Kansas drivers education courses assist residents with not only attaining the appropriate skills to become safe drivers but also with meeting the requirements to obtain a license to drive. Drivers who are required to take drivers ed in Kansas must do so through state-approved providers. Attending driving school may also qualify learner drivers for a discount on their auto insurance premium.
Benefits of Taking Drivers Education Courses
The benefits of taking drivers education in Kansas include being eligible to skip the KS DOR driver’s license test, as well as the following:
- First-time drivers will be issued a KS driver’s license.
- Drivers may receive a discount on their auto insurance.
- Understanding the road, and the importance of safety.
Drivers Education Course Insurance Discounts
KS drivers ed insurance discount qualifications are set by the auto insurance provider of the vehicle owner. Contact your current or future car coverage company to find out if you are eligible for a safe driver discount. You can also find out what driver education courses are accepted for this purpose.
Kansas Drivers Ed Curriculum
Kanas drivers ed programs offer learners a well-rounded education on driving topics such as:
- Defensive driving skills.
- DUI regulations.
- Kansas traffic laws.
- Road rules.
Did you know? Completing a Kansas driver education course is not a requirement for driver’s license applicants once they have reached 16 years of age. However, applicants of any age who complete a state-approved drivers ed course are exempt from taking the KS DOR written and road examination.
Enrolling in Drivers Education Courses
How to Enroll in Drivers Ed
Driver education enrollment methods can vary depending on the provider. Private drivers ed providers operate online or in person. Driving classes for teenagers are administered by high schools throughout the state. A learner must be enrolled in the secondary school in which they plan to take drivers ed classes.
Online Kansas Driver Ed vs. in Person
Kansas drivers ed online courses may be taken to qualify a vehicle owner for a discount on his or her insurance policy. However, the Kansas Department of Revenue only accepts driving school certificates from approved local state approved providers.
Cost of Drivers Ed in Kansas
Driving school costs in Kansas vary based upon the provider. Drivers ed courses are offered through local high schools and community colleges. Find affordable driving lessons by contacting providers in your area.
Kansas Drivers Ed Requirements and Eligibility
Taking an approved KS drivers ed course is required for residents between 15 and 16 years of age who are applying for a restricted driver’s license. Teen driving classes are offered at high schools to enrolled students. The minimum age to attend teen driving school in Kansas is between 14 and 15 years of age, depending on the provider. Only drivers ed courses approved by the Kansas Department of Education can be taken to fulfil the driver education mandate.
Learner drivers older than 16 years of age who choose to complete a certified driving school course will not only hone their behind-the-wheel skills, they will also become eligible to bypass the written and road tests when applying for a driver’s license with the Kansas Department of Revenue.
Drivers Ed Certificates
Your driver education certification in KS must be presented at the time of application for a driving license. The DE-99 drivers ed completion slip is the only official certificate that is accepted by the Kansas Department of Revenue for the purpose of obtaining a license to drive.
Finding a Kansas-Approved Drivers Education Course
Kansas DMV driving classes are held throughout the state within local high schools. Enrolled students may register for a drivers ed course with their respective secondary school. To view a list of KS DOR-approved driver education programs, click here.