How to Reinstate Your Suspended Drivers License in Alaska
The drivers license suspension in Alaska is a court- or DMV-ordered action to temporarily suspend or revoke the licensee’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle. Motorists will be issued an AK revoked driving license due to a variety of driving-related or non-driving-related criminal activities, including operating while intoxicated or failure to provide proof of financial responsibility among others.
Since driving with a suspended license in AK is illegal, motorists will need to reinstate their driving privileges and apply for a new AK license, once they satisfy the set conditions. The requirements to reinstate drivers licenses in Alaska may differ based on the type of offense you have committed. For a detailed review of license suspensions and reinstatement procedures in Alaska, explore the sections below.
Reinstating an Alaska Suspended License
Motorists with an AK driving license suspension must reinstate their driving privileges to continue legally operating their vehicle within the state. The most common reasons for a suspended or revoked drivers license in Alaska include:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Refusing to submit to alcohol testing
- Failure to present proof of car insurance
- Failure to pay for child support or excessive accumulation of driving points
Note that you can always order a copy of your driving record to check if there are any actions taken against your drivers license at the moment.
How to Reinstate an Alaska Suspended Drivers License
License holders may apply for an AK driving license reinstatement once they have served the suspension and revocation period.
To reinstate your drivers license following the loss of your privilege to operate a vehicle, you will have to apply for a new credential at a nearby AK DMV location. To complete the process, applicants are required to satisfy the conditions below:
- Pass the vision, written and road tests (if required).
- Provide proof of identification and date of birth (a U.S. birth certificate, a valid passport, etc.).
- Hand over parental consent (if they are younger than 18 years of age).
- Provide proof of SR22 insurance.
- Arrange payment for the allotted reinstatement and license fees.
- Present proof that they have completed an approved treatment program (if applicable).
- Install an ignition interlock device (if required).
- Hand over proof of insurance coverage (provided they have failed to comply with the financial responsibility requirements).
Note: When reinstating drivers licenses in Alaska, motorists may need to present additional paperwork depending on the criminal offense. For more information on the necessary documents, it may be best to contact the DMV prior to visiting the office.
Suspension Periods in Alaska
In general, the duration of the driving license suspension period in Alaska will differ depending on the type of criminal activity you are being convicted of. For instance, motorists will be issued an Alaska suspended driving license for a period of 90 days to one year provided they fail to submit the mandatory proof of financial responsibility.
Per state law, the Division of Motor Vehicles is also authorized to issue an AK revoked drivers license to a person who either fails or refuses to take a chemical testing following a DUI arrest. The administrative revocation periods may vary from 90 days up to five years based on the number of offenses you have previously committed.
If you are younger than 21 years of age and you have been detained or arrested for operating under the influence, you will be issued a revoked driving license which may last from 30 days up to one year.
Alaska Point System
Motorists will also face a driving license suspension in Alaska in case they accumulate a certain number of negative points on their driving record. If you have been charged with a moving traffic violation, you will be assessed point values which vary from 2 to 10 points depending on the offense. The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles has set the following point table including some of the most common violations:
- Driving under the influence – 10 points.
- Operating a vehicle with a suspended or revoked driving license – 10 points.
- Reckless driving – 10 points.
- Refusal to submit to a chemical test – 10 points.
- Negligent driving – 6 points.
- Following too close – 4 points.
Licensees who accumulate 12 points in a 12-month period or 18 points in 24 months will face a suspension or revocation of their driving privileges. To avoid the AK drivers license suspension, you have the option to attend an approved traffic school, and thus reduce points from your record.
Furthermore, applicants can obtain a copy of their driving record online to review their current status. In addition to this, the state DMV will send a warning notice to inform traffic violators they have accumulated half of the points leading to a license suspension.
Traffic School in Alaska
If you are facing a driving license suspension in Alaska, you may be able to enroll in a state-authorized traffic school and prevent excessive accumulation of negative points on your record. The driving defensive course (DDC) may be taken once in a 12-month period.
Upon successfully finishing the course, drivers may earn a completion card which may be used to reduce points from their driving record. When applying for an AK driving license restoration, motorists who present proof of a completed traffic school may also qualify for lower auto insurance rates.
Types of Alaska Driver’s License Suspensions
Motorists will be issued a suspended or revoked drivers license in AK when they fail to adhere to state laws and regulations. The court or the state DMV will temporarily take away your driving privileges in case you have accumulated too many points on your record, or you own an uninsured vehicle involved in a car accident. The driving credential will be revoked for the following reasons:
- Operating while intoxicated, or refusal to submit to a chemical test.
- Driving with a suspended, revoked or canceled license.
- Reckless driving.
