In order to apply for a new Mississippi car registration, you need to complete a number of important steps when applying. In order to simplify the process, you will need to gather the necessary documents, calculate your required fee payment before being able to obtain a Mississippi car registration. Online assistance can help you complete all of these steps quickly and easily by providing you with all of the information you need to know about replacing your license. Start simplifying your application process today.
2. By Mail
Rather than get ahead with online assistance and services, some Mississippi residents prefer to handle their DMV transactions via mail. Drivers can complete a few different procedures by mail, but payment methods are restricted, and the transactions have inconvenient and lengthy turnaround times for results.
3. Via a DMV Office
Certain transactions must be completed in person at a Mississippi DMV office. However, before visiting a local branch, be sure to verify that the location offers the service you require. Not all DMV procedures can be completed at every location. Additionally, note that wait times are typically lengthy. So make sure to take advantage of online assistance to prepare for your visit.
Mississippi car registration is a process for which the state Department of Revenue (DOR) oversees. However, motorists who need to get car registration documents must visit a local County Tax Collector's office to complete vehicle registration services. Registrants who need new car registration tags must visit the Tax Collector's office for the county in which the vehicle is garaged. Motorists must obtain car registry documents within seven days of the vehicle's purchase date. To learn more about getting car registration documents, review the sections provided below.
Mississippi Vehicle Registration Information Required
"What do I need to register my car in MS?", motorists may ask. Registrants must submit the vehicle's current title or the Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin during registration. At this time, motorists must also surrender their previous vehicle's license plates. MS registration of vehicle applications for standard tags, disability tags, personalized plates or specialty plates are all available at the applicant's County Tax Collector office.
While motorists do not need to present proof of vehicle liability car insurance as part of the Mississippi new car registration process, drivers must keep an insurance card in the vehicle at all times. Additionally, emissions testing is not a registration requirement in the state.
Where to Register a Car in Mississippi for the First Time
Motorists must submit a new car registration application within seven working days of the vehicle's purchase date. Drivers who do not get car registration tags before the deadline may incur a penalty. However, motorists who purchase a vehicle from outside of their county receive an additional 48 hours to register a vehicle. Moreover, new residents may complete the Mississippi DMV car registration application process within 30 days of obtaining state residency or within 30 days of moving the vehicle into the state. Drivers must obtain MS car registration tags sooner if their out-of-state license plate is not current.
The process of where and how to get car registration documents varies depending on where motorists purchase the vehicle. Motorists who purchase a vehicle from a dealership do not need to submit vehicle registration documents on their own. The dealership handles all auto registration services in Mississippi, including the titling and registration application. However, new residents or motorists who purchase a vehicle from a private party must complete auto registration services in-person at a County Tax Collector's office.
Additionally, getting car registration tags varies slightly depending on the gross vehicle weight (GVW). If a vehicle weighs less than 10,000 lbs, registration must occur at the County Tax Collector's office for which the vehicle is kept overnight. Drivers receive car registry tags during this time. Additionally, motorists must complete DMV car registration services at a local County Tax Collector's office for vehicles weighing more than 10,000 lbs, as long as the vehicle only travels throughout the state. Drivers must obtain registration of vehicle tags at the state DOR office in Clinton if the vehicle weighs more than 10,000 lbs and moves across state boundaries.
How to Register a New Car in Mississippi
Dealerships handle all Mississippi auto registration services when a motorist purchases a new or used vehicle from an in-state car dealership. Dealerships handle the registration of vehicle and titling application on behalf of the motorist. During this time, drivers may purchase temporary car registry drive-out tags which grants the motorist permission to drive the vehicle home from the dealership.
How to Register a Used Car in Mississippi
The process of how to get car registration in MS depends on whether motorists purchase a new or used vehicle from out-of-state or within the state. In-state purchases require the following documentation during the motor vehicle registration process: the vehicle's current title (signed by the seller), vehicle identification number (VIN) and in some cases, the manufacturer's suggested retail price (MSRP). Furthermore, motorists who need car registry tags must present a state-issued identification card, a Power of Attorney form (if applicable), special tag proof (if applying for disability plates or Disabled American Veterans plates) and submit payment for all registration fees.
During the new car registration process, motorists must present the following vehicle registration information for all out-of-state vehicles: the vehicle's out-of-state title (or the name and address of the vehicle's lienholder), the Bill of Sale (if purchased from a dealership) and an odometer disclosure statement. Applicants who need to get car registration tags must submit the vehicle's Manufacturer's Statement of Origin if the vehicle does not have an out-of-state title. Motorists must also pay Mississippi car registration fees, including sales tax. Furthermore, registrants must present a state-issued identification card, Power of Attorney form (if applicable), payment for all registration fees and special tag proof (if applicable).
Temporary Mississippi Vehicle Registration
"Before I register my car, do I need to obtain temporary registration tags?", motorists may wonder. Motorists who purchase a new or used vehicle from a car dealership may buy a temporary auto registration (drive-out tag) to drive the vehicle home from the dealership. The temporary car registration permit is available for purchase directly through the dealership and remains valid for a period of seven days from the purchase date. Out-of-state residents may use temporary Mississippi car registry tags to transport the vehicle to their home state.
Furthermore, motorists cannot place their old license plates on the new vehicle. During the new motor vehicle registration process, motorists must surrender their previous license plates to their Tax Collector's office. If motorists surrender a current (unexpired) license plate, drivers may apply the unused portion of the registration plate to the cost of their new registration.
Motorists with questions regarding the MS vehicle registration or titling process may contact the DOR directly using the telephone numbers listed below:
County Vehicle Registrations: 601-923-7141
Registrants who need to get car registration tags on vehicles traveling out-of-state and with a GVW over 10,000 lbs. must visit the state DOR office at the address listed below:
500 Clinton Center Drive
Clinton, MS 39056