Iowa Drivers Education Courses
Iowa drivers ed provides first-time drivers with the knowledge and skills they need to safely operate a vehicle. IA driver education classes are mandated for residents between 14 and 18 years of age, who are applying for an instruction permit or driving license. The IA Department of Transportation approves of a few different driver education options for students, including Parent Taught Driver Education. Continue reading below to find out more about the programs available.
Benefits of Taking Drivers Education Courses
Attending drivers ed training in Iowa will qualify residents for the following:
- First-time drivers will be issued a IA driver’s license.
- Drivers may receive a discount on their car insurance.
- Learn about the importance of road safety.
Enroll in an Online Drivers Ed course today!
Drivers Education Course Insurance Discounts
To find out if you qualify for a drivers ed insurance discount in Iowa, you must contact your current or future auto insurance provider. Car insurance companies that do accept your drivers ed certificate will determine the rate at which your premium will be discounted.
Iowa Drivers Ed Curriculum
An Iowa drivers ed course will cover topics such as:
- Defensive driving skills.
- Iowa traffic laws.
- Railroad crossing safety.
- Organ donation.
- Bicycle and motorcycle awareness.
Did you know? Taking a drivers ed course is not required once a driver’s license applicant has reached 18 years of age. However, you may still apply for driver’s ed to become fully experienced and safe on the road.
Enrolling in Drivers Education Courses
How to Enroll in Drivers Ed
To register for Iowa drivers ed, contact your provider of choice. Teens can enroll in drivers ed at their high schools or through private driving schools. First-time drivers not enrolled in high school can take driving lessons through Iowa certified driving schools. Parents of home-schooled children can visit the website of a state approved PTDE course to sign up for courses that qualify them to teach their children how to drive.
Enroll in an Online Drivers Ed course today!
Online Iowa Driver Ed vs. in Person
IA online drivers ed and classroom-based courses differ in the type of student they serve. Teen driving courses must be taken in person to satisfy the drivers ed requirement for driver license applicants younger than 18 years of age. Iowa online driving classes are approved by the IA DOT for the parent-taught drivers education program. Only parents of home-schooled students can take an online course to become certified to give their child driving lessons. Click here to view a list of Iowa-approved driving schools.
Cost of Drivers Ed in Iowa
Teen driving classes cost is determined by the institution providing the course. High school drivers ed programs are usually priced at a similar rate throughout the state. To find an affordable drivers ed program, contact several providers and compare their rates against each other.
Iowa Drivers Ed Requirements and Eligibility
Completing a state approved Iowa driver education course is required for residents who are between 14 to 18, and entering into the graduated driver’s license (GDL) system.
Teen driving school in Iowa may be completed by residents at either a public or private driving school. An MVD driver education course consist of 30 hours of classroom lessons, including four hours of substance abuse education and at least 20 minutes of railroad crossing safety instruction. Additional topics covered in the classroom include organ donation and bicycle and motorcycle awareness. The laboratory portion of the course allows a student a minimum of three hours of behind-the-wheel driving.
Parent-taught driver education (PTDE) is an additional option extended only to first-time drivers who are between 14 to 21 years of age and home-schooled. To become qualified to assist a child in fulfilling the driver education requirement, the parent must complete a driving course approved by the IA DOT.
Drivers Ed Certificates
Students will receive an Iowa drivers ed certificate upon successful completion of a teen driving course. Learners must present their driving school certificate of completion at a IA DOT office along with their application for a driving license. Only Iowa certified driving school certificates will be accepted.
Finding an Iowa-Approved Drivers Education Course
Locating a state-approved driver education course is simple for both teen and adult drivers. Public schools hold teenage driving classes in Iowa for students between 14 to 18 years of age. Adult driving courses may be taken at private, third-party driving schools that are approved by the Iowa Department of Transportation. Click here to locate a provider in your area.