SR-22 Insurance in Wyoming
As part of knowing how to get SR22 insurance in Wyoming, it is important to learn about this form of insurance and when you may be required to obtain it. SR-22 rates are generally higher than standard liability insurance coverage, but they do not offer any additional forms of coverage. While most auto insurance agencies offer this form of insurance, rates will vary from one agency to another.
If required to complete an SR22 form in Wyoming, it is important to know that you will not be able to reinstate your driver’s license until this form has been submitted and processed. Furthermore, you will be required to maintain this insurance for a set period of time that will be determined based upon your conviction or judgment. Failing to maintain your insurance will result in the immediate suspension of your driver’s license and driving privileges.
What is Wyoming SR22 insurance?
Before learning who needs SR22 insurance in Wyoming, it is important to learn what this type of insurance actually is. This form of insurance is considered “high risk” insurance and is required by the state after the convictions of certain insurance violations and moving violations. Most drivers who are mandated to carry SR22 have had their driving privileges revoked due to the aforementioned violations.
Furthermore, most auto insurers provide this form of insurance, but rates will vary among insurers and some insurance agencies may require that you pay your full premium up front rather than in monthly installments. While SR-22 rates are higher than standard liability insurance, it is an addition to your policy and does not provide you with any additional coverage options.
An SR22 form is filed by the insurance agency that you choose. This form is key in reinstating your driving privileges, regardless of whether or not you own a motor vehicle. In fact, if your insurance policy ever lapses or is canceled while you are required to maintain high-risk insurance, your Wyoming driver’s license will be suspended.
Your SR22 policy must still meet Wyoming liability insurance requirements, including:
- $25,000 bodily injury/death for one person/accident
- $50,000 bodily injury/death for two persons in one accident
- $20,000 in property damage
While you can choose to have higher amounts of coverage, you must meet the minimum liability insurance that is required by the state of Wyoming.
Who needs SR22 insurance in Wyoming?
It is important to know who needs SR22 insurance in Wyoming in order to understand the potential driver’s license reinstatement processes. While an SR22 form will not be required on all types of suspended driver’s licenses, you will be required to obtain high-risk insurance if you are convicted of insurance violations or certain moving violations.
SR22 is required after any conviction involving insurance violations. These violations include operating a vehicle without insurance, operating a vehicle without proof of insurance or being involved in an accident without insurance — no matter who is found at fault in the accident.
Moving violations that require high-risk insurance for driver’s license reinstatement include, but are not limited to, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, vehicular assault or manslaughter and reckless driving.
Reinstating Driving Privileges With SR22 in Wyoming
If required to submit an SR22 form in Wyoming, there will be additional steps that you must take in order to reinstate your driver’s license. Once you have completed your suspension period, the period of time in which your license must remain suspended, you must meet the following criteria:
- There are not any additional suspendable offenses pending that would result in your license being suspended again.
- An SR-22 form must have already been filed by your insurance company and processed by the Wyoming DOT.
- You must have paid your reinstatement fee.
Reinstatement fees can be paid in person at any driver exam office, by mail or over the phone. If paying by mail, you may only pay using a personal check or a money order. Cash is not accepted.
How to Get SR22 Insurance in Wyoming
SR22 insurance quotes can be found from almost all of the automotive insurance providers that are licensed within the state of Wyoming. Premium rates will vary between insurance agencies, but once you have chosen a provider, the insurance company can file your insurance form with the state.
Generally, a completed SR22 form is sent to the Wyoming DOT between 24 and 72 hours of purchase. It is also worth knowing that many insurance providers may require that you pay your entire premium up front rather than in monthly installments.
Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form in Wyoming
If you fail to obtain SR22 insurance after the Wyoming DOT requires you to do so, you will not be eligible for a driver’s license reinstatement. Furthermore, your auto insurance provider will be legally required to report the cancellation of your policy or a lapse in your policy to the DOT immediately following the change.
Should this happen, the DOT will suspend your driver’s license again and you will be required to meet reinstatement requirements, including fees, before another license will be issued. An SR22 form must be filed by your insurance company should you change providers in order to avoid a lapse in coverage or the reported cancellation of your coverage.