Commercial licensing is complicated. Applying for a CDL can be easy with our AK guide to your CDL.

Basic Requirements For A Commercial Driver’s Permit/License

Steps To Apply For A CDL Permit/License

  1. You must meet the requirements for an Alaska driver’s license.
  2. Fill out the CDL application form (Form 415) and hand in in-person to a DMV office. For more information see Instruction Permit section below.
  3. Pay a $15.00 fee for your permit.
  4. Pass the CDL knowledge exams. See the CDL Manual for the required information. The exam can be taken at any DMV location.
  5. Pass vision screening test.
  6. Take road test at your local DMV office.
  7. You are not required by law to enroll and subsequently complete any commercial driver education program but it helps to take one in order to generate awareness and knowledge required for the tests.
  8. Pay license and endorsement fee.

Instruction Permit

In order to be eligible for an Alaska CDL, you must first obtain a CDL instruction permit. First, you must fill out the CDL application form (Form 415). Then show proof of legal presence and US residency. Next, pay the $15.00 permit fee. Lastly, pass the CDL general knowledge exam and vision screening test. Alaska Instruction Permits issued to persons above 20 years of age.


An Alaska Commercial Driver’s License will be valid for 5 years from your birthday. The cost is $100.00 for a standard CDL license. Please see a list of fees for more information.

CDL Endorsements

The following is a list of endorsements you can get on your CDL:

  • Hazardous Material (Class H).
  • Tank Vehicles (Class N).
  • Passenger-Carrying Vehicle (Class P).
  • School Bus (Class S).
  • Towing a Double or Triple Trailer (Class T).
  • Combination of N and H type of endorsements (Class X)

Federal Guidelines For Interstate Drivers

The following is a list of federal requirements for interstate drivers.


Last updated on Thursday, February 15 2018.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!