How to Order Your Nevada Driving Record
A Nevada DMV driving record, will inform you of important information about your driver’s license status, past moving violations and convictions. Review the sections below to understand more about how to use your driver’s record report.
What is on my Nevada driving record?
Depending on the type of driving record and where you purchase it, your Nevada driving record may provide either a partial or complete outline of your personal NV driving history. If you order your driving record directly from the Nevada Division of Motor Vehicles, it will contain:
- Your personal identification details.
- Date of expiration of the driver’s license.
- Demerit points.
- Details about DUI offenses.
- In-state moving violations.
- Convictions about moving violations committed out-of-state.
- Information about traffic crashes.
- Suspensions and revocations.
If you order your driving record through DMV.com, you will receive valuable information such as violation convictions, accidents (if reported by the state), suspensions or limitations, special license classifications and DUI offenses on record. DMV.com recommends ordering a copy at least every three years. Find out what is on your driving history report by filling out the form above to order a copy of your records.
Did you know? Your personal driving history is a public record. Potential employers, insurance providers, and courts of law can all request a copy of your driving history.
What do points on my Nevada driving record mean?
Demerit points are assigned to your Nevada driving record when convicted for traffic violations. Major traffic offenses are not penalized with points, and instead result in immediate suspension or revocation. Examine the section below to see the most common situations which can end in points being added to your personal driving history:
- Reckless driving: 8 points
- Careless driving or failing to aid at an accident scene: 6 points
- Speeding 41 mph or more over limit: 5 points
- Second offense for hand-held phone use or texting: 4 points
- Following too closely or failing to yield right-of-way: 4 points
- Speeding 31-40 mph over limit: 3 points
- Speeding 21-30 mph over limit: 3 points
- Impeding traffic or driving too slowly: 2 points
- Speeding 11-20 mph over limit: 2 points
- Speeding 1-10 mph over limit: 1 points
If you have a commercial drivers license, there are additional points for violations and stricter penalties. Recorded convictions for violations stay visible on your NV DMV personal driving history permanently, even if cleared. Order your driving record report to check demerit points on time and prevent driver’s license suspension.
How do points against my Nevada license affect me?
The Nevada Division of Motor Vehicles will send you a warning letter once you accumulate three points. Collecting 12 or more points on your motor vehicle report will result in a six-month license suspension. Before the suspension becomes conclusive, you can attend a court hearing to dispute it.
Keep in mind that having too many demerit points on your record presents you as a dangerous driver, and can raise your car insurance rates. The same risk applies to job opportunities, as employers want to give priority to candidates with clean driving records.
How do I remove drivers license points from my Nevada record?
Drivers who have between 3 and 11 points may reduce the number of points on their Nevada driving records by three, if they enroll in a state-approved traffic school. Point reduction is available only to drivers who do not attend the traffic safety course as part of a court plea bargain.
Moreover, drivers ed can be taken only once every 12 months. In Nevada, convictions will remain on your complete driving history even after you complete corrective actions.
How long do points stay on my Nevada driving record?
Points for most moving violations will remain on your Nevada driving record for 12 months. Vehicle insurance agencies can request information from the last three years, while license suspensions or revocations remain there permanently if you do not take reinstatement action.
By completing a course at a traffic school you can remove three demerit points. Severe offenses such as DUI or those that end in casualties stay on record for at least 10 years.
Nevada DUI Records
DUI arrest records will remain on your Nevada driving record permanently. By checking your DUI criminal record from the Nevada DMV, you can confirm the penalties you have been charged with are accurate, check reinstatement fees and see additional steps you may need to take to clear remaining issues.
How do I know if my Nevada driving license is suspended?
By looking into your Nevada DMV driving record, you can check the history for all suspensions and revocations you have ever been convicted of while you keep a valid Nevada driver’s license. A fast and simple way to keep track of previous penalties and avoid future longer-lasting driving restrictions is by ordering a current personal driving record report.
Previous Traffic Violations in Nevada
Your Nevada motor vehicle record includes details about in-state past moving violations and out-of-state violations only if you have been convicted of them. You are only allowed a certain number of points. If you exceed the number of points, then your driving privileges are going to be suspended.
The fastest way to remove points from your record is by enrolling in traffic school. To stay on top of the number of violations you have, check your DMV driving record today.
Why do I need a copy of my Nevada driving record?
