How to Replace a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in Florida
Important Information on Replacing Commercial Driver’s Licenses
How to Replace CDL Licenses in Florida
CDL replacement in Florida is only done in person â€” not online, by mail or over the phone. If your CDL driving license was lost or stolen, you want to first notify local law enforcement and get a copy of the police report. If your commercial driving license is damaged beyond legibility, you will have to also fulfill the replace CDL license DMV process. Fortunately, replacing CDL licenses in FL is simple:
- Make an appointment at your local driving license office in Florida.
- Bring the original or certified copies of the following documentation:
- Proof of Identity
- Valid FL CDL license
- FL drivers license
- U.S. passport
- U.S. military card
- Proof of age
- Birth certificate
- U.S. passport
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Social Security card
- Two proofs of residency (must be dated within the past 60 days)
- Utilities bills
- Bank statements
- School report card
- Magazine subscriptions
- Proof of Identity
- Pay the commercial drivers license replacement fees of $25 with:
- American Express
Causes of a Suspended CDL License
Committing various driving-related violations can result in a commercial drivers license suspension, including:
- Being convicted of DUI or DWI in Florida.
- Not taking a BAC test.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Speeding or driving recklessly.
- Incurring two traffic tickets in three years.
- Incurring three traffic tickets in three years.
- Being caught possessing a controlled substance while driving.
In addition, these violations will vary when it comes to the length of the suspension period. Typically, a first major offense will result in a one-year commercial driving license suspension in Florida, but if the driver is transporting hazardous materials, the first major offense (such as a DUI) comes with a three-year suspension. Any second major offense is grounds for lifetime disqualification with the possibility of reinstatement after a period of 10 years.
The specific breakdown of major and minor suspensions is as follows:
- Being charged with two traffic violations in three years: 60-day suspension
- Being charged with three violations in three years: 120-day suspension
- Driving under the influence: one year of a suspended CDL
- If transporting hazardous materials: minimum of three years
- Not taking a BAC test: one-year suspension
- Possessing a controlled substance in a commercial vehicle: one-year suspension
- Committing a felony that involves the making, transporting, or providing a controlled substance: lifetime disqualification without the possibility of suspended drivers license reinstatement
Furthermore, in none of these instances will you be eligible for a hardship drivers license in Florida, and drivers are legally required to inform employers of their violations and convictions within the period of 30 days. Fortunately, CDL license drivers may contact a ticket or DUI attorney to represent them in court. These traffic ticket attorneys can reduce suspension times and fees, if not eliminate them altogether.
Reinstating Suspended CDL License
The process for suspended CDL license reinstatement in Florida is simple and only contains two steps:
- Wait for suspension period to end
- Pay applicable fee to reinstate suspended CDL license
While it is important to keep in mind that certain offenses will result in a lifetime disqualification, and others will require an additional court-ordered fee, most commercial driving license violations only need you to pay one of the following amounts:
- Fee to reinstate suspended CDL license: $75
- Fee for unpaid CDL traffic tickets (D-6): $60
- Fee for alcohol- or drug-related suspended CDLs: $130
- Commercial Driving Ed in Florida
- Florida Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application
- How to Renew a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in Florida
- Commercial Driver’s Manual in Florida