OK License plate guide. Custom or specialty plates and replacing lost or stolen license plates.
LOST OR STOLEN LICENSE PLATES
As soon as license plates are lost, stolen or illegible they must be replaced. To replace a lost license you must submit an affidavit in person or by