Motorists with a suspended or revoked drivers license in Oklahoma must apply for a driving license reinstatement to restore their credential, thus staying in accordance with Oklahoma motor vehicle laws. The OK driving license restoration procedure and requirements will depend on the type of committed violation. Drivers license suspensions are administered by the state Department of Public Safety (DPS) and they can be issued for various behind-the-wheel offenses. In addition to the DPS requirements, motorists reinstating drivers licenses in OK may also need to satisfy specific criteria appointed by the court. To find out more information about different types of suspensions and reinstatement procedures, continue reading below.
Reinstating an Oklahoma Suspended License
When reinstating driving licenses in Oklahoma, applicants will be required to meet specific requirements pertaining to the issued suspension. Note that some of the drivers license reinstatement criteria may be included in your suspension notice. An Order of Suspension/Revocation may be issued for various offenses, including driving while under the influence, demerit point accumulation, violation of state insurance laws, failure to pay fines or appear in court and more.
Note: For a detailed review of your driving history and any administrative actions in effect against your license to drive, you can always obtain a copy of your driving transcript via the internet.
How to Reinstate an Oklahoma Suspended Drivers License
To reinstate driving licenses in OK, motorists are typically required to complete a specific penalty period and pay the set fees to the DPS. Each Oklahoma drivers license suspension or revocation also imposes further criteria in addition to the aforementioned requirements. When reinstating your driving license, you will be generally obliged to take the following actions:
- Wait out the mandatory penalty period.
- Arrange payment for the allotted OK driving license restoration fees.
- Surrender your driver's license or permit to the OK DPS (if indicated on the suspension notice).
- Provide valid proof of vehicle insurance (if applicable).
- Enroll into an authorized alcohol/drug assessment program and install an ignition interlock device following a DUI offense (if required).
- Provide a Notice of Compliance issued by the court (in case of a failure-to-appear misdemeanor).
Note: The abovementioned list is not all-inclusive. Other driving license reinstatement requirements may also apply depending on the offense committed.
Fees to Reinstate an Oklahoma Drivers License
When reinstating driving licenses in Oklahoma, applicants must provide payment for the set restoration costs. Drivers license reinstatement fees will also differ based on the actions taken against your license to drive. For instance, the cost to restore your credential after a DUI-related violation is currently set at $315. If you have been penalized due to failure to pay fines or appear in court, you will need to arrange payment in the amount of $50 to the DPS. The same fee will be required to reinstate driving licenses upon a point-related driving license suspension. Finally, a fee of up to $350 may be necessary to complete the reinstatement procedure after a no-insurance offense. Since fees are subject to change without notice, contact a nearby DPS location in OK to inquire about the exact amount pertaining to your case beforehand.
Suspension Periods in Oklahoma
Completing a mandatory OK driving license suspension or revocation period is one of the requirements to resume your driving activities within the state. The duration of the penalty period typically depends on the severity of the misdemeanor, as well as the number of previous driving or non-driving offenses. If you have been issued an Oklahoma suspended drivers license due to a point-related offense, you will need to wait out a penalty period as specified in the suspension order, usually ranging between one and twelve months. Motorists with a revoked drivers license following a DUI traffic misdemeanor will face the following revocation periods:
- First-time offenders: A revocation for the duration of 180 days.
- Second offense within a ten-year time frame: An OK revoked drivers license for one year or more.
- Any subsequent violation within the preceding ten years: A driving license revocation issued for three years or more.
Motorists operating with a suspended driving license will also be in violation of road rules and regulations. In such case, the Department of Public Safety has the authority to extend the penalty for an additional three-, four- or twelve-month period of time.
Oklahoma Point System
Drivers license suspensions in Oklahoma will occur for accumulation of 10 or more negative points on your driving record within a period of five years. To reinstate your driving license in such case, you must first serve the penalty period as specified in your Order of Suspension letter and pay a mandatory $50 restoration fee. In case you need to complete a six- or twelve-month driving license suspension period, you may be subjected to an interview by a DPS hearing officer to apply for a restoration of your driving activities. The following point list outlines several traffic violations and the number of demerit points attached to each:
- Reckless driving - 4 points.
- Failure to stop for a school bus - 4 points.
- Careless driving - 2 points.
- Failure to yield right of way - 2 points.
To avoid an Oklahoma drivers license suspension, you may reduce the total point count by completing an approved defensive driving course. Also, two demerit points will be deducted in case of zero convictions of pointable offenses within any period of twelve months. If you have not been convicted of a traffic misdemeanor within a three-year time frame, your total point amount will be reduced to zero.
Traffic School in Oklahoma
Drivers facing an Oklahoma driving license suspension due to accumulation of too many negative points on their transcript will be able to prevent such action by completing a traffic school course. In addition to reducing the risk of receiving a suspended drivers license, defensive driving courses will also help licensees improve their behind-the-wheel skills and obtain affordable vehicle insurance rates. Successful completion of a DPS-approved traffic school will result in a reduction of 2 demerit points. Note that motorists are allowed to utilize this option only once in a 24-month time frame.
