Kansas Car Seat Laws
Car seat laws in Kansas require a driver transporting a child passenger to adhere to the child restraint rules based on age, weight and height. Booster seat laws and rules for car seat usage are written to protect the youngest passengers in the state, ensuring their safety based on their specific needs.
The booster seat age limits in Kansas indicate when it is safe to move your child from a car seat into a booster seat, and then to use a regular seat belt. Make sure you follow these laws and guidelines for the safety of your child.
Car seat safety is the obligation of any driver transporting a child passenger, not just the parents and not just residents of Kansas. If you are driving through Kansas with your child, make sure you follow local state laws for safe transport even if they differ from your own state laws.
Additionally, even babysitters and relatives need to follow child car seat laws, so be sure to obtain the appropriate restraint system from the parents if you will be transporting someone else’s child.
What are the car seat laws in Kansas?
Car seat ages in Kansas are broken into segments based on general age requirements, but you should always take into account the size of your child when transitioning between restraint types.
The booster seat weight limits indicated by a manufacturer, as well as the car seat weight limits, should always be carefully followed for proper use of the restraint system. Always follow the legal framework in conjunction with the manufacturer’s requirements.
Car seat law in Kansas requires that all children younger than one year old ride in a rear-facing car seat. It is recommended that you keep your child rear facing for as long as possible, but this will be determined by the weight and height of your child and the limitations of the particular seat you choose.
Children aged one through three years old can then use a forward-facing car seat with a harness. Again, transitioning your child from a rear to forward facing seat should be based on the weight and height of your child within restrictions for the seat.
Booster seat weight requirements will then affect when your child can move into a booster seat and then start to use a regular seatbelt. Kansas booster car seat age laws require all children younger than eight years old to use a child restraint system, unless the child weighs more than 80 pounds or is taller than 4 feet 9 inches.
Once your child reaches booster seat law thresholds and can comfortably sit with her or her back against the seat back with knees bent over the seat edge, you can use a regular seat belt. Children younger than 14 years old are required to use a seat belt and should stay in a booster seat for as long as necessary.
Penalties for Violating Car Seat Regulations in Kansas
Violators of the child car seat safety laws can be fined $60 plus court costs. Your fine might be waived if you can prove in court that you have obtained the appropriate child restraint system.
Note that any passengers younger than 18 years old are required by law to use a seat belt. Violators aged between 14 and 18 years old will be cited, while drivers of children younger than 14 will be cited for any other violations of the child passenger safety laws.
Types of Car Seats
The best car seats for purchase are regularly tested and rated by consumer protection groups and the U.S. Department of Transportation. The safest car seats are generally made by the most popular brands, such as Chicco, Evenflo and Graco. You should always review the current ratings and safety mechanisms to ensure you purchase the best model for your child.
You should choose a restraint system based on your child’s needs and on the type of vehicle you have, in order to ensure compatibility. The following are the typical types of car seats available:
- Rear Facing: Also known as an infant car seat, you are required to put any child younger than one year of age into a rear facing seat. It is recommended that you keep your child in a rear-facing position for as long as possible, which will depend on the child’s weight and height and the limitations according to the manufacturer.
- Forward Facing: After your child outgrows the rear-facing seat, switch to a forward-facing seat. This should then be used for as long as possible, but at least until the child reaches four years of age.
- Convertible Car Seat: Convertible seats can be used in both the rear facing and forward-facing positions, so you can use the same model for more time even as your child grows.
- Child Booster Seat: The booster car seat can be used by children aged four years and older. Children should continue to use booster seats in the back seat of the car until they can safely use a regular seat belt across their shoulders.
Car Seat Installation Information
Successful car seat installation can be very challenging for those who are unfamiliar with these types of restraint systems. There are installation inspection stations throughout the state where you can go for extra assistance and guidance, so be sure to take advantage of that free help. Here are extra tips for installing a child car seat:
- Always read the car seat instructions thoroughly and pay close attention to the weight and height limits set by the manufacturer.
- Also read your vehicle owner’s manual to review relevant sections on car seats or booster seats.
- Booster seats require a combination shoulder and lap seat belt, so make sure you install it in a seat with the appropriate safety option.
- Always place the car or booster seat in the back seat of your vehicle, preferably in the center and never in front of an active airbag.
- When installed correctly, a car seat should not move more than one inch in any direction as you pull it.