How to Register an Antique Vehicle in Mississippi
Owners of antique vehicles can obtain a Mississippi antique vehicle registration document and vintage license plates through the state Department of Revenue (DOR). Note that applications for MS antique license plates and registrations are processed through local county tax collector's offices. Car owners can apply for a historic vehicle registration and tags only if their vehicle meets the state definition of an antique car. Also, proprietors of historic vehicles in Mississippi are exempt from paying the state Ad Valorem Taxation. To learn more about the process of obtaining MS antique car registration and historic license plates, read the sections outlined below.
Definition of an Antique Vehicle in Mississippi
Applying for vintage vehicle registration and the corresponding plates is a process that can only be completed by owners of these types of vehicles. Under the Mississippi antique license plates rules, only individuals who own vehicles that are more than 25 years old can apply for vintage car tags in MS. Note that this eligibility will be confirmed when the vehicle owner applies for the historic vehicle registration and plates.
Steps in the Mississippi Registration Process
The procedure to obtain a Mississippi antique auto registration and purchase a vintage registration plates can be completed in person through a local county tax collector's office by submitting the necessary forms and paying the applicable fees. To successfully apply for a historic car registration in MS and auto tags, vehicle owners will generally be required to complete the following steps:
- Present an official photo ID document.
- Fill out the corresponding application forms.
- Submit the vehicle title with a confirmed vehicle identification number.
- Pay the applicable registration fees and due taxes.
Note: Individuals applying for an MS antique car registration on behalf of the original vehicle owner will be required to submit a power of attorney form as well.
Note that applicants must fill out an additional antique license plates application form when registering a vehicle with historic value. After registering your vehicle and submitting the vintage car tag application, the tax collector's office will place your order of this type of specialty plate. Your new plates will be sent by the manufacturer within five to 10 working days to the address provided at the time of purchase.
Fees to Register an Antique Vehicle in Mississippi
When requesting a vintage car registration in Mississippi and purchasing antique vehicle tags, applicants will be required to arrange payment for several types of fees and costs. The total cost to complete the process of registering a vintage car in MS will include the registration fees and certain tax costs. Note that owners of antique vehicles are not required to pay the state Ad Valorem taxes as they are exempt from doing so under the Mississippi motor vehicle laws. Also, unlike standard car registrations and tags, antique car license plates can be obtained by paying a one-time fee of $26. These plates will display no expiration date and they will remain valid as long as the vehicle is in the possession of the current owner.
Note: Even if owners of vintage vehicles are not required to complete the standard car registration renewal procedure, motorists must remember to finalize this procedure on a regular basis for any passenger vehicles that they own.