How to Change the Address on Your Drivers License in New Hampshire
A New Hampshire drivers license change of address is a necessary procedure for any motorists who move to a new place of residence. The procedure for changing drivers license address information is available through the state Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Motorists who need to change drivers license address in NH may complete their transaction by mail or in person at a local DMV office.
New state residents must change address on drivers license credentials by transferring their out of state driving license. Residents who wish to learn how to change drivers license address information may continue reading below for more details.
Instances Where You Must Change Your Address on Your New Hampshire Drivers License
Under New Hampshire law, motorists will need to complete an NH driving license change of address in several instances. Drivers who move to another place of residence must change address on drivers license records within the time limit established by the New Hampshire DMV.
Completing a New Hampshire DMV license change of address transaction will also be necessary for drivers moving to NH from another U.S. state or country. In the event of incorrect details on licensees’ driving credentials, drivers must update their record with the state DMV and request a new license.
New Hampshire Drivers License Address Change Time Limits
Motorists must apply for a New Hampshire DMV license change of address within 30 days of their move, per state law. Not changing driving license addresses in New Hampshire within the allotted timeframe may result in the issuance of a traffic citation due to operating a vehicle with an out-of-date credential. Furthermore, motorists who fail to change address on their driving license credentials may not receive essential notices from the DMV.
Drivers who do not receive a license renewal notice or a suspension letter and do not perform the necessary actions can lose their driving privileges for driving on an invalid license. New state residents must change address on DMV license records by transferring their out-of-state credentials no more than 60 days after establishing New Hampshire residency.
How to Change Your Address on Your New Hampshire Drivers License in Person
If you are wondering how to change drivers license address in NH, this section discusses submitting in-person updates at a nearby NH DMV office. The in-person DMV license change of address procedure requires you to fill out you to fill out a request form with your name, birth date, new address and other identifying details. Once you complete, sign and date your form, you will need to present it at your local DMV office.
If you want your NH driving license change of address to appear on your actual driving credential, you have the option to purchase a replacement card by presenting your old license and paying the applicable fee. Motorists with a lost or stolen credential will not be eligible to obtain a replacement. Instead, they may request a duplicate NH license once in the office.
The New Hampshire DMV does not offer an online drivers license change of address option at this time. Once the DMV processes your request for a replacement card, you will receive a 60-day temporary license until your permanent card arrives in the mail within 60 days.
How to Change Your Address on Your New Hampshire Drivers License by Mail
Another method for changing drivers license address information is submitting the necessary paperwork to the Division of Motor Vehicles by mail. Your mail-in application to change New Hampshire driving license address records will also require you to enter your identifying information in the request form, including your name, date of birth, new residential address and mailing address in addition to other details. To finalize your NH driving license change of address transaction, mail the application to the office at the address provided on the form.
How to Transfer Your Drivers License as a New Resident of New Hampshire
If you are a new resident of the state and need to change the address on your drivers license in NH, you must perform an out-of-state transfer and purchase an NH driver’s license. You must request a driver’s license address change and transfer your credentials within 60 days after establishing your NH residency.
As a new resident of New Hampshire, you may change New Hampshire driving license address information by completing the following steps at a nearby DMV location:
- Surrender your old driving license.
- Present proof of your identity and NH residency.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Have a photograph taken for your new license.
- Submit payment for the applicable fee.
Once DMV verifies the authenticity of the submitted paperwork, you will receive a 60-day temporary license. Your permanent card will arrive at your NH mailing address within 60 days. If you are younger than 21 years of age, you will receive a youth operator license with an expiration date on your 21st birthday.
In the event that your out-of-state license is lost or stolen, you must submit written verification that your license is current, valid and not suspended. You may have your previous DMV fill out an application to provide proof of your previously held license.
New Hampshire DMV Address Change Fees
Residents applying for a New Hampshire drivers license change of address do not need to submit payment if they only update DMV records. After performing a DMV license change of address transaction, licensees can purchase a replacement card in person at a DMV office.
Motorists changing drivers license address information on a lost or stolen driving license must purchase a duplicate card for $10. New residents must pay for a New Hampshire license to complete the transfer of their out-of-state credentials.
Drivers License Change of Address Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Address Change from NH.gov