DMV Practice Test Only $14.99
- Get the Official DMV.com Study Guide.
- BONUS - FREE access to the Road Signs Practice Test
Obtaining a drivers license is required of drivers who intend to operate a motor vehicle on public roads and highways in the state of Maine. An ME DMV drivers license is also recognized and accepted as an official identification document by all government agencies. Before getting a new drivers license, driving applicants must successfully complete a drivers ed course, and fulfill a number of other requirements devised by the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
Did you know? New drivers are most at risk of failing the written driving test on the first try. Be fully prepared on test day by studying with our DMV practice exam.
How to Apply for a Maine Driver's License:
- Visit an ME DMV location.
- Provide proof of completing a driver education course (if younger than 18).
- Present the required documentation.
- Pass the written DMV exam.
- Take and pass the driving test.
- Pass a vision screening.
- Pay Maine driver's license fees.
Getting drivers license privileges in Maine is made simple by reviewing the topics below.
Types of Drivers Licenses in Maine
Any driver who wants to obtain a Maine drivers license will need to fill out and submit a drivers license application. Drivers may apply for either a standard ME drivers license or CDL drivers license, depending on the size and weight of the vehicle that will be driven.
- Class C learner drivers license - Permits teen drivers to operate a non-commercial vehicle with certain restrictions.
- Class C drivers license - Permits drivers to operate a non-commercial vehicle that weighs less than 26,001 pounds.
- Commercial Drivers License (CDL) - Class A or B driving license - permits drivers to operate commercial vehicles weighing 26,001 pounds or more .
NOTE: No separate license class is available for motorcycles, passenger buses or school buses. However operating such vehicles requires a special endorsement that can be attained through examination for the specific vehicle type.
First-Time Driver (Under 18) in Maine
By law, residents of Maine who want to exercise driving privileges within the state must obtain a drivers license. In order to receive a new drivers license, driving applicants must meet the specific requirements outlined by Maine's Bureau of Motor Vehicles. Getting drivers license privileges in ME involves passing a series of exams and presenting proper identification documents, along with proof of residency and lawful presence.
For more information, visit our Learner's Permit page.
Maine New Drivers (Over 18)
Before being issued a standard Maine drivers license, first-time driving applicants must take a written driver's test.
ME Driver's Study Guide and Driver's Practice Test
Our Maine DMV practice tests can benefit drivers who are 18 or older and have never taken the written driver's test. The practice permit test covers a wide range of road-related topics to prepare you for your official exam day.
How to Apply for Drivers Licenses in ME
In order to get a drivers license in ME, you must visit your local DMV to present the necessary documentation. New drivers license applicants must gather the following documents:
- Proof of your identity and birthdate (a birth certificate is mandatory for applicants 22 years of age and younger).
- Proof of your Social Security Number.
- Proof of your Maine residency.
- Proof of lawful legal presence in the United States.
ME Drivers License Eligibility Requirements
Driving applicants requesting a Maine DMV drivers license must be at least 16 years of age and have completed an approved drivers ed program. Note that the drivers ed requirement does not apply to driving applicants who are at least 18 years of age. However, drivers younger than 21 years of age must have held a learners permit for at least six months and completed 70 hours of behind-the wheel- driving experience, with 10 hours of night driving. Until a driver reaches 21 years of age, he or she may only operate a motor vehicle when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years of age and has had a valid drivers license for at least two years. Driving applicants must present proper documentation and pass a written driver's test, a driving skills test and a vision exam in order to be considered a safe driver.
ME Written/Driving Test
To get drivers license privileges in Maine, you must obtain a passing score on your written driver's test. A full Maine drivers license is issued only after you have successfully completed a driving skills exam. Taking a practice permit test is one of the best ways to prepare for the written driver's exam, since the DMV practice test contains similar questions to the ones you will encounter on exam day.
ME Driving Test
To schedule the road test, driving applicants must mail a road test request card to the main Motor Vehicles office in Augusta and wait to receive an appointment notice for testing location nearest you. In order to examine your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle on public roads, the Maine road test will test you on select maneuvers that include the following:
- Your ability to obey road signs.
- Your ability to signal and turn.
- Your ability to maintain safe driving habits in all situations.
- Your ability to properly interact with other drivers and pedestrians.
Additional passengers or pets are not allowed to be in the car during your driving skills exam. Driving applicants must provide a safe vehicle that is in compliance with Maine Motor Vehicle Inspection Criteria. The road test examiner will follow behind you in another vehicle and relay driving maneuvers via walkie-talkie.
New Maine Resident
New residents to the state of Maine can transfer their out-of-state driver's license by visiting a local ME DMV branch within 30 days of moving. You will be required to turn in your out-of-state license, pass a vision screening, pay drivers license fees and show proof of identity, Maine residency, and legal status in the U.S. You will also have to show proof of your transferred car insurance and your car title. In some cases, you may be exempt from completing a written driver's test and a driving skills exam.
When you get drivers licenses privileges in ME, you also need to register your vehicle and take your car for a Maine Motor Vehicle Inspection.
Replace Driver's License in Maine
If your drivers license has been lost, stolen or damaged, you can easily obtain a duplicate drivers license either online, at a nearby DMV branch or by mail per written request. For more information about how you can apply for a ME replacement drivers license, and the fees associated with this process, click here.
Locate a DMV in Maine
In addition to helping you find the DMV branch nearest you, our ME DMV locations page easily lets you review a number of different office divisions in your area and lists their direct contact information.