DMV.com is a privately owned website.* Privacy

How to Register a Vehicle in Nevada

Vehicle Registration Online Services Guide

Nevada law requires that motor vehicle owners must register their vehicle with the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles before taking it on the road. Both new and second-hand vehicles must be registered, regardless of whether they are purchased from a dealer or an individual. In addition, new Nevada residents who have registered their vehicle in another state must register their vehicle in Nevada. The initial vehicle registration must be done in person, and registration renewals must be done annually, either in person, online or by mail or by telephone.

If you are new to Nevada you must obtain your driving license within 30 days. You must register your vehicle within the same time or 60 days, which ever is sooner. The fine for failing to do this is $250-$500.

INITIAL REGISTRATION

If you are registering a motor vehicle in Nevada for the first time, you must complete the following steps:

If you are new to Nevada you must:

  1. Get your vehicle inspected for the identification number. Vehicle inspections must be performed at a DMV office or carried out by a police officer. Once the vehicle passes inspection, you will be issued a Nevada Vehicle Identification Certificate.
  2. Submit the most recent registration and out of state license plates.
  3. If needed, you will have to submit the Nevada Emissions Vehicle Inspection Report after an emission test.
  4. The Certificate of Title if the ownership is changing, if not you can submit your out of state title. If the title is unavailable, bring the registration document, along with proof of sales tax payment.
  5. Visit your DMV office , and bring the above documents with you. In addition, you will need to provide proof of insurance, and the odometer reading, if the vehicle is less than 10 years old. Out of state insurance is not acceptable in Nevada. Check the state's Insurance Verification Program for more details.

If you have purchased the vehicle from a dealer in Nevada, you will have to:

  1. Submit the Dealer Report of Sale (green copy).
  2. If needed, you will have to submit the Nevada Emissions Vehicle Inspection Report after an emission test. The dealer will issue this to you.
  3. Sales tax in this case will be paid to the dealer based on the actual sales price.
  4. Visit your DMV office , and bring the above documents with you. In addition, you will need to provide proof of insurance, and the odometer reading, if the vehicle is less than 10 years old. Out of state insurance is not acceptable in Nevada. Check the state's Insurance Verification Program for more details.

If you have purchased the vehicle from an out of state dealer, you will have to:

  1. Submit the invoice or the Bill of Sale.
  2. The title or Manufacturer's Statement of Origin or Security or Lease agreement.
  3. Get your vehicle inspected for the identification number. Vehicle inspections must be performed at a DMV office or carried out by a police officer. Once the vehicle passes inspection, you will be issued a Vehicle Inspection Certificate
  4. If needed, you will have to submit the Nevada Emissions Vehicle Inspection Report after an emission test.
  5. Visit your DMV office , and bring the above documents with you. In addition, you will need to provide proof of insurance, and the odometer reading, if the vehicle is less than 10 years old. Out of state insurance is not acceptable in Nevada. Check the state's Insurance Verification Program for more details.
  6. The DMV will calculate the Sales Tax based on what you paid and what the charges are in Nevada, you will have to pay the difference. If you purchased your vehicle in Utah, you will have to pay full Nevada taxes.

If you have purchased the vehicle from a private party you will have to:

  1. Submit the Title or Security Agreement.
  2. Get your vehicle inspected for the identification number. Vehicle inspections must be performed at a DMV office or carried out by a police officer. Once the vehicle passes inspection, you will be issued a Vehicle Inspection Certificate
  3. If needed, you will have to submit the Nevada Emissions Vehicle Inspection Report after an emission test.
  4. Visit your DMV office , and bring the above documents with you. In addition, you will need to provide proof of insurance, and the odometer reading, if the vehicle is less than 10 years old. Out of state insurance is not acceptable in Nevada. Check the state's Insurance Verification Program for more details.
  5. If you purchased your vehicle on or after 1 January 2006 you will be exempt from Sales Tax. Vehicle purchases before this date will have to pay all taxes.

REGISTRATION FEES

When registering your vehicle at the DMV office, you will be required to pay certain fees, typically as follows:
The registration fee, which varies depending on the manufacturer's model year or the vehicle's total weight. Online fee estimates are available in Nevada. Your total payment will be based on the sum of:

  • Title fees, if you are applying for a new title.
    • Prison Industries fee which is $0.50 per license plate.
    • Supplemental Government Services Tax.
    • Government Service Tax, which is calculated on a percentage of the vehicle's value.

The following persons are exempt from paying Government Service Tax:

  • Veterans who have served in the wars
  • Disabled veterans
  • Surviving spouses of veterans
  • Blind people.

Contact your county assessor's office for more details on this.

RENEWING YOUR VEHICLE REGISTRATION

Owners of motor vehicles in Nevada are required to renew their vehicle registration annually, and can do so in person, online or by mail or telephone. See our Registration Renewal section for complete details.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

  • Resident active duty members of the U.S. Armed Forces (or their dependents) or resident full-time students attending a Nevada college or university or anyone else temporarily living in Nevada, will not be required to title or register their vehicles. Should non resident students or military dependents take up employment, they will have to comply with DMV rules as Nevada residents do.
  • The process for registering a motorcycle is generally the same as a car registration; however, there are different procedures for boat registration and custom car registration.
  • Auto Insurance is needed to legally operate all vehicles in Nevada.
  • See also Renewing Your Vehicle Registration.
  • See also Title Transfers and Car Insurance.
Submitted by JDOBARD on 4th Aug 2015

I have not received my

I have not received my registration. I registered my car at a jiffy smog place on July 11. Please help.

Submitted by maryhutson on 16th Feb 2015

Can I transfer my tax

Can I transfer my tax exemption (90 percent disabled Army) from an old car to a new car that i just bought. Have not used up a whole year.

Submitted by myfamily05 on 17th Apr 2014

I lost my registration

I lost my registration

Submitted by Lora34 on 9th Feb 2015

My truck was stolen and my

My truck was stolen and my registration got loss

Submitted by wgrundy on 4th Dec 2012

i am taking over the payments

i am taking over the payments for someones vehicle that lives out of state. the vehicle is registered to them and their finance company. is there a way for me to get nv plates on the vehicle in my name.

Submitted by lucky44 on 30th Oct 2012

I was not in the country for

I was not in the country for almost a year, and i didnt pay my Ins; I just got back and got and Ins. and they told me I have to pay a fine over a 1000.00 and a Sr22 , its fine but can I make payments to you guys? I dont have the entire amount righ now,

Thank you

Submitted by Christine B on 27th Dec 2011

I did not get myt

I did not get myt reregistration in the mail. What do i do now?

Submitted by Clintonhend on 15th Nov 2015

I did not get my

I did not get my reregistration in the mail. I need to get it so i can get my vehicle register.

Submitted by cardzzz on 7th Oct 2012

i did not get my registration

i did not get my registration in the mail

Submitted by chivtchyan on 27th Feb 2013

I did not get my registration

I did not get my registration in mail

Submitted by Anonymous on 28th Apr 2011

I lost my registration.Can I

I lost my registration.Can I get a new one mailed to me ? I am handy capped.

Submitted by mapuertoeten on 4th Oct 2011

I lost my registration.Can I

I lost my registration.Can I get a new one mailed to me ? I am handy capped.

Submitted by Anonymous on 7th Apr 2011

SIR MADAM, I HAVE $500

SIR MADAM, I HAVE $500 DOLLARS CREDIT @ DMV CAN I USED THE CREDIT TO REGITER MY FRIEND CAR