How to Complete a VIN Inspection in Kansas
A Kansas VIN verification is a required procedure for certain car owners to register and title their vehicles. For instance, this is a necessary procedure for vehicles that were titled in a different state, cars that are considered antique and vehicles that have defective or missing VINs. Overall, a KS VIN inspection is commonly referred to as a motor vehicle enforcement (MVE), and aims to reduce the number of vehicles and auto parts that are stolen and trafficked.
In the state, you are able to verify a VIN number through the Kansas Highway Patrol (KHP), as well as through other designated law enforcement agencies. To do so, an applicant must be able to present paperwork that proves his or her ownership rights over the car, such as a vehicle title and/or purchase documents. Then, a trained law enforcement officer will perform a vehicle verification to confirm that the car was not stolen and that its VIN was not tampered with or damaged.
Once the vehicle passes a car verification, its owner may visit the state’s Department of Revenue (DOR) to apply for a registration and title. To learn more about this procedure and all of its requirements, read the sections below.
What is a Kansas VIN Inspection?
A VIN inspection in Kansas is more commonly referred to as a motor vehicle enforcement (MVE) inspection. In any case, this is a necessary procedure for a car owner to title and register a vehicle in the state. Furthermore, these inspections help deter the sale of stolen cars and auto parts.
During the inspection to verify a VIN number, law enforcement officers will be aiming to confirm that the vehicle identification number in question is indeed the original VIN on the car. Moreover, this procedure will look for evidence of whether a VIN has been altered or tampered with. Furthermore, inspectors will make sure that the VIN displayed on the vehicle matches the listed VIN on a titling document.
In addition, before certifying the vehicle inspection, the officer must determine that the car has not been stolen. This is accomplished by running a search through the National Crime Information Center (NCIC), ensuring that there is no record of thefts regarding this vehicle across all states.
When is a Kansas VIN verification required?
The Department of Revenue requires vehicle owners to verify a VIN number in Kansas due to certain circumstances. Some of the most common reasons for requiring this verification include:
- The vehicle’s title was issued in a different state.
- The car was reconstructed from various individual parts.
- The vehicle is categorized as antique.
- The car’s VIN may have been tampered with, or is missing altogether.
The DOR charges $20 for a regular inspection, and $25 for a salvage vehicle VIN verification. Car owners are only allowed to pay these fees using cash, check, money orders or credit cards. However, once a DMV VIN verification form is completed, it is not given an expiration date.
Where can I go to obtain a VIN inspection in Kansas?
The Kansas Highway Patrol conducts VIN inspections at numerous locations throughout the state. Overall, these VIN number validation procedures are conducted by trained law enforcement officers or agents at local law enforcement agencies. Drivers may visit the official KHP portal in order to locate car inspection stations in KS. In most cases, no appointment is required.
Note: Certain vehicles may be required by the Kansas Department of Revenue to undergo special VIN verification procedures. In such cases, car owners will be required to make an appointment with the KHP.
What to Bring to a VIN Number Verification in Kansas
If possible, vehicle owners must bring an original title to the MVE car inspection stations. In addition, they must submit all of the documents associated with the purchase of the car, such as a bill of sale. All of the necessary paperwork for a vehicle VIN verification must be submitted as original copies, with no erasures or altered data.
If you have a lien on your vehicle, you must contact the lienholder and fax a copy of your car title to the VIN verification center before undergoing an inspection. Furthermore, the Kansas Highway Patrol will require applicants to provide a proper form of identification for the inspection, such as a driver’s license or an ID card.
What to Do After Completing a VIN Inspection in Kansas
Once a vehicle successfully passes the state car inspection in Kansas, the Highway Patrol will issue a completed MVE/Inspection form, otherwise known as MVE-1. Car owners must take this document to a branch of the Department of Revenue in order to begin the registration and titling of the vehicle.