivers records and to learn about the process to obtain them, consider the sections below.
What is on my Maine driving record?
Depending on the type of driving record and where you purchase it, your Maine driving record may provide either a partial or complete outline of your personal ME driving history. If you order your driving record directly from the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles, it will contain:
- Driver’s license status.
- Driver’s license issue and expiration dates.
- Demerit points.
- DUI records.
- Traffic violations.
- Reported accidents.
- Personal information.
If you order your driving record through DMV.com, you will receive valuable information such as: violation convictions, accidents (if reported by the state), suspensions or limitations, special license classifications and DUI offenses on record. DMV.com recommends ordering a copy at least every three years. Find out what is on your driving history report by filling out the form above to order a copy of your records.
Did you know? Your personal driving history is a public record. Potential employers, insurance providers, and courts of law can all request a copy of your driving history.
What do points on my Maine driving record mean?
Demerit points, which accumulate on your Maine personal driving record, represent serious traffic violations that you may have committed. Each violation has its own point value, based on the seriousness of the infraction:
- Driving with a suspended license: 8 points.
- Driving on the wrong side of the road, or the wrong way: 6 points.
- Improper passing of a vehicle: 6 points.
- Leaving the scene of an accident that involved property damage: 6 points.
- Driving at an imprudent speed: 4 points.
- Failing to maintain control of your car: 2 points.
- Failing to signal: 2 points.
Drivers who accumulate 12 points or more within the period of one year will incur driver’s license suspension and other penalties. Avoid driver’s license suspension by checking your driving record today.
How do points against my Maine license affect me?
Incurring 12 or more points on your motor vehicle report will result in a short-term driver’s license suspension of up to 15 days. Additional points can lengthen this suspension. In addition, as demerit points represent unsafe driving practices, car insurance companies may charge you higher rates for auto coverage.
How do I remove drivers license points from my Maine record?
Drivers may remove three points from their Maine DMV driving records by enrolling in a state-approved defensive driving course once every 12 months. Otherwise, each resident driver who does not accumulate any violations, suspensions or adjudications in a calendar year will receive a single “violation free credit,” which offsets one demerit point.
Residents may accumulate a total of four violation free credits on their driving records in Maine. For a list of approved Maine traffic schools, click here.
How long do points stay on my Maine driving record?
Points will remain on your Maine driving record for a full year. However, drivers may remove points from drivers records by completing a defensive driving course that has been approved by the state. To verify the accuracy of the violations in your driving past, order a copy of your driving record today.
Maine DUI Records
Driving records from the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles contain DUI records for every driver who has been convicted of driving under the influence. If you need to register for a driver improvement class after being convicted of a DUI, or if you need to reinstate a suspended driver’s license, you may be asked to provide your DUI criminal record, which can only be obtained by getting a copy of your BMV driving record.
How do I know if my Maine driving license is suspended?
A drivers license status is featured prominently on BMV driving records in Maine. Thus, after you learn how to check your driving record, you will see whether or not your license has been suspended and how long the suspension will last.
Previous Traffic Violations in Maine
Maine driving records feature all of the previous violations that you may have been charged for within the state. To ensure the accuracy of each listed violation and to avoid the suspension associated with demerit point accumulation, check your driving record today.
Why do I need a copy of my Maine driving record?
DMV driving records are required to review any violations you may have committed in the state of Maine, as well as the points the convictions resulted in. In addition, clean motor vehicle reports can help you lower your car insurance premiums and increase your chances of getting hired as a commercial driver. Learn more about these topics in the sections below.
Check for Points in Maine
To see how many demerit points you have accumulated in your personal ME driving history, you must check your driving record. Doing so will also help you determine how close you are to having your driver’s license suspended.
Applying for a Commercial Driver Position in Maine
To be considered for a commercial driving position, you must clean your driving record before submitting a job application. Local drivers with demerit points, traffic infractions and reported accidents on their Maine driving records will most likely be rejected for driving positions, due to their unsafe driving practices.
To secure your progress into the interview stage, you must take the necessary steps to remove points from your driving record (via traffic school or violation-free driving) to improve your standing with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. To check what violations you have been cited for or how many points are on your driving history report so that you can prepare for a job interview, order your driving record today.
Lower Maine Car Insurance Premiums
Drivers whose driving records are free from points, traffic infractions and car accidents will easily secure low auto insurance premiums in Maine. Discounts on premiums are how auto insurance companies award drivers for safe-driving practices.
However, the presence of violations or crashes will increase your car insurance rates or possibly even cancel your policy. To ensure that you receive the lowest possible coverage rates, take the necessary steps to clean your driving record before you apply for auto insurance.
Take Maine Traffic School to Prevent Points
Drivers may remove three points from their personal driving history by enrolling in a state-approved defensive driving course. These courses can be taken by residents of Maine once every 12 months.
Why do employers check your Maine driving record?
The primary reason why employers order DMV driving records for each job applicant is to ensure that they hire safe and responsible drivers. Unsafe drivers, whose Maine driving history reports are filled with points, violations and accidents, are more likely to be a liability to the employer.
If an unsafe driver gets into an accident on company time or in a company vehicle, it falls to the employer to pay for any necessary medical bills, property damages, repairs and lawsuits. Thus, purchasing drivers records is a simple but effective way to make an intelligent hiring decision.
How do I get my Maine driving record?
DMV.com recommends ordering driving records from a secure and reliable source. You have the option of ordering your driving record directly from a local government branch of the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles. This is usually the most cost-effective way to obtain your driving record.
However, as an alternative option, DMV.com has partnered with BackgroundChecks.com to deliver you the most up-to-date information quickly and conveniently. We partnered with BackgroundChecks.com because their commitment to keeping your information confidential and safe is a top priority.
Different Types of Maine Driving Records
The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles offers three types of driving records to residents of the state. Your selection will depend on the number of years you want to examine from your personal ME driving history.
3 Year Driving Record
The three-year driving record includes driver-related information from the past three years of your driving history in Maine, including your driver’s license status, the date your driver’s license was issued, when your license is set to expire, any violations you may have committed and any demerit points you may have incurred.
10 Year Driving Record
The 10-year BMV driving record covers the same bases as the DMV 3 year driving record, but features information from up to 10 years in the past.
Certified Driving Record
Covering license suspensions, violations, demerit points and your license issuance date, the certified driving record is the only document of the three which can be used for official purposes.
How do I fix a mistake on a Maine drivers history report?
Mistakes on your Maine driving record can result in serious consequences, including driver’s license suspensions and fines. To avoid these unwanted punishments, you must check your driving record for errors on a regular basis. Any errors you discover should be immediately reported to the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
What is not included on my Maine driving record report?
Although DMV driving records encompass a great deal of driver-related information, an employer or insurance company may ask you to provide additional background information before you can get hired or obtain an insurance policy. For these situations, DMV.com has prepared the following added reports:
Maine Vehicle Registration History
Drivers in Maine are encouraged to check driving records as well as vehicle registration history reports to verify accuracy. Whereas the drivers record focuses on driver-related information, such as violations and accidents the individual in question may have been involved in, the vehicle registration history covers all of the vehicles the driver has owned and registered in the state of Maine. If you are asked to prove vehicle ownership or registration, a vehicle registration history report will suffice as evidence.
Driving Record Fees in Maine
A three-year driving record in Maine costs $5, whereas a 10-year report costs $10. If you need a certified copy of your ME driving record, you will also be required to pay an additional $1 fee.