DMV Practice Test Only $14.99
- Get the Official DMV.com Study Guide.
- BONUS - FREE access to the Road Signs Practice Test
Wyoming residents must apply for drivers licenses in order to legally operate motor vehicles on public roads and highways within the state. Possessing a WY drivers license proves that you understand and know how to follow the road signs and traffic laws. To get drivers licenses in Wyoming, applicants need to complete the requirements set by the WY Department of Transportation, such as pass a series of tests and present the required documentation.
Did you know? Seven out of 10 Wyoming drivers license applicants fail the written drivers test on their first try. Avoid being one of them and use our online practice driving tests to get prepared for exam day.
How to Apply for a Wyoming Driver's License:
- Visit a WY DOT office in person.
- Present the required documentation.
- Your photo will be taken.
- Pass a vision screening, a written test and a driving skills test.
- Pay the WY drivers license fees.
Find out all the necessary information about the Wyoming drivers license application process by reviewing the sections below.
Types of Drivers Licenses in Wyoming
Complete a driving license application when you are ready to get a license to drive in Wyoming. You will only need to choose the type of drivers license from the following list:
- Class A - issued to drivers who operate a combination of vehicles with a weight of 26,001 pounds or more (GVWR).
- Class B - issued to drivers who operate a single vehicle with a weight less than 26,001 pounds (GVWR).
- Class C - issued to drivers who operate any single vehicle with a weight less than 26,001 pounds (GVWR) or a vehicle towing a vehicle/trailer that weighs less than 10,000 pounds.
- Class M - issued to drivers who operate motorcycles or three-wheel trikes.
- Class I Instruction Permit - issued to beginner drivers.
- Restricted Class RC, RC-M or RM - issued to drivers who operate a non-commercial vehicle or motorcycle under these restrictions:
- Drivers are allowed to drive from 5 a.m. to 8 p.m. in a radius of 50 miles from their home and in the direction of their parent or legal guardian.
- Class I2 - issued to drivers who operate a non-commercial vehicle or commercial Class B vehicle under the following restrictions:
- Drivers are allowed to drive from 5 a.m. to 11 p.m. with no more than one passenger under 18 years of age.
- All passengers must wear seat belts.
First-Time Driver (Under 18) in Wyoming
First-time drivers may apply for a new drivers license at the nearest WY DOT office. In order to begin with the Wyoming drivers license application process, they need to apply for a learners permit first and fulfill certain requirements, such as: be at least 15 years of age, pass the mandatory exams and present the required documentation, along with payment for the applicable fee.
For more information, visit our Learner's Permit page.
Wyoming New Drivers (Over 18)
Wyoming DMV drivers license applicants must complete the application process for driving credentials at a local DOT office.
WY Driver's Study Guide and Driver's Practice Test
Wyoming drivers license applicants must pass a written drivers test to move on to the next step in the driving license application process. To prepare, study the Wyoming Driver License Manual, as the questions are taken from the road rules and traffic laws chapters. Also, utilize our driving practice tests to improve your chances of passing the official WY written drivers test.
How to Apply for Drivers Licenses in WY
To apply for drivers licenses in Wyoming, applicants must be at least 15 years of age and submit the following documentation to the nearest WY DOT office:
- Proof of identity.
- Two proofs of Wyoming residency.
- Proof of Social Security Number.
- Proof of name change, if necessary.
WY Drivers License Eligibility Requirements
To get drivers license privileges in Wyoming, applicants must meet the age requirements. Wyoming offers instruction driving permits to residents who are at least 15 years of age. Additionally, intermediate provisional licenses are available to applicants who are 16 years of age. To get unrestricted DMV licenses in Wyoming, applicants must be at least 17 years of age, or 16-and-a-half years old if they completed a drivers education course and have held an intermediate license for six months. Additionally, drivers license applicants must pass the Wyoming driver's exams and present the necessary documentation at a local DOT office.
WY Written/Driving Test
The drivers license application process involves passing a written drivers test, which contains questions about safe driving, traffic laws and road rules. Learners permit holders may take our driving permit practice tests in order to get better prepared for the written exam and pass it on their first try.
Note: The written drivers test is only available in English, but you can use an interpreter or request an oral exam before the test day.
WY Driving Test
One of the exams you need to pass to get driving license credentials is the driving skills test. It examines your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle on public roads and highways within Wyoming. In any case, you need to show proof of drivers education course completion in order to be eligible to take the driving skills test.
New Wyoming Resident
New residents in Wyoming need to apply for drivers licenses if they want to legally operate a motor vehicle within the state. They can also transfer their out-of-state drivers licenses in person at the Wyoming Department of Transportation within one year of their move. Once they visit the WY DOT, they will have to submit the required documentation and pay the applicable fees. Additionally, drivers may or may not need to retake the written and driving skills tests, according to the situation. However, they will be required to pass the vision screening test again.
Note: If you are from Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee or Wisconsin, you will have to transfer your drivers license immediately, rather than within a full year.
Replace Drivers License in Wyoming
If your Wyoming drivers license is stolen or lost, you will need to apply for a drivers license replacement at the nearest WY DOT office. For more information on how to replace drivers licenses, click here.
Locate a DMV in Wyoming
Explore our Wyoming DOT locations page to find branches throughout the state. Next to each DMV location, you will find its office hours, phone number and address.