A driving license suspension in Maine will incur as a result of certain driving or non-driving related misdemeanors. Motorists will be issued a revoked or a suspended drivers license by formal action of a court or the state Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) following a traffic offense. While the drivers license suspension procedure indicates that your driving privileges have been temporarily withdrawn, the revocation implies the termination of your credential. The driving license reinstatement in ME is mandatory for motorists to continue legally operate their vehicles within the state. Prior to restoring their driving privileges, applicants may be obliged to meet specific BMV- or court-imposed requirements and present the necessary paperwork. For more information about the restoration process, read the applicable sections below.
Reinstating a Maine Suspended License
To reinstate drivers licenses in Maine, motorists will need to follow the instructions set by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. The driving license restoration procedure is required, since operating with a suspended credential is considered illegal, and may result in even stricter penalties. Motorists facing an ME drivers license suspension or a revocation may receive a courtesy notice, including the details of the penalty. The following sections outline specific details about the Maine reinstatement procedure, as well as the types of traffic violations.
How to Reinstate a Maine Suspended Drivers License
The ME driving license reinstatement requirements will differ depending on the misdemeanor committed. When reinstating drivers licenses in ME, applicants may be required to satisfy the following conditions:
- Complete a driver education evaluation program due to a DUI offense (if required).
- File future proof of financial responsibility (SR-22 form) if applicable.
- Meet any court requirements.
- Arrange payment for the Maine drivers license reinstatement fees.
Motorists may receive a driving license suspension letter including the exact details about the restoration process. Another option to obtain the necessary information regarding this procedure is to send a request to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. The inquiry should include your full name, date of birth, current residence address and the type of information you are requesting.
Note: Motorists may have the option to reinstate their driving license before the expiration of a DUI-related suspension. To be eligible for an early restoration in such case, they will be asked to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in their motor vehicles.
Fees to Reinstate a Maine Drivers License
Paying the Maine drivers license restoration fees is a required step for motorists to finish the procedure. Note that prices may vary depending on the type of violation that was committed. The exact driving license reinstatement fees may be outlined in your suspension notice. Drivers who have not received this form have the option to order one by contacting the state BMV. To obtain a copy of the ME drivers license suspension notice, applicants must include a $10 fee. The letter may be also faxed to you for a fee in the amount of $2. The prices to reinstate drivers licenses in Maine can be paid via several methods, including by phone or in person at a nearby BMV branch. If your driving credential has been suspended due to a medical condition, no reinstatement fees will apply.
Note: If you opt for an early reinstatement following a DUI violation, you will be obliged to have an approved IID installed in your vehicle. In such case, you must note the $50 Ignition Interlock Device application fee.
Suspension Periods in Maine
To reinstate their driving license in Maine, drivers are typically required to complete a specific suspension period. The duration of an issued ME drivers license suspension is mainly based on the type of the offense committed. For instance, you may have a Maine suspended drivers license for a period of 30 days for the following infractions:
- Driving without a valid ME license.
- Leaving the site of an accident.
- Illegal use of your credential.
- Failure to stop for a law enforcement officer.
Drivers may face a 60-day driving license suspension provided they have been convicted of operating after withdrawal of their driving privileges. Also, you may have your credential suspended for 90 days due to street racing or eluding a police officer. DUI-related penalties and drivers license suspensions in ME are more severe as to deter drivers from operating while intoxicated. If you have been arrested and convicted of driving under the influence, you may face a suspension ranging from 150 days to eight years, depending on previous violations. Additionally, you may be required to serve a jail sentence and pay a mandatory fine.
Maine Point System
A Maine drivers license suspension will be also issued to motorists who accumulate too many points on their driving record. Whenever a traffic violation occurs, demerit points will be placed against your report according to the adopted point system. A suspended driving license in ME will incur in case the total point number reaches 12 points or more. In the event of a drivers license suspension, you will be required to attend a hearing resulting in your suspension being continued, modified or rescinded. The following list outlines the most common moving violations and the points attached to each:
- Operating after an ME drivers license suspension - 8 points.
- Driving on the wrong side of the road - 6 points.
- Improper passing - 6 points.
- Leaving the scene of a car accident - 6 points.
- Driving without corrective lenses - 6 points.
- Failure to yield - 4 points.
- Following too close - 2 points.
Note: Demerit points will stay on your driving transcript for one year. Should you reach a certain point level (currently 6 negative points), a warning letter will be mailed to you.
Traffic School in Maine
Motorists may be able to avoid the issuance of a Maine suspended driving license by completing a state-approved traffic school. If you are facing an ME drivers license suspension due to excessive point accumulation, for instance, the defensive driving course may help you reduce the number of demerit points on your record. Additionally, the completion of said course will improve your driving skills, thus leading to a reduced number of moving violations in the future. Drivers who are unsure of their eligibility or need more detailed information are encouraged to contact the Maine BMV.
