How to Change the Address on Your Drivers License in Maine
Motorists must begin a Maine drivers license change of address procedure as soon as they move to another residential address within the state. Individuals who neglect to change drivers license address through the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) can run the risk of financial or legal penalties if stopped by law enforcement. Motorists who are new Maine residents can learn how to change drivers license address by transferring their credentials to a Maine driving license.
Residents should familiarize themselves with the method to change address on drivers license so they can make sure to complete all necessary tasks after moving to a new home. License holders who wish to learn when and how to change drivers license address in Maine can continue reading the sections below for more information.
Instances Where You Must Change Your Address on Your Maine Drivers License
State law requires Maine drivers to change address on DMV license after moving to a new residential address. Drivers may perform the DMV license address change by notifying the Secretary of State (SOS) of the update. Out-of-state residents who have recently moved to Maine must complete a similar procedure. New residents will have to perform a Maine drivers license change of address by transferring their out-of-state licenses to Maine credentials issued by the ME BMV.
Both current and new residents have to change drivers license address in Maine in order to have valid driving credentials and to avoid penalties. Changing drivers license address information is important for any motorists who receive a license with an incorrect residential address.
Maine Drivers License Address Change Time Limits
Motorists must complete the Maine drivers license change of address procedure within of 30 days after the move from one residential address to another. Failure to change address on drivers license can result in missing important BMV correspondence about license or registration renewal.
Additionally, residents who neglect a driving license change of address in ME cannot use their license as proof of residence when necessary. Drivers must notify the Secretary of State to avoid the consequences of driving without proper licensing.
How to Change Your Address on Your Maine Drivers License in Person
A Maine drivers license address change is one task offered by many BMV offices and providers across the state. Motorists seek a driving license address update must make sure their local BMV offers full services for drivers license replacement for address changes. When performing a driving license change of address in ME, residents must bring proof of residency for their new address.
Online Drivers License Address Changes in Maine
Motorists may change drivers license address online by using the online services through the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles website. Residents must complete a Maine DMV address change procedure within 30 days of their move to another residential address.
In order to be eligible for drivers license change of address online service, individuals must provide proof of Maine residency in person to a BMV location or service provider. Providing such proof will enable motorists to change address on drivers license and to obtain a new and valid driving credential with the updated address.
For more information about the ME DMV address update procedure and other available methods for out-of-state license holders, drivers may contact the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
How to Transfer Your Drivers License as a New Maine Resident
New residents wondering how to change drivers license address in Maine must surrender their out-of-state credentials and apply for a new driver’s license within 30 days of their move to their new state of residence. New motorists from out-of-state must change address on drivers licenses through a license transfer procedure. New residents visit a local BMV office and bring the following documents to complete the transfer:
- Proof of legal presence and Maine residency
- The out-of-state driver’s license
- Payment for required license fees
When updating drivers license address information, new state residents may need to take Maine drivers tests and provide payment. New drivers from out-of-state should contact the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) for any additional documentation that they may need when transferring an out-of-state license.
Maine DMV Address Change Fees
To finalize the procedure of changing drivers license address in Maine and request a duplicate credential, motorists must provide payment for the applicable $5 replacement fees. However, when transferring an out-of-state driving credential into a new Maine driver’s license, individuals must pay a fee for a new driving license and any additional fees associated with drivers license testing, when applicable.