Basic Requirements For A Commercial Driver’s Permit/License

  • Must meet requirements for a North Carolina Driver’s license.
  • Certify that you are in agreement with state motor carrier safety regulations and also have a clear driving record of any kind, previous (if any) or if it is a case of original application.
  • Provide a valid Medical Examiner’s Certificate. You can obtain one by having a licensed medical professional fill out the appropriate form, which is usually available at your local DMV office. The medical examiner should provide you with a Medical Examiner’s Certificate.
  • Provide proof of identity.
  • Provide proof of liability insurance.
  • Provide proof of North Carolina residency.
  • Provide your Social security number.

Steps To Apply For A CDL Permit/License

  1. You must meet the requirements for a North Carolina Driver’s license.
  2. Secure all necessary documents to obtain a CDL Learner’s Permit or License’ and hand it in-person to a driver’s license office. For more information see CDL Learner’s Permit section below.
  3. Pass the CDL knowledge exams. See the CDL Manual for the required information. The exam can be taken at any local driver’s license office. You are permitted to take retests if you do not qualify for the first time. The cut off mark is 80% and if you quality, the scores are valid for 90 days.
  4. Pass vision screening test.
  5. Attend and then provide proof that you have taken a Commercial driver’s education program specifically for commercial motor vehicles.
  6. Take road test at your local DMV office.
  7. Pay license and endorsement fees.
  8. Some are also required to take training and certification from Professional Truck Driver’s Institute (PTDI).

CDL Learner’s Permit

In order to be eligible for a North Carolina CDL, you must first obtain a CDL learner’s permit. Before you go to your local driver’s license office, you need to show proof of name and identity, Social security number and US residency. Next, pay the $15.00 permit fee. Lastly, pass the CDL general knowledge exam and vision screening test. You are allowed to have two instruction permits for 180 days each in 2 years before obtaining a CDL.


Your Commercial Driver license is issued for a period of 5 years. The cost is $30.00 to apply for a standard CDL license and $ 15 per year for Class A, B and C licenses. Please see a list of fees for more information.

CDL Endorsements

The following is a list of endorsements you can get on your CDL:

  • Hazardous Material (Class H).
  • Tank Vehicles (Class N).
  • Passenger-Carrying Vehicle (Class P).
  • School Bus (Class S).
  • Towing a Double (Class T).
  • A combination of hazardous materials and tank vehicle endorsement (Class X).

Federal Guidelines For Interstate Drivers

The following is a list of federal requirements for interstate drivers.


Last updated on Thursday, March 8 2018.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!