Types of Oklahoma Driver's License Suspensions
Motorists may have an OK suspended drivers license for a multitude of reasons, issued both by the state Department of Public Safety and a local court. Aside from driving license suspensions in OK, your credential may also be revoked, denied or cancelled under Oklahoma law. In general, more serious offenses lead to harsher penalties and drivers license reinstatement requirements. The below list encompasses several reasons why motorists may have their driving activities withdrawn for a specific period of time:
- Health-related driving license suspensions (vision issues or neurological disorders among others).
- Operating while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.
- Failure to provide proof of liability coverage.
- Failure to pay fines or appear in court on a citation.
- Driving while under suspension/revocation.
Note: Young drivers will face cancellation or denial of their privilege to drive in case they are caught purchasing or possessing alcoholic beverages. To reinstate their driving license in OK, they must serve the ordered revocation period and provide payment for the statutory fee.
Oklahoma DUI Suspensions
The process of reinstating drivers licenses in Oklahoma is mandatory after a DUI offense has been committed. The state emphasizes the negative effects of alcohol and drugs while driving, and thus imposes strict penalties on drivers who operate while intoxicated. OK revoked driving licenses will be issued to both adult drivers and minors for exceeding the permitted blood alcohol content (BAC) levels. A separate drivers license revocation followed by jail sentences and large fines may be also issued by the court system, should a motorist refuse to abide by the set motor vehicle laws while on the road.
Drivers Older Than 21
Per the state Implied Consent Law, motorists will be issued a revoked drivers license in Oklahoma for failing or refusing to submit to a chemical testing. The driving license revocation period will last from 180 days to three years based on prior driving offenses. If you are convicted of operating with a BAC level of more than .05 but less than .08, the OK DPS may impose an drivers license suspension, in addition to a fine ranging between $100 to $500 and/or a six-month prison sentence. Drivers arrested for a BAC level of .08 or more will be required to pay larger fines and serve longer jail sentences. To finalize the Oklahoma driving license restoration procedure, you must take the following actions:
- Complete the mandatory drivers license revocation period as shown in your Order of Revocation.
- Surrender any license or permit to drive which you may have in your possession to the OK DPS.
- Arrange payment for the allotted driving license reinstatement fee.
- Present a completion certificate to the Driver Compliance.
- Division of DPS after attending an authorized alcohol/drug assessment program.
- Install an ignition interlock device (required for habitual offenders). Second-time offenders must have an IID installed on their vehicles for a four-year period of time. Any following revocation will require a five-year installation of an IID.
Note: If you are classified as an excessive alcohol and/or drugs user, you may need to satisfy additional requirements for reinstatement.
Drivers Younger Than 21
Under the Zero Tolerance Law, drivers younger than 21 will be handed down an Oklahoma revoked drivers license provided they are caught with any measurable quantity of an intoxicating substance in their system when driving. First-time offenders will face an OK driving license revocation for the duration of six months upon test failure or refusal. A second DUI-offense will be penalized with a revoked driving license for a 12-month time frame. A 36-month drivers license revocation in OK will occur for a third DUI misdemeanor. Additional penalties may include large fines, participation in a treatment program, community service or any combination of the aforementioned consequences.
Car Insurance Suspensions
Authorized entities will issue a suspended drivers license in Oklahoma to licensees who fail to comply with the state Compulsory Insurance Law. A driving license suspension will occur if drivers do not purchase and maintain the minimum liability coverage which currently amounts to $25,000 for property damage, $25,000 for injury or death of one person and $50,000 for injury or death of more than one person. When reinstating driving licenses in Oklahoma, they will be required to surrender their license immediately after receiving the Notice of Suspension, provide proof of auto insurance in their name and pay the applicable fee. Other requirements, such as paying mandatory fines and/or completing a jail sentence may be imposed as well.
Traffic Summons or Failure to Pay
The OK driving license restoration procedure must also be initiated by motorists who fail to arrange payment for a traffic citation or court-imposed fines in due time. Licensees reinstating drivers licenses in such case must surrender their credential to Oklahoma DPS, pay the required fees and obtain a Notice of Compliance from the court indicating that all court-imposed requirements have been met. To finalize the Oklahoma drivers license reinstatement process, they must mail their payment along with the notice to the official DPS address.
Oklahoma Hardship Drivers License
Motorists who have been issued a suspended driving license in Oklahoma may be eligible to request a modified credential, allowing them to operate their vehicles while completing the suspension period. In general, the DPS will authorize the issuance of such license following a DUI-related drivers license revocation. When applying for a modified license, drivers will be required to follow a series of steps to successfully finalize the process.
Applying for an Oklahoma Hardship License
Before initiating an Oklahoma drivers license reinstatement, you may obtain a hardship (modified) license to drive. The application procedure will require you to first present a completed request form to the DPS within 15 days upon receipt of the driving license revocation notice. If the DPS approves your inquiry, you will then be required to complete an Information for Modified Driver's License form and submit it along with a fee in the amount of $175 to the DPS. Other requirements, such as installing an IID may apply, in addition. Note that you must not equip your vehicle with an IID until notified to take such action by the DPS. The aforementioned forms can be hand delivered or mailed to the official DPS address.