How to Apply for a Salvage Title in Kansas
Applying for a salvage title in Kansas is an important step whenever a motor vehicle sustains enough damage that causes it to be deemed inoperable. In general, the state’s Department of Revenue (DOR) issues car salvage titles only in the case of vehicles that meet specific classification criteria. Furthermore, it is important to note that salvage title cars must be repairable to a certain extent and have some resale value. Vehicles that have sustained extensive damages will only qualify for non-repairable titles instead.
If you repair your salvage vehicle, you may also qualify to obtain a KS rebuilt title. However, your vehicle must pass an inspection with the state Highway Patrol for this credential to be issued, proving its roadworthiness. Then, you will be able to relicense your restored vehicle and legally operate it again. To learn more about the salvage and rebuilt salvage title certificates issued by the DOR, continue reading the sections below.
What is a Kansas salvage title?
A Kansas salvage car title is a type of credential issued by the state Department of Revenue for vehicles designated as salvage due to damages they have sustained. The purpose of a salvage certificate is to properly identify all vehicles within the state that cannot be legally operated due to damages inflicted to their main components. In general, it is important to note that a salvage title extends the option to repair the vehicle and relicense it at a later date.
Similar to the KS salvage titles, the department also issues “non-highway vehicle tiles” and “non-repairable titles.” Non-highway title certificates are issued in the case of cars that were not manufactured for street use, or that have a discontinued vehicle insurance coverage. On the other hand, non-repairable titles are issued to cars that have sustained damages that are beyond repair. Once the DOR issues a non-repairable title, the vehicle in question can never be relicensed and operated legally again. Instead, these motor vehicles can only be used for the sale of their spare parts.
Kansas Salvage Title Eligibility Requirements
In order to successfully obtain a salvage certificate in Kansas, car owners will be required to prove that a motor vehicle meets the state definition of salvage title cars. According to current statutes, motor vehicles will be considered salvage if they are:
- Late model vehicles that were damaged or wrecked by fire, flood or collision, to the extent that their repair costs exceed 74 percent of their market value without damages.
- Older model vehicles that were damaged to the extent that the equipment necessary to operate them safely on public roads is missing or damaged. As such, they require significant repairs in order to be roadworthy again.
- Motor vehicles that were paid off by an insurance company as total loss vehicles, and for which the insurer has obtained the corresponding title from the vehicle owner.
Owners whose vehicles qualify for a salvage car title in KS will be required to apply for this type of certificate within 60 days after the vehicle was branded as salvage.
How to Get a Salvage Title in Kansas
The application process for a Kansas car salvage title is fairly straightforward, and can be completed in person through the county treasurer’s office where the motor vehicle is garaged. The standard steps to obtain a salvage vehicle title include the following:
- Visit your county’s treasurer office.
- Fill out the Salvage, Non-highway or Non-Repairable Vehicle Affidavit (Form TR-13), marking the corresponding “Salvage Vehicle” box.
- Fill out the standard Title and Registration Manual Application (Form TR-212a), if required to do so.
- Present your current title certificate.
- Submit any paperwork signed between you and your insurer, if required to do so.
- Pay the applicable titling fees.
Once your county treasurer’s office processes your KS salvage title application, it will issue you this type of certificate. It is important to note that, according to state statutes, failing to request a vehicle salvage document is a misdemeanor offense.
Salvage Car Inspections in Kansas
State law does not require you to complete salvage vehicle inspection in Kansas in order to obtain a salvage certificate after damaging or wrecking your car. However, if you have restored a salvage vehicle and would like to apply for a rebuilt salvage title, you will have to submit the car to a thorough examination. As a general rule, these examinations are conducted at approved inspection stations of the state’s highway patrol agency.
When undergoing a KS salvage car inspection, you will need to provide an official document verifying that repairs have been made. Additionally, you must submit photographs of the car before the repairs took place, and receipts for all component parts used to rebuild the vehicle. The purpose of this examination is to check the roadworthiness of a rebuilt vehicle, as well as the origin of the parts used to reconstruct it. After finalizing the inspection procedure, you can proceed with applying for the restored salvage title through your county treasurer’s office.
Kansas Salvage Title Fees
After learning how to get a salvage title in Kansas, vehicle owners must collect the items they will need for the application procedure, including the fee payment for the titling costs. The standard fee for a DMV salvage title currently amounts to $10.
If you fail to apply for a salvage certificate within the prescribed time period, you will also have to pay an additional $2. If you later rebuild the car and choose to obtain a KS rebuilt title, you will also have to pay a $20 for the vehicle inspection, in addition to the standard titling and vehicle registration costs.
Salvage Title Forms
- Title and Registration Manual Application (Form TR-212a)
- Salvage, Nonhighway or Non-Repairable Vehicle Affidavit (Form TR-13)
- Insurance Settlement Affidavit (Form TR-95)
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Salvage, Non-Highway or Non-Repairable Vehicle Affidavit from KSRevenue.org
- Rebuilt Salvage Title Policy from KSRevenue.org