How to Change the Address on Your Drivers License in Mississippi
A Mississippi driver’s license change of address is a procedure completed by licensees who move to a different address of residence than the one on file with the state Department of Public Safety (DPS). Motorists may need to change address on driver’s license in other instances as well, such as when they move to Mississippi from another U.S. state or country.
In order to finalize an MS DMV license change of address transaction, drivers may be required to personally visit a DPS branch and submit specific documentation. Drivers may find how to change driver’s license address in Mississippi by reading the sections below for more information.
Instances Where You Must Change Your Address on Your Mississippi Drivers License
Initiating a process of changing driver’s license address information is necessary for motorists who have moved to another address of residence within the state, per state laws. Drivers may also need to perform a Mississippi driving license change of address if they hold a DPS-issued driving credential showing an incorrect residential address.
An MS DMV change address on license for new state residents is necessary for drivers who need to transfer their out-of-state license. New state residents need to obtain a new Mississippi driving license displaying their MS address of residence, once they establish residency.
Mississippi Drivers License Address Change Time Limits
Licensees who change their place of residence should change drivers license address in MS within 30 days after moving possible and avoid being penalized for operating a vehicle with an outdated credential. Drivers who fail to complete a change address on drivers license transaction on time may face a traffic citation for incorrect licensing.
Motorists who neglect a Mississippi driver’s license change of address may also fail to receive important DPS correspondences about renewal letters, suspension notices and other DPS vehicle services. Failure to request a driving license renewal or reinstatement on time may result in punishments for operating with an expired or suspended credential if stopped by a law enforcement officer.
How to Change Your Address on Your Mississippi Drivers License in Person
Motorists changing MS driving license address information can update their record at a local MS DPS office to complete this procedure no more than 30 days after moving to a new address. Prior to visiting an office to change address on their DMV license, drivers must contact the Department of Public Safety and inquire about eligibility requirements and applicable documentation to support the requested change.
The DPS may require driver’s license change of address applicants to submit proof of their new address of residence, if necessary. Licensees can inquire about purchasing a duplicate license card if they want their new address to appear on the physical credential.
Drivers who need to change address on DMV license documents may be eligible to make these changes during their online license renewal process. Motorists should confirm with the MS Department of Public Safety for online renewal eligibility with a DMV address change.
How to Transfer Your Driver’s License as a New Mississippi Resident
Out-of-state drivers must change MS driving license address information by transferring their previous driving license to a valid Mississippi driving license. Applicants must perform a Mississippi driver’s license change of address and purchase a new credential no more than 60 days after establishing residency in their new state.
Without changing drivers license address credentials to a Mississippi license, motorists may face penalties for driving with an expired or invalid license. The process of changing DMV license address records by transferring credentials and securing a new license card includes the following steps:
- Presenting a valid driving license form out of the state.
- Submitting an original Social Security card.
- Presenting a certified, state-issued birth certificate, if applicable.
- Providing two proofs of MS residency, such as a lease or purchase agreement, utility bill or a bank statement.
- Passing a vision screening.
If you are transferring a current out-of-state license, you may be exempt from taking a written and skills tests. If the driving credential has been out-of-date for more than 30 days, you must pass a written exam. If you lost your out-of-state license, you must present a signed and notarized Affidavit of Inability to Surrender form.
Mississippi DMV Address Change Fees
To find out if you need to pay for changing driver’s license addresses in MS, it is best to contact the Department of Public Safety in a timely manner. If you change driver’s license address records and request a duplicate card, you must pay for the replacement document.
If you update driver’s license address information by renewing your driver’s license, you must pay the license renewal fee. If you are new to Mississippi and request to change address on your driving license by transferring your credentials, you must submit payment for the full cost of a new license to drive.