How to Perform an Out-of-State Title Transfer in Mississippi
Many vehicle owners are unfamiliar with how to perform an out of state car title transfer in Mississippi. In general, motorists need to transfer an out of state car title when they move from another state to MS. Moreover, this procedure is also required when they purchase an out-of-state motor vehicle. Furthermore, this title transfer request is received and processed by the state’s Department of Revenue (MS DOR).
In order to undergo the out of state car title transfer process, car owners must satisfy certain steps and prepare a list of mandatory documents that must be submitted to the DOR. For more information about the transfer of an out of state car title, continue reviewing the following sections.
What is a cross-state car title transfer in Mississippi?
Motorists who have purchased cars recently often ask, “What is a cross state title transfer?” This procedure, which is also known as a cross state car title transfer, allows motorists to transfer an out-of-state car title to MS. Prior to performing an out of state car title transfer process in Mississippi, vehicle owners can benefit from understanding the importance of updating their titles with their new state of residence.
Overall, certificates of title are legal documents that prove a legal entity’s ownership over a vehicle. However, in order to re-title a car on another state, vehicle owners must follow the appropriate steps and submit the correct paperwork.
When is an out-of-state car title transfer necessary in Mississippi?
New vehicle owners may wonder, “Is an out of state title transfer necessary for new cars only?” However, both new and used cars are required to have their titles transferred from one state to another. Generally, there are various similarities that pertain to these procedures, but also certain differences, which are specified by the state’s DOR.
In general, the out of state car title transfer process is a requirement for vehicle owners who have moved their cars to Mississippi. Furthermore, a title transfer is typically required by the DOR within 30 days from their move to MS. Additionally, this procedure must be performed by individuals who purchased an out-of-state car that will be operated in Mississippi streets.
Information and Documents Needed for an Out-of-State Title Transfer in Mississippi
Car owners are required to prepare certain documents needed for out of state title transfer in Mississippi. For example, besides an out of state title transfer form, motorists must submit the following documentation within 30 days of establishing residency in MS:
- Acceptable payment method for the applicable fees and taxes
- Valid out-of-state vehicle title
- Valid out-of-state car registration receipt
- Proof of ownership, if the vehicle is being held by a lien holder
In addition to the above-mentioned documents, car owners may also be required to provide additional out of state car title transfer information for this procedure to be complete. For instance, in many cases, a bill of sale is required. If you believe that your circumstances are unique, you may gather more information about the out of state car title transfer paperwork you will have to provide by contacting the Mississippi DOR.
Steps for Completing an Out-of-State Title Transfer in Mississippi as a New Resident
It is important to note that, when completing an out of state title transfer as a new state resident in Mississippi, the procedure may slightly vary, depending on the individual’s specific situation. Therefore, motorists are encouraged to learn how to complete a title transfer process beforehand, identifying all of the paperwork they will be required to submit.
However, in general, vehicle owners are required to perform an out of state title transfer in person at a local DOR office. Moreover, a new state resident car title transfer process in Mississippi must be completed within 30 days of the motorist’s move to MS. To do so, they must undergo the following steps to complete an out of state title transfer as a new resident:
- Appear at the appropriate Department of Revenue office
- Complete the application form to title and register the vehicle
- Submit an acceptable payment method for the applicable fees and taxes
- Provide an out-of-state vehicle title and car registration receipt
Out-of-State Title Transfers in Mississippi After Buying or Selling a Vehicle
In general, the process of transferring an out of state title after getting a new car from outside of Mississippi encompasses the procedure of registering the vehicle with the state DOR. Specifically, an out of state title transfer after buying a car will mandate vehicle owners to provide the out-of-state car title along with an odometer disclosure statement.
On the other hand, when performing an in-person out of state title transfer after buying a vehicle without a title from another state, motorists will be required to submit a manufacturer’s statement of origin (MSO) document.
Cross-State Car Title Transfer Fees in Mississippi
The last step to undergo a title transfer is to pay for the applicable Mississippi cross state car title transfer fees and taxes. However, the price of cross state car title transfer in MS may vary according to the specifications regarding the vehicle.
In addition to the cost of transferring an out of state car title, motorists may be required to pay certain taxes. The standard fees are as follows:
- Title fee: $9
- “Fast Track” title: $30
Note: You may be required to pay an additional $1 processing fee in certain cases.
- Title Frequently Asked Questions from DOR.MS.gov