How to Order Your Delaware Driving Record
Your driving record is kept by the Delaware DMV for all residents with a driver’s license. Get more information on what is included in your personal drivers history report by reading the sections below.
What is on my Delaware driving record?
Depending on the type of driving record and where you purchase one, your Delaware driving record may provide either a partial or complete outline of your personal DE driving history. If you order your driving record directly from the Delaware Division Motor Vehicles, it will contain:
- Where and when a drivers license was issued.
- Previous traffic violations.
- Delaware DUI reports.
- Delaware driver’s license suspensions or revocations.
- Car accidents.
- Other major violations on record.
Did you know? Your personal driving history is a public record. Potential employers, insurance providers, and courts of law can all request a copy of your driving history.
What do points on my Delaware driving record mean?
A driving record from the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles includes the number of points assigned for each traffic violation. If there is a mistake regarding the number of points stated on your DE personal driving history, correct it to avoid your drivers license suspension or revocation. Infractions and point values that can be found on a driving record from the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles include:
- Speeding 1-9 mph over posted limit: 2 points
- Speeding 10-14 mph over posted limit: 4 points
- Speeding 15-19 mph over posted limit: 5 points
- Speeding 20 mph over posted limit: 5 points
- Passing a stopped school bus: 6 points
- Reckless driving: 6 points
- Aggressive driving: 6 points
- Disregarding stop sign or red light: 3 points
Incorrect driving points on your driving history report can be fixed by contacting your local DMV. If you want to remove points from your record, enroll in a traffic school course.
How do points against my Delaware drivers license affect me?
Depending on the traffic offense, you can be charged between two and six points for one violation. Twelve points is the maximum number of points that can be on your Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles driving record, and you will need to enroll in and complete a driving course within 90 days of the DMV notice.
If the course is not completed, your license will be suspended for two months. If you accumulate 14 points on your DE DMV driver’s record, a mandatory license suspension will be administered for four months. Additional points will result in a longer suspension period.
How do I remove driver’s license points from my Delaware drivers record?
You can remove up to three points from your driving record by completing a state-approved Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program. If you have 14 points or more though, it may be too late to enroll in a drivers ed course.
You will have to wait until your suspension period is over to become eligible again for license reinstatement. Part of the reinstatement process is completing a Delaware behavioral modification/attitudinal-driving course.
How long do points stay on my Delaware driving record?
Delaware driver’s license points remain on your Division of Motor Vehicles driving record for a period of 12 months from the date of conviction. Points are credited at full point value for the first 12 months from the date of violation.
After 12 months, the points are credited at one-half point value for the next 12 months. Points caused by serious convictions will remain recorded in full on your driving history report, and may also raise your auto insurance costs.
Delaware DUI Records
DWI offenses remain on a complete Delaware DMV driving record for a minimum of five years. Traffic offenders convicted of DUIs are required to pay high fines and may face criminal penalties.
How do I know if my Delaware driving license is suspended?
Your Delaware driving record will show the following statuses:
- Valid drivers license
- Suspended driving license
- Revoked driving license
Review your personal driving history regularly and avoid facing a driver’s license suspension.
Previous Traffic Violations
Traffic offenses remain on your Delaware driving record for a minimum of two years. Less severe traffic violations with only a few points can stay on the drivers abstract for one year.
DWI violations stay on your DE Division of Motor Vehicles driving record for five years. Delaware removes three points from a DMV driving record after completing a state-approved driver’s improvement course.
Why do I need a copy of my Delaware driving record?
Drivers applying for commercial driving positions or who want to purchase lower auto insurance premiums get great use out of there Delaware driving record. A DE personal driving history report is required when you have to prove you are a safe and responsible driver. To learn more about why you need driving records in Delaware, continue reading the sections below.
Check for Points in Delaware
Most drivers requesting a copy of their driving record in Delaware are looking to check for points on their driver’s license. A complete driving record from the DMV reveals all point information, such as the reason for the conviction.
If you received a traffic infraction on your license, it is important to check how many points you have accumulated in order to avoid license suspension.
Applying for a Commercial Driver Position in Delaware
A personal driving history report can greatly influence potential employment opportunities. Employers in Delaware check employee driving records to ensure the safety of their company and the public.
Get a copy of your DE driving record prior to a potential job interview so that you are fully prepared. By obtaining your DE DMV drivers record ahead of time, you can correct any mistakes that might appear and prepare explanations for an interview.
Lower Delaware Car Insurance Premiums
Insurance companies determine their premiums on a number of factors, including your age, location and the information listed on your Delaware driving record. Drivers with multiple accidents and violations listed on their personal driving history report will most likely have to pay higher car insurance premiums.
Having a clean DMV divers record can make it easier to negotiate with car insurance companies for the cheapest auto insurance premiums possible.
Take Delaware Traffic School to Prevent Points
Drivers who attend traffic school in Delaware can benefit in a number of ways. Successfully completing traffic school can prevent your car insurance from being canceled and your premiums from being raised. By enrolling in a driver improvement course, you can also reduce up to three points from the sum of suspension points listed on your personal driving record.
Why do employers check your Delaware driving record?
Employers perform background checks on prospective employees to ensure the safety of their company and the public. Violations such as DUI arrest records and hit-and-runs will show up on a criminal background check, and can also be found on your Delaware DMV driving history.
Employment opportunities that require you to drive a vehicle will always look into your Delaware drivers license status and personal driving history to avoid future liabilities. Any suspensions or revocations will also show up and be taken as an indicator that you will not be a safe and reliable employee. Avoiding medical bills and damages to property is of the utmost concern for employers hiring a truck driver.
Different Types of Driving Records
The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles offers three different types of driving records. Depending on how far back you need to see your driving history, you have these different options to choose from:
- 3-year driving record
- 5-year driving record
- Full driving record
3-Year Driving Record
The DE DMV 3-year driving record features information on all of your moving infraction convictions, reported accidents and any other incidents which resulted in driver’s license suspensions, revocations or cancellations.
7-Year Driving Record
The 7-year DMV driving record provides the same points of information as the three-year driving abstract, and reveals an additional two years of your personal Delaware driving history.
Full Driving Record
All of the incidents from the date you first received your Delaware driver’s license until present time will appear on your DMV complete driving record. If there is information available from other states, then it will also be part of your full driving record.
How do I fix a mistake on a Delaware drivers history report?
Fix the mistakes on your personal drivers record before they can affect the status of your driver’s license or commercial driving employment opportunities. Take action by contacting the DE Division of Motor Vehicles to report any errors that may be on your DE DMV driving record. Present any receipts of paid fines and traffic tickets you may have in your possession.
What is not included on my Delaware driving record report?
A Delaware drivers history report does not include certain information that you might find useful. DMV.com has set up resources to allow you to obtain the following information for your records:
- Background check
- VIN Check
- Police record report
Vehicle Registration History
A Delaware vehicle history report includes information all vehicles that you registered with the DE DMV. Whether it’s to show proof of ownership or registration, a motor vehicle registration record reveals all the details. Owners’ names and dates of registration are included.
Driving Record Fees in Delaware
In Delaware, a 3-year driving record costs $25.
Driving Record Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- How To Obtain Vehicle/Driving Records from DE.gov