How to Get a Commercial Drivers License in West Virginia
You will need to apply for a West Virginia CDL, or commercial drivers license, if you live in the state, and you wish to drive a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) on public roads. To do so, you must first obtain a Commercial Driver Learner’s Permit (CLP) through the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Before you apply, you must meet the eligibility requirements, such as the age, medical and citizenship qualifications.
To get a CDL license in West Virginia, you must first take the necessary knowledge tests to get a CLP. Depending on the CMV you plan to operate, you may need to take more than one knowledge test. After you obtain and hold a CLP for 14 days, you can take the road skills test in the type of vehicle in which you plan to be licensed. If you pass, the West Virginia DMV will issue you a CDL.
CDL Requirements in West Virginia
Meeting the CDL license requirements in West Virginia is mandatory, in order to be legally licensed to drive professionally. You must:
- Be a West Virginia resident.
- Meet the age requirements, which include:
- Being at least 18 years old to drive intrastate.
- Being at least 21 years old to drive interstate.
- Have at least two years of driving experience with a Class D license.
- Submit proof of your identity and legal status.
- Submit your Social Security Number (SSN).
- Pass the necessary knowledge tests.
- Submit the required medical documents.
- Take the road skills test.
West Virginia CDL requirements state that you cannot operate a CMV if your privilege to operate a CMV is disqualified. You can be disqualified for many reasons, such as driving a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance, leaving the scene of an accident and using a motor vehicle to commit a felony.
How to Apply for a CDL Permit in West Virginia
You must obtain a CDL permit in West Virginia before you can get a full CDL license. To get a CDL, you must bring the following with you to your knowledge test:
- A completed Application for Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) and/or Endorsements
- A copy of your current DOT Medical/physical and DOT Medical card
- Proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful permanent residency:
- An original or certified copy of a U.S.-issued birth certificate
- A U.S. passport or passport card
- A valid, unexpired Permanent Resident card
- A Certificate of Naturalization
- Two Proofs of West Virginia residency:
- A utility bill
- A valid vehicle registration card
- A voter’s registration card
- A residential rental or lease agreement
- Social Security Number (SSN)
- A Social Security card
- An original Wage and Tax Statement (W-2)
- A 1099 form
- Payment for the application and endorsement fees
The CDL permit rules also enforce that you must pass a vision test in order to earn your credentials.
In West Virginia, a CDL learner’s permit is valid for 180 days, and you can only renew a permit once. With a CLP, you can drive a CMV on the highway, but only when accompanied by a driver with a CDL valid for the type of vehicle you are operating and permitted to drive. He or she must also occupy the seat next to you for the duration.
CDL Written Test in West Virginia
You must take and pass the CDL written test to get a CLP. While you must take the CDL general knowledge test, you may also need to take additional written tests, depending on the type of CMV you wish to operate. To pass a written test, you must answer at least 80 percent of the test correctly. If you fail any section of a written exam, you must wait seven days before you can retake a test. Once you pass the necessary knowledge tests, you will be issued a CLP.
West Virginia CDL Training Schools & Practice Tests
Though attending a CDL school in West Virginia is not mandatory, you will learn the formal training needed to pass both the written and skills tests. If you choose not to enroll in a CDL training course, you can use the West Virginia Commercial Driver’s Manual as a study aid. You can print a copy of the CDL book online, or request a copy in person from the West Virginia DMV.
How to Get a CDL License in West Virginia
To apply for CDL licensure in West Virginia, you must mail the application, the copy of your DOT Medical/ physical certification and payment to the following address:
West Virginia DMV P.O. Box 17010 Charleston WV, 25317
You can also submit the above documentation, and your CDL application, in person, at the DMV Driver Services window in Kanawha City, located at the below address:
5707 MacCorkle Ave. S.E. Charleston, WV 25317
Once the above information is received, you will be mailed a test card, which will include the regional CDL testing sites.
CDL Driving Test in West Virginia
You can only take the CDL test in West Virginia after you hold a CLP for 14 days. Then, you can sign up for the road skills test through a third-party examiner. The road skills test is made up of three parts:
- Vehicle inspection
- Basic vehicle control
- On-road test
To take the CDL driving test, you must provide the vehicle, and it must represent the class of license in which you are getting tested. Once you pass the skills test, you must submit the form stating that you passed to a DMV office or the driver exam center for processing. Then, you will receive your CDL license.
How to Get a CDL as a Military Member in West Virginia
If you have a military CDL to operate a vehicle for military purposes, you are exempt from taking the road skills test. To qualify, you must be enlisted, or within six months of your honorable discharge, and have experience driving a military vehicle that is similar to a commercial vehicle. To apply for the military waiver, you must fill out the Application for Military Skills Test Waiver (Form CDL-ST-WVR).
CDL Medical Exams in West Virginia
To meet new DOT physical requirements, you must first self-certify to the type of CMV operation that you expect to drive by filling out the WV Commercial Driver Licensee Medical Self-Certification Affidavit (Form DMV-CDL-3).
Depending on the type of commerce you plan to operate, you may also need to submit a Medical Examiner’s Certificate (Form MCSA-5876) completed by a certified medical examiner, following a CDL physical. If you fail to submit the necessary medical documents, you may lose
Types of CDL Classes in West Virginia
There are three types of CDL classes from which to choose in West Virginia. These include:
- Class A license: A combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more than 26,000 pounds, if the GVWR of the towed vehicle does not weight more than 10,000 pounds.
- Class B CDL: Any single vehiclewith a GVWR of more than 26,000 pounds, if the vehicle towing another vehicle is not greater than 10,000 pounds.
- Class C CDL: Any single vehicle with a GVWR of less than 26,000 pounds, or any vehicle towing another vehicle with a gross weight of less than 10,000 pounds, such as a vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, and placarded vehicles used to transport hazardous materials.
Types of CDL Endorsements in West Virginia
The available CDL endorsements in West Virginia allow you extended driving privileges. The available endorsements are as follows:
- H: Hazmat Endorsement
- N: Tanker Endorsement
- P: Passenger Endorsement
- S: School Bus Endorsement
- T: Doubles and Triples Endorsement
- X: Hazardous Materials and Tank Combination Endorsement
Interstate vs. Intrastate Commercial Drivers Licenses in West Virginia
In West Virginia, you will need either an intrastate or interstate CDL to drive a CMV. With an interstate license, you can drive:
- From one state to another state, or to and from a foreign country.
- Between two places within a state, and if during part of the trip, the CMV crosses into another state or to a foreign country.
- Between two places within a state, and if during part of the trip, the passengers or cargo are parts of a trip that begins or ends in another state or foreign country.
An intrastate CDL is needed if you plan to drive a CMV within a state, and you do not meet any of the above descriptions for an interstate CDL. If you operate in both intrastate and interstate commerce, you must choose to drive interstate commerce.
Commercial Driving License Fees in West Virginia
The CDL license costs in West Virginia vary, depending on the service requested. They include the below:
- CDL testing fee: $25 nonrefundable, plus the regular driver’s licensing fee*
- Endorsements: $10 each
- Skills test: $100
West Virginia CDL Forms
- Application for Commercial Driver's License (CDL) and/or Endorsements
- Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
- WV Commercial Driver Licensee Medical Self-Certification Affidavit (Form DMV-CDL-3)
- Medical Examiners Certificate (Form MCSA-5876)
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Commercial Driver's License from transportation.wv.gov
- Commercial Driver's License Manual from transportation.wv.gov
- Commercial Driver's License Forms from transportation.wv.gov