The state of Florida uses the SR-22 form to help protect its citizens against problem drivers by monitoring their insurance. It requires the auto insurance company to file the SR-22 form as a proof of a problem driver's financial responsibility, stating that his/her auto insurance liability is in effect.
The state of Florida uses the SR-22 form to help protect its citizens against problem drivers by monitoring their insurance. It requires the auto insurance company to file the SR-22 form as a proof of a problem driver's financial responsibility, stating that his/her auto insurance liability is in effect. The state does not send notifications and it is the responsibility of the driver and the auto insurance company to submit the form as well as the renewals, to the state, if required.
WHAT IS A SR-22 FORM?
There are three different types of SR-22 forms:
- An SR-22 form certifies the driver has minimum liability insurance coverage and is required for three years after a point suspension, habitual traffic revocation or judgement involving a crash in which the vehicle owner did not have insurance.
- A six-months non-cancellable SR-22 form certifies a driver who has received a ticket for operating a vehicle without proof of insurance has gotten the proper insurance. The six-month non-cancellable SR-22 is required for two years.
- An FR-44 form form is required for drivers who have been convicted of driving under the influence. The FR-44 is proof the driver has purchased increased insurance coverage as required by the court. FR-44 forms are required for three years from the original suspension date.
WHEN IS SR-22 REQUIRED?
The SR-22 financial responsibility Insurance form is required in the following cases:
- If you have any safety responsibility suspensions. For example, if an uninsured driver was involved in an accident in the past but did not pay the requisite compensation then he or she needs to fill the SR-22.
- If you have any unsatisfied judgment suspensions. For example, if a driver involved in an accident in the past has an unsatisfactory judgment entered against him then he or she needs to fill the SR-22.
- In case of revocations of license.
- In the case of mandatory insurance supervisions.
- In case you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) then you will have to file a SR-44. This is a more stringent version of the SR-22.
FILING FOR THE SR-22
- Contact a state-authorized insurance agency to request for a SR-22 filing.
- Pay the correct processing fee to the agency. The fee amount may vary between agencies. You can request an insurance quote from our Florida auto insurance page and companies such as Esurance will allow you to request an SR-22 filing automatically.
- As per the State laws of Florida, the minimum amount of coverage should be $10,000 for one person killed or injured, $20,000 for two or more persons killed or injured and $10,000 for property damage. You are also required to be covered for uninsured motorist bodily injury and personal injury protection. In case you are required to file FR-44 you will have to follow the more stringent requirements of $100,000 for one person killed or injured, $300,000 for two or more persons killed or injured and $50,000 for property damage.
- Upon receiving the request from the agent the central office then sends the SR-22 directly to the Secretary of State in about 30 days.
- If accepted, you will receive the SR-22 from the agency along with a letter from the Secretary of State.
- The SR-22 has to be maintained for a minimum period of 36 months. If the motorist does not renew it at least 15 days before the expiration date the agency notifies the State. The State may then suspend the driving record of the motorist until the insurance is reinstated.
FOR OUT OF STATE RESIDENTS
- If you are from out of state your out of state proof of financial responsibility will be accepted provided that your insurer certifies in writing that the insurance policy complies with the laws of the state of Florida. It is best to contact your insurance agent to find out if your out of state policy is valid in the state of Florida.
- If you are required to file SR-22 in Florida you will have to do so through an insurance company that is licensed to do business in the state. In most cases a simple non-owner policy will be sufficient to restore your driving privileges in Florida.