Your Nevada driving record report is proof of your personal driving integrity. Before you apply for a commercial driver’s position, order your driver’s history report to verify all information is accurate and see if there is anything you can clean up. Acting responsibly with past offenses is a sure way to guarantee that you can be trusted with job tasks.
By owning a clean driving record when you arrange a car insurance premium with your insurer, you can request discounts and added premium benefits. Check your driving record now to see if you need to take preventive steps.
Check for Points in Nevada
The Nevada driving record from the Divisions of Motor Vehicles includes demerit points collected in the last twelve months. If you are approaching 12 points, you are getting to the limit and your license may be automatically suspended. Order your NV driving record report to check the exact number of points you have and see if you qualify to reduce three by completing traffic school.
Applying for a Commercial Driver Position in Nevada
Professional drivers need to present a copy of their Nevada driving record when they apply for jobs. A clean drivers record report is not only proof of your personal integrity, but also shows that you can deal with the increased accountability that comes along with the profession, such as driving large number of people or transporting valuable goods.
Lower Nevada Car Insurance Premiums
Your personal NV driving history is the main document that will inform car insurance agencies about your driving habits. By having no or few points, you show that you respect the traffic rules, and can be offered low auto coverage rates. If you commit too many violations, you will have to pay higher rates as you appear to be a liability for the provider.
Take Nevada Traffic School to Prevent Points
It is possible to clear three demerit points from your Nevada driving history by completing a state-approved traffic school course. Drivers who have between three and eleven points on record can do so, if they do not employ the opportunity as part of a court plea bargain. Check drivers license points by performing a driving record lookup now and study the relevant section to see if you meet the criteria.
Why do employers check your Nevada driving record?
Employee driving histories are reviewed by hiring managers as they recruit for commercial drivers. Even if the job involves occasional driving, the employee will be asked to submit a driver’s record copy to verify past driving habits.
Entrusting company property into the hands of potential employees who have demonstrated risky driving may cause business liability. This is the crucial factor which motivates companies to examine each candidate’s NV driving history.
How do I get my Nevada driving record?
DMV.com recommends ordering driving records from a secure and reliable source. You have the option of ordering your driving record directly from a local government branch of the Nevada Division of Motor Vehicles. This is usually the most cost-effective way to obtain your driving record.
As an alternative option, DMV.com has partnered with BackgroundChecks.com to deliver you the most up-to-date information quickly and conveniently. We partnered with BackgroundChecks.com because their commitment to keeping your information confidential and safe is a top priority.
Different Types of Nevada Driving Records
You can order different driving records from the Nevada DMV. Choose between a 3- and 10-year driving record, or order your complete personal driving history. See below for more information.
3-Year Driving Record
Your Nevada three-year driving record contains information about moving violations from the last three years and is issued to potential employers and insurance companies when requested.
10-Year Driving Record
The ten-year driving record report issued by the Nevada DMV includes all convictions, and is available to authorized officials on a federal level if requested by out-of-state DMV offices. Even if you remove the points, serious traffic convictions will still appear on your 10-year record.
Complete Driving History
Complete driving history records prepared by the Division of Motor Vehicles include convictions, accidents and suspensions from the date your license was issued. By reading your full driving record, you check for suspensions or revocation which have not been reinstated.
How do I fix a mistake on a Nevada drivers history report?
A mistake on your driving history report can change the status of your license. Extra points or an unpaid traffic citation may incur additional fees or license suspension if they are not cleared from file by mistake. To prevent license restrictions, always keep track of changes on your Nevada personal driving record. Don’t wait too long, act promptly by calling or visiting the Nevada Division of Motor Vehicles.
What is not included on my Nevada driving record report?
Not all motor vehicle record information is included in the Nevada driving record report. To find information that is vehicle-related, such as engine number or vehicle make, or details involving a person’s criminal record arrests, examine DMV.com reports about:
- Background checks
- VIN Checks
- DMV police reports
Nevada Vehicle Registration History
The motor vehicle record about the vehicle registration includes descriptions for vehicle you have registered in Nevada. Find out when a car was registered, who the owners were and the relevant mileage reading to use this report in situations when you need to provide official proof of vehicle registration.
Driving Record Fees in Nevada
A driving record report in Nevada costs $8.
Driving Record Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Driver History Reports from DMVNV.com