How to Reinstate Your Suspended Drivers License in Kansas
Drivers will face a Kansas drivers license suspension or revocation due to failure to follow state laws and regulations. Since driving is considered a privilege, a KS suspended driving license will be issued to motorists who refuse to abide by the rules of the road. A driving license suspension means that your credential is temporarily out of service.
To restore your driving privileges, you may need to satisfy specific conditions set by the state Department of Revenue (DOR). A revoked drivers license in Kansas, on the other hand, may indicate that your license is permanently taken away, and is issued in cases of more severe moving violations. For a detailed review of the suspension and reinstatement procedures in Kansas, continue reading below.
Reinstating a Kansas Suspended License
The procedure of reinstating driving licenses in Kansas is mandatory for licensees to restore their driving credential following a suspension. The most common misdemeanors leading to a KS suspended drivers license include, but are not limited to driving while under the influence (DUI), chemical test refusal, failure to maintain the required auto insurance, failure to appear for a court date and more.
Your driving license may be revoked after a conviction of vehicular homicide, reckless driving or failure to stop and render aid in case of an accident, among others. Motorists may be assessed additional court penalties if convicted of a traffic offense.
How to Reinstate a Kansas Suspended Drivers License
The Kansas driving license reinstatement procedure may be different for every offense drivers have committed. For instance, you may be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) following a DUI violation. The IID prevents the car’s engine from starting if a certain level of alcohol is detected on the driver’s breath.
To reinstate drivers licenses in KS, applicants may be also required to provide future proof of financial responsibility (SR-22 form). Paying the drivers license restoration fees are a mandatory step to complete the process. If you are facing a KS drivers license suspension or revocation, it is best to contact a nearby DOR branch to determine the exact reinstatement requirements.
Suspension Periods in Kansas
The duration of the Kansas drivers license suspension periods may range from 30 days to indefinite based on the type of traffic violation. You may be issued a KS suspended driving license for a period of 30 days up to 10 years for refusal to submit to the chemical testing.
Drivers who fail to appear for a court date will be penalized with an indefinite suspension. The same penalty will be issued to motorists failing to show proof of mandatory liability coverage. You can always order a copy of your driving record for information about any suspension or revocation of your driving credential.
Kansas Point System
In general, drivers license suspensions occur due to excessive accumulation of demerit points on an individual’s driving record. Driving points are typically placed against your report following certain traffic offense.
The number of points assessed mainly depends on the severity of the violation committed. Most U.S. states have developed specific point systems outlining various traffic offenses and the matching points.
Kansas does not offer a similar point system at the moment. Instead, the DOR will use the number of violations committed within a certain time frame to regulate your driving habits. Motorists will be issued a Kansas suspended driving license when convicted of three traffic offenses within a 12-month period.
Traffic School in Kansas
Motorists facing a driving license suspension due to an excessive accumulation of points, an unpaid traffic ticket or other offenses typically have the option to enroll in a state-approved traffic school to avoid the penalty. The completion of a defensive driving course will also lead to obtaining the necessary driving skills, and thus help you reduce the risk of possible infractions in the future.
Depending on the type of violation committed, drivers in Kansas may also prevent the issuance of a suspended drivers license upon completion of the said course. Additionally, you may be able to earn a discount on your car insurance premium. For more information about the possibility to attend this course and the corresponding eligibility requirements, it may be best to contact the DOR.
Types of Kansas Driver’s License Suspensions
Drivers will incur a suspended driving license in Kansas for less severe violations of road regulations. The most common traffic offenses leading to a KS drivers license suspension are the following:
- Being convicted of three traffic misdemeanors within 12 months.
- Operating while under the influence.
- Refusing to have an alcohol/drug test performed.
- Failing to pay a traffic citation or failure to appear for a court date.
- Failure to report an accident.
- Violating the state mandatory insurance laws.
A revoked driving license in KS is issued for more severe misdemeanors, including reckless driving, vehicular homicide or battery, failure to stop and offer help in case of a car accident, attempting to elude a law enforcement agent and more.
Kansas DUI Suspensions
Driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs is considered a serious breach of Kansas laws. Drivers will face a KS driving license suspension or revocation if they fail the chemical test or refuse to submit to one when stopped by a police officer.
The drivers license suspension periods may vary, depending on the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level, as well as the number of previous DUI offenses. The DOR imposes even stricter rules for licensees younger than 21 years of age to deter them from operating a vehicle while intoxicated.
