How to Take a Drivers Education Course in Florida
Drivers education in Florida is required for all young motorists who are seeking a learner’s permit in the state. This means that all new drivers who are between 14-and-a-half and 17 years of age must take drives ed classes to earn a license. In FL, these courses are also known as Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) programs. Moreover, students may enroll in drivers ed online through public classes or third-party courses.
A driver education course in FL will teach new motorists all of the important aspects related to driving. These include defensive driving techniques, the importance of avoiding drugs and alcohol and how to manage road-side emergencies. At the end of a drivers ed course, students will receive a certificate of completion, which must be submitted to the FLHSMV in order to obtain a permit. Keep reading below to understand what needs to be done in order to complete drivers ed school in Florida.
Who needs to take drivers ed in Florida?
Registration for drivers ed in Florida is required for teens who are between 14-and-a-half and 17 years of age. As such, all teenage motorists seeking to acquire a learner’s permit must first complete drivers ed classes. Alternatively, drivers who are at least 18 years of age do not have to meet the same driver education course requirements.
Types of Drivers Ed Classes in Florida
Drivers ed classes in FL can be completed either online or in a classroom. Overall, most motorists are drawn to registering for drivers ed online as these programs offer more convenience and flexibility. However, various high schools throughout the state offer the Driver Education Licensing Assistance Program (DELAP), and third-party institutions offer different types of in-person classes.
Florida Online Drivers Ed vs. In-Person Courses
Taking driver ed online classes is slightly different from undergoing an in-person course. For example, students who choose to take an online driver ed course will be able to complete their lessons at any time that suits them. Moreover, drivers ed online classes allow students to set their own learning pace. A provider like DriversEd.com offers this convenient online option for new motorists. Through this trusted third-party provider, residents can complete their driver education course online and gain access to the official permit test.
On the other hand, in-classroom drivers education programs are optimal for students who prefer the traditional approach to learning. This way, residents can have their questions answered by both peers and instructors. However, students must be mindful that they will have a set time to complete work on their driver education program taken in person.
What will you learn in a Florida drivers ed school?
At an FL drivers ed school, students learn about many important topics that will help keep them safe on the road. These topics range from traffic controls to special driving situations.
In addition, new motorists will learn how different mental and physical states and other motorists on the road may affect their own driving. By the end of drivers education school, students will understand FL traffic laws, defensive driving techniques and the best practices for driving under different weather conditions.
Florida Drivers Education Requirements
The primary FL drivers education requirement is the completion of the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course. However, new motorists must also complete at least 50 hours of driver training. Of those 50 hours, 10 must consist of nighttime driving before they can apply for a full license.
Benefits of a Florida Driver Education Course
Completing an FL driver education course can help make students better motorists. Drivers education classes teach residents how to operate their vehicles in different situations and mental states. Furthermore, they will learn about the importance of avoiding drugs and alcohol especially while driving.
Overall, a drivers ed school will provide new motorists with all the knowledge they need to effectively handle driving situations and keep themselves and others safe on the road. As a result, they can decrease their chances of being in an accident or stopped for violating a traffic law.
Furthermore, students who register for an online drivers ed course can earn credits toward their online learning requirement that leads them to obtain full licenses. Generally, completing these courses will count as a half credit.
How to Enroll in a Florida Driver Ed School
Before enrolling in a Florida drivers ed school, motorists need to find a provider who is approved by the FLHSMV. In general, both in-person and online drivers ed course providers are available in the state.
As an example, first-time motorists who are 18 years of age and older and need to complete an online drivers ed course can sign up with DriversEd.com. Through this third-party provider, drivers can complete the class on any device, take unlimited practice permit tests and feel confident in DriversEd.com’s 99.5 percent permit exam pass rate.
Florida DMV Drivers Ed Certificates
Students need an FL DMV drivers ed certificate in order to apply for a learner’s permit. That is because this certificate is one of the most important documents that applicants need to bring to their FLHSMV appointment.
The Florida driver education course certificate, otherwise known as a TLSAE waiver, is awarded to students after they complete their course. Sometimes, this certificate is automatically sent electronically to the FLHSMV.
Drivers Ed for New Florida Residents
Enrolling in FL drivers ed is a requirement for new residents who have never held or do not possess a drivers license from a different state or country. As such, these motorists must complete drivers education classes before applying for a Florida license. This is a requirement for new residents who are younger or older than 18 years of age.
Florida Drivers Ed vs. Traffic School
There are several key differences between FL drivers ed and traffic school. First, a drivers ed course is for new motorists who have never held a license. This type of course is primarily for teens between 14-and-a-half and 17 years of age.
Additionally, first-time drivers who are 18 years of age and older must also attend drivers education classes if they have never held a license in any other state or country. In both adult and teen driving school, students learn about vehicle operation and safety in depth in addition to the importance of avoiding alcohol and drugs while operating a car.
In contrast to a drivers education school, traffic school is for experienced motorists. Drivers are typically required to attend traffic school after receiving certain citations such as speeding or driving while under the influence. Unlike drivers education, traffic school programs focus on correcting negative driving behaviors rather than providing a brand-new overview of vehicle operation.
Florida Driver Education Fees
Driver education in Florida has a wide range of costs. Certain courses are even available for free. However, most drivers ed prices offered by third-party providers will range between $8 and $29.
- Licensing Requirements for Teens from FLHSMV.gov
- Driver Improvement Schools from FLHSMV.gov