- Causing injury or death to another person with a vehicle.
- Using a false credential to purchase alcohol (if you are younger than 21).
- Being a habitual violator of road rules and regulations.
Licensees who need to reinstate their driving license in AK following a suspension or revocation, are required to provide proof of financial responsibility for the future. In such case, an SR22 insurance form must be submitted to the Division of Motor Vehicles.
AK DUI Suspensions
Drivers will be issued an Alaska revoked driving license and face criminal prosecution if operating their vehicle while under the influence. Since driving while intoxicated is strictly prohibited in this state, motorists who commit this crime or refuse to submit to a blood testing will face serious consequences. The severity of your revocation will depend on your age and the type of offense you are convicted of.
Drivers Older Than 21
If you are older than 21 years of age, you will have an AK revoked driving license provided your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is .08 percent or more. Depending on the number of offenses you have previously committed, the revocation period may last from 90 days for a first DUI offense up to five years for three or more DUI convictions or refusal to take the chemical testing.
Note that the court may take separate actions from the state DMV, such as revocation of your driving privileges, possible jail time and fines, as well as referral to an alcohol treatment program. When reinstating their driving license in Alaska, licensees are required to deal with the DMV and the court actions separately. Also, you will be obliged to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and provide proof of the installation along with an SR22 form when restoring your credential.
Note: When determining the revocation period, the state Division of Motor Vehicles or the court may take into consideration prior DUI or Refusal convictions in Alaska or another state within the last 15 years.
Drivers Younger Than 21
According to state law, motorists younger than 21 years of age will be issued an Alaska revoked drivers license and face criminal charges provided any quantity of alcohol has been consumed. Under the Zero Tolerance law, drivers between 14 and 21 years of age are not allowed to operate a motor vehicle after consuming any alcohol. The revocation periods in this case are as follows:
- 30 days for a first offense.
- 60 days for a second revocation.
- 90 days for a third DUI offense.
- One year for the fourth and any following revocation.
To reinstate your driving license, you may need to visit a local DMV office in Alaska and apply for a new credential. To finish the procedure, you may be required to pass the driving tests, provide proof of identity and SR22 insurance, as well as present a certificate proving you have completed an authorized alcohol treatment program.
If you disagree with the DMV decision to revoke your driving privileges, you may request an administrative hearing to contest the revocation. The AK DMV will issue a temporary license to drive until the date of hearing.
Car Insurance Suspensions
When driving on Alaska roads and highways, motorists must have liability insurance in effect, and stay in accordance with the Financial Responsibility and Mandatory Insurance laws. You will be issued an Alaska suspended driving license if you fail to present proof of the required auto coverage.
The minimum insurance amounts which drivers are obliged to purchase are $25,000 for property damage, $50,000 for injury or death to one person and $100,000 for total injuries or death per accident. Motorists may be able to finish the drivers license reinstatement in AK, once they prove they have obtained the necessary insurance.
Traffic Summons or Failure To Pay
A drivers license suspension in AK may also follow if licensees fail to arrange payment for a traffic ticket. A traffic citation may be issued for multiple violations of road rules regulations.
Motorists who do not want to have their credential suspended may have to pay their fine or appear in a court of law. For specific instructions on how to proceed in such case, it may be best to contact the Division of Motor Vehicles.
AK Hardship Drivers License
Drivers who are facing a driving license suspension in Alaska due to not having the mandatory insurance or a DUI-related offense, may be eligible to apply for a hardship (limited) license to operate a vehicle. This type of credential may allow you to drive for business or medical care purposes only. Motorists who are younger than 21 years of age and have been convicted of driving while intoxicated can only be issued a limited credential for the last 60 days of revocation.
Applying for an Alaska Hardship License
Before the AK drivers license suspension period has been completed, motorists may request a limited license to drive. To complete the application procedure, you will have to visit the official DMV site and obtain the appropriate application form.
Note that the forms differ depending on the type of violation you have been convicted of, so you must make sure to use the correct one. Once you have the application, you must meet the listed requirements and provide the necessary information.
Licensees can then submit the form personally at a nearby Alaska DMV branch, or via mail to the address shown in the application, along with a non-refundable processing fee of $100.
Drivers License Reinstatement Fees
The Alaska driving license reinstatement procedure cannot be completed unless applicants provide payment for the appropriate fees. To have your driving privileges reinstated, you may need to pay the regular licensing prices, in addition to the reinstatement cost. The most common fees to reinstate your drivers license in AK are as follows:
- $100 for a first non-DUI-related offense.
- $250 for a second non-DUI action.
- $200 for a first DUI offense.
- $250 for a first DUI suspension plus another offense.
- $500 for a second DUI-related offense.