Drivers Older Than 21
When reinstating your drivers license in Kansas following a DUI offense, you may need to satisfy certain conditions of your suspension or revocation penalty. A suspended driving license in KS will be issued to motorists older than 21 years of age if they are caught with a BAC level of .08 or more.
Should you refuse to submit to the chemical testing, your credential will be withdrawn as well. Note that the suspension periods in such instances may vary based on previous DUI violations, ranging from 30 days to 10 years.
To reinstate their drivers license, applicants may be required to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed in their motor vehicles for a specific period of time. If you have received an IID restriction notice, you will need to present this form to the service provider. Ignition Interlock Devices can be installed by state-authorized providers only.
Finally, you will have to arrange payment for the reinstatement fees. The court can take separate action against DUI offenders, which may result in additional fines and possible imprisonment.
Note: The Kansas Department of Revenue revises its rules and regulations on a regular basis. Since changes in suspension periods and reinstatement requirements are bound to happen, it may be best to contact a local DOR office for detailed information.
Drivers Younger Than 21
Kansas suspended driving licenses will be also issued to motorists younger than 21 years of age who fail to adhere to the road rules and regulations. The drivers license suspension will follow in case your BAC level is between .02 and .08.
For a first chemical test failure, minors may have their credential suspended for 30 days. Any subsequent traffic offense may be penalized with even longer periods of suspension.
Car Insurance Suspensions
An indefinite driving license suspension in KS will incur in case motorists do not provide the mandatory auto insurance. If you are pulled over by a law enforcement agent, you must present the necessary proof when asked. Failure to do so will result in a temporary withdrawal of your driving privileges.
When reinstating their driving license, applicants have the option to utilize an online provider to arrange payment for the restoration fees. The online service is available only for insurance-related suspensions in Kansas.
Traffic Summons or Failure to Pay
Another reason to have a suspended drivers license in Kansas is failing to respond to a traffic citation. For a KS drivers license restoration, you may be required to submit specific payment.
Traffic ticket fines and surcharges may differ based on the county where the ticket was first issued. Motorists may be also offered different payment methods, depending on the court handling their case.
Kansas Hardship Drivers License
Before completing the Kansas drivers license suspension period, motorists may be eligible to obtain a restricted driver’s license. This credential may be used under specific circumstances only and is typically requested following alcohol-related or failure-to-comply suspensions. The requirements to apply will vary, depending on the type of violation committed.
Applying for a Kansas Hardship License
If you have a KS suspended drivers license due to a DUI offense, you can request a restricted credential by sending the appropriate application form (DC-1015) along with a $100 nonrefundable fee to the address stated in the form. The DOR will send you a written notice of your request being approved or denied.
If approved, applicants must install an Ignition Interlock Device in their car, and submit proof of the said installation. A driving license suspension resulting from failure to comply with a traffic citation will require drivers to submit a different application (DC-1020) to the DOR.
The nonrefundable application fee, in this case, is set at $25. Payments are made by check or money order payable to the Kansas Division of Vehicles. You must meet the following requirements to be eligible for this permit:
- Your current license must be issued in Kansas.
- You cannot have a KS suspended driving license due to violations other than your failure to comply.
- Your credential must not be suspended due to traffic misdemeanors in another state.
- Your driving record cannot show a stayed suspension period as a result of operating while suspended.
Once your request has been approved, you will receive a restricted notice outlining the details of your restriction.
Drivers License Reinstatement Fees
When reinstating your drivers license in Kansas, you will be required to pay certain fees set by the state Department of Revenue. Depending on the reason for your driving license suspension, fees may vary. DUI-related offenses, for example, will result in prices ranging from $200 to $1,500 based on the number of previous misdemeanors, and whether the action taken against the driver was DOR- or court-administered.
There is an online option for payment of the KS drivers license reinstatement fee, but only if you are facing a suspension due to an insurance matter. Payment for traffic citations or alcohol-related issues will not be accepted in this case. Note that drivers will be charged a nonrefundable convenience fee when using the official DOR online service.
- Application to Modify Alcohol Related Suspension or Revocation
- Application to Modify Suspension (Failure to Comply with a Traffic Citation)
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Vehicle Forms and Publications from KSrevenue.org
- Kansas Drivers License Status Check from KDOR.ks.gov