Types of Maine Driver's License Suspensions
Whether you will face an ME driving license suspension or revocation will depend on the severity of the infraction committed. A revoked drivers license in Maine is typically issued for more serious misdemeanours, including vehicular manslaughter (five-year revocation) and constant violation of set laws (revocation for at least one year). Less severe infractions will result in a Maine suspended driving license for a specific time frame. The following are the most common traffic violations which require suspensions:
- Administrative drivers license suspension (negative point accumulation, adjudications and convictions).
- Failure to provide proof of mandatory auto insurance.
- Driving under the influence.
- Failure to pay child support.
- Failure to pay or appear in court for a traffic ticket.
Motorists in Maine may also have their driving privileges suspended due to a medical condition or disability. When restoring their credential in such instances, they will not be required to pay any reinstatement fees.
Note: If your license to drive has been suspended three times within a period of three years, you may be subject to an additional suspension of up to 120 days.
Maine DUI Suspensions
An immediate driving license suspension in Maine will follow for a DUI-related violation. If you are caught operating your vehicle while intoxicated, you will be arrested (in most cases) and the BMV will suspend your credential. A Maine suspended driving license may be also issued to drivers who refuse to take the chemical testing. Note that you may face court penalties separate from the administrative action as well. To reinstate their drivers license in ME, licensees may be obliged to complete a Driver Education Evaluation Program (DEEP). Also, the BMV offers the option for an early reinstatement to motorists who meet the imposed requirements and install an Ignition Interlock Device in their car.
Drivers Older Than 21
Adult drivers will be issued an ME suspended drivers license for driving their vehicles with a BAC level of .08 percent or more. A driving license suspension in Maine will also incur to motorists who refuse to submit to the alcohol and/or drugs testing under the Implied Consent law. The following list outlines the penalties you will face in case of a DUI arrest:
- First DUI conviction: A drivers license suspension for 150 days, a 48-hour jail sentence (provided you have committed another offense while driving under influence) and a $500 fine. The suspension period may be reduced to 30 days with an IID installed.
- First DUI refusal: A Maine suspended driving license issued for 275 days, a 96-hour jail sentence and a $600 fine.
- Second conviction: A three-year suspension of your credential, a seven-day imprisonment and a $700 fine. The suspension may be reduced to nine months with an IID installation.
- Second refusal: A driving license suspension ranging from 18 months to three years, a 12-day jail sentence and a $900 fine.
- Third and any subsequent DUI conviction or refusal: A suspension period ranging from six to eight years, a jail sentence from 30 days up to six months and fines in the amount of $1,100 up to $2,500. The suspension may be also reduced after an IID installation.
Note: The suspension periods imposed by the BMV could be longer than those imposed by the court. In such case, you will be obliged to serve the greater of the two.
Drivers Younger Than 21
Minors will have a suspended driving license in ME in case they are found driving after consuming any amount of alcohol. Under the Zero Tolerance Law, a Maine driving license suspension will be handed down for a period of at least one year to motorists younger than 21 years of age following a DUI offense. If you refuse the chemical testing, your credential will be withdrawn for at least 18 months. An additional 180-day drivers license suspension will follow, provided licensees transported passengers younger than 21 while operating a vehicle under the influence. When reinstating your driving license, you will be obliged to complete a DEEP course and pay the applicable fees.
Car Insurance Suspensions
A driving license suspension in Maine will also follow due to failure to purchase and maintain a valid auto insurance policy. To avoid having a suspended drivers license as a result of a no-insurance violation, motorists must obtain the required liability and present proof of one if pulled over by a police officer. To complete the ME drivers license reinstatement process and restore your driving privileges, you may be required to file proof of future financial responsibility (SR-22 form).
Traffic Summons or Failure to Pay
Motorists will need to reinstate their driving license in Maine in case they failed to pay or appear in court for an issued traffic citation. An ME suspended drivers license will be issued unless you arrange payment for your ticket or a court fine in the specified period of time. The State of Maine currently offers an authorized online provider which drivers can use to pay any outstanding tickets or fines, though other methods may be available as well. You may be able to proceed with the driving license reinstatement procedure once payment has been arranged and the BMV receives notification of such action.
Maine Hardship Drivers License
Drivers with a suspended driving license in ME may be eligible to obtain a hardship (restricted) credential, depending on the circumstances of the offense committed. The restricted or provisional drivers license in Maine allows motorists to operate their vehicles to and from work only. In general, DUI offenders and habitual violators of road rules and regulations may prove eligible for the issuance of such license. However, if you have been convicted of a DUI traffic offense for the third time, you will not be able to obtain the work-restricted credential.
Applying for a Maine Hardship License
While completing the Maine driving license suspension period, motorists may be able to request a hardship license which restricts their driving privileges. To request this credential, you will need to fill out and mail a Work-Restricted Driver's License Petition form to the official BMV address. Prior to submitting your inquiry, you must pay your license and reinstatement fees, and satisfy your restoration requirements.
Note: Licensees may face an additional driving license suspension in case they violate the said limitations or commit a traffic offense while using the restricted credential.