SR-22 Insurance in Alaska
You will need to understand how to get SR22 insurance in Alaska and learn how it impacts your ability to have a driver’s license if you have been convicted for a DUI or have been involved in a serious accident. SR22 insurance is required when the state of Alaska feels that a driver may have dangerous driving habits. Essentially, it allows everyone on the road to drive with more security. When the most dangerous drivers have auto insurance, any dangerous habits that they engage in will be fiscally compensated for by insurance companies.
It is important to note that this SR-22 insurance is different from Alaska’s Mandatory Insurance, which is the insurance that everyone is required to have in Alaska. SR22 insurance, on the other hand, is only required for individuals who have shown themselves to be a potential liability on the road.
What is Alaska SR22 insurance?
Alaska SR-22 insurance is designed to make sure that individuals who drive on roads in Alaska are safe from reckless drivers. Despite the name, SR22 is not actually a form of insurance. Instead, it is a proof of insurance, which your insurance company provides to Alaska’s Division of Motor Vehicles.
In any case, the insurance company lets the government know that the individual has this insurance, and is required to know if at any time the insurance policy is not active.
Who needs SR22 insurance in Alaska?
A certified SR22 form is required by Alaska’s Division of Motor Vehicles for four reasons. You may need to learn about SR-22 rates after:
- You were found operating a vehicle while drunk or on drugs.
- You refused a breathalyzer test.
- An accident you were implicated in led to someone’s death or injury.
- The accident you were implicated in led to damages to one individual totaling $502 or more.
Generally, you will need SR22 insurance for at least three years. If you are required to have SR22 because you had a DUI or refused a breathalyzer test, then you will need the insurance for longer.
- If this is your first DUI or refusal to take a breathalyzer test, then you will need this form of insurance for the next five years.
- If this is your second DUI or refusal to take a breathalyzer test, then you will need this form of insurance for the next 10 years.
- If this is your third DUI or refusal to take a breathalyzer test, then you will need this form of insurance for the next 20 years.
- If this is your fourth DUI or refusal to take a breathalyzer test, then you will need this form of insurance for as long as you are a driver in the state of Alaska.
Reinstating Driving Privileges With SR22 In Alaska
If your driver’s license was suspended or revoked, then SR-22 insurance is a vital part of getting your license back. Whether you lost your license due to not having insurance, drinking and driving or simply getting too many points on your record, you will need to bring this proof of insurance to the nearest DMV location.
As well as the SR-22 form, you will need documentation that proves your identity and the money required to pay DMV fees. These fees will vary based on the nature of the offense and your previous record. You will also need to complete tests. This will mean testing your eyesight as well as your knowledge of road rules.
In certain cases, you will need to take a test that involves driving with an instructor. If you are 17 years of age or younger, then you will need a parent to sign a form at the office or send a notarized form to the office.
How to Get SR22 Insurance in Alaska
This form of insurance is monitored by the government but it is not provided by the government. In order to get SR-22 rates, you will need to go to your insurance company and find out what types of plans they provide. When getting SR22 insurance quotes, make sure that you are getting at least as much insurance as the state of Alaska requires. As an Alaska driver, you are required to have insurance that covers the following:
- $50,000 in the event that one person is killed or injured
- $100,000 in the event that multiple people are killed or injured
- $25,000 in the event that cars or other belongings are damaged
The state estimates that having SR-22 compatible insurance will cost at least $2,000 each year.
Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form in Alaska
If you are required to have this form of insurance, then you will not be able to have a legal driver’s license without it. The government must be able to see SR22 proof of insurance if your license has been revoked or suspended, in order for you to get your driving privileges back.
Because the insurance company is required to let the government know of any lapse in the SR22 insurance coverage, your driving privileges will be revoked at any point in time where you do not have this insurance. If you drive on public roads in Alaska while you do not have a valid license, then the registrations for any vehicles you own will also be suspended, until you get the proper insurance.