SR-22 Insurance in Delaware
Delaware SR-22 rates do not seem important right after a car accident. However, some residents may need to learn how to get SR22 insurance following incidents in other states while driving. This form allows the state government to be notified if your auto insurance is canceled. In Delaware, the situation is different. It is one of the few states that does not require you to file the form. This means that if you did not have insurance during your accident, then you will not be allowed to file this form and continue driving. Instead, you will be required to pay a fee the first time you get into an accident without having insurance. If this happens again, then your license will be suspended and you will be required to pay a fine.
Apart from SR22, there is a lot to take care of following an accident such as hospital bills, legal bills and simply making sure everyone is treated fairly are more urgent. However, once the chaos of the event is over, drivers need to ensure they will be able to drive in the future. Find out more details about SR22 requirements by reading the information below.
What is Delaware SR22 insurance?
SR22 insurance is not, despite the name, insurance. It is instead a contract between an insurance provider and a state government, which says that the insurance company will notify the government if the policy is canceled. This SR22 form allows the government to keep track of high-risk drivers. Depending on the state, this can mean drivers who were convicted of a DUI, drivers who got into an accident and did not have the state’s mandated insurance or even simply drivers younger than 18 years of age. Delaware is one of the few states that does not require this form of insurance proof.
Who needs SR22 insurance in Delaware?
Although SR-22 insurance is not required in Delaware, the state still requires you to hold insurance when you are driving. The minimum coverage you can have is the following:
- $25,000 for every individual hurt or killed during the accident
- $50,000 for every accident
- $10,000 for any damage caused to vehicles during the accident
How to Get SR22 Insurance in Delaware
If you need an SR22 form because you are moving from Delaware to another state, then you will not be able to find it on the state’s DMV website. Instead, you will need to get SR22 insurance quotes from companies in the state. In general, you should not be required to get this form of insurance proof before you move to the state. However, check the DMV page for the state you are moving to, as the 50 states share drivers’ information with each other, and you will want to make sure you are following the regulations of the state you are moving to.
Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form in Delaware
Deleware does not have penalties for now having SR22 coverage, as it is not a requirement of the state. However, you must have auto insurance on your vehicle, and there are consequences for not having at least the state minimum coverage. These penalties include the following:
- The first time you do not have insurance, you will need to pay $1,500. Your license will not be suspended.
- After your first time without insurance, any subsequent times you are found without insurance will require you to pay $3,000. You will also be unable to drive for the next six months.