Renew Vehicle Registration
Car registration renewals must be completed on time in Florida. If you don't, you may be subject to penalties and extra fees.
Know When You Can Renew Your Vehicle Registration
The registration renewal cycle in Florida varies depending on the type of vehicle you own.
Did you know? You can renew your auto registration up to 30 days before its expiration date.
- Standard Motor Vehicles must be registered yearly by your birthday. If the vehicle is registered to more than one person, the renewal day would correspond to the date of birth of the first person listed on the registration.
- Motorcycle registrations must be annually renewed. Motorcycle registration renewal cycles take place on the same month as the motorcycle was first registered.
- The registrations for mobile homes and RVs must be renewed by December 31 every year. In this case, you can renew up to 31 days before the renewal deadline.
- Commercial vehicle registrations are renewed every six months or every year, depending on the type of vehicle.
Some vehicles qualify for a two-year car registration renewal, in which case you would have to pay the fees for both years. Vehicles which qualify for a two-year (24-month) registration in Florida are:
- Private use automobiles weighing up to 3,500 pounds.
- Private and commercial trucks weighing up to 5,000 pounds.
DMV.com recommends registering your car registration from a secure and reliable source. Using a company that you trust is important, and one that makes keeping your information confidential a priority.
Do you have holds on your car registration?
You cannot renew when there is a hold on your vehicle registration. The DMV will make you wait until you can pay off all the fines and handle the reasons for your hold.
The two reasons for holds are:
- Unpaid tickets.
- Being caught for driving without auto insurance.
To ensure you will have your car registration renewed on time, DMV.com has provided you with the option of renewing your registration online. If you have any holds, DMV.com’s service can help you resolve these issues. Start renewing your registration today!
Registration Renewal Fees in Florida
In Florida, car registration renewal fees are dependent on a few factors:
- Type of vehicle
- Weight or length in regards to mobile homes
- Florida county-specific processing fees
You will receive a registration renewal notice in the mail to help you keep track of your auto registration renewal fees. If you are late to renew registration certifications, then delinquent fees will be applied. Late renewal fees vary based on the license plate tax class and how long it has been expired.
How to Renew Car Registration in Florida
As your expiration date approaches – which is every year on your birthday if you have a car –mark it on your calendar or set a reminder on your phone.
Invalid registration can result in hefty tickets and fines, not to mention, it's very costly to renew expired car registrations. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles mails courtesy car registration renewal notices to drivers. Included you will find:
- The car registration's expiration date.
- Ways to renew your auto registration.
- Vehicle registration renewal fees.
If you are moving to a new residence within the year, make sure to change your address on your drivers license with the FL DMV. You will also want to take steps to change your address with the United State Postal Service (USPS).
- Visit a trustworthy site that fulfills address changes online.
- Have your old and new Florida residential addresses available.
- Have a valid major credit or debit card at hand to pay the associated costs.
- Give the USPS 48 hours to process your change of address request.
- Head to your nearest FL drivers license officeto change the address on your driver’s license.
There are different methods for renewing car registration:
- In Person
- By Mail
DMV.com: To renew your vehicle registration, you must have valid car insurance that meets Florida's minimum liability requirements. If you need to get car insurance, check out affordable auto coverage quotes here.
Renew Car Registration Online
To renew your car registration online in Florida, follow the steps below:
- Have ready the following pieces of information:
- Proof of identity:
- FL driver's license number
- Vehicle license plate number
- Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
- Transaction number listed on your current registration certificate
- Your date of birth
- The last four digits of your Social Security Number
- A major, valid credit card to pay your renewal fee
- Proof of identity:
- Fill out the form above.
Renew Car Registration in Person
All Florida drivers may renew their vehicle registration in person at their local county tax collector's office.
- Make an appointment at your local county tax collector's office.
- Bring the following documents with you (originals or certified copies only):
- Your vehicle renewal notice or current registration certificate
- Your driver's license or FL ID card
- Proof of insurance for your vehicle
- Bring cash, check or a major credit/debit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover) to pay your registration renewal fees. You will then receive a new registration certificate and registration decal for your vehicle.
Vehicle Registration Renewal by Mail
Renewing car registration by mail is only an option for Florida drivers who receive a renewal notice that clearly states "Vehicle Registration Renewal by Mail" as an option. If you are authorized by the FL DMV to renew your vehicle registration through the mail:
- Fill out the form within the registration renewal notice.
- Write out a check or money order for the assessed fees (will be included in the renewal notice).
- Send both items to your local county tax collector's office, or the address provided in the registration renewal notice.
Keep in mind that with new vehicle registration, you are required to also maintain current auto insurance. Review car insurance quotes before getting behind the wheel of your newly registered car.
Can Someone else Renew my Registration for Me?
Yes, the Florida DMV allows others to renew your car registration on your behalf. However, you must make sure that this person brings all of the following:
- A copy of your car registration certificate or the renewal notice
- Proof of car insurance
- Payment for the fee
Occasions When You Cannot Renew Car Registrations
There are three occasions in which you will not be able to renew a car registration in Florida. If you have just recently received your car registration certificate and any of the following incidents occur, you will have to order a vehicle registration replacement instead:
- Your vehicle registration was damaged
- Your vehicle registration was lost
- Your vehicle registration was stolen
New Vanity License Plates
Every 10 years, Florida drivers must get new license plates. Fortunately, if you want to get new personalized license plates or change your custom license plates, you can apply for new vanity license plates as you renew your vehicle registration. There are hundreds of different license plates to choose from in Florida that support different charities, organizations, government forces, universities, wildlife and more. When it's time to get new license plates, the FL DMV will send you a notice explaining how to get new tags and how much the license plates will cost.
Learn more about Florida license plates here.
What to Do if You Don't Get Your Plates or Decals
In the event that you do not get the license plates, registration decals or vehicle tags that you ordered from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, take immediate action. Contact the Call Center at the following number and verify the shipping status of your order: 850-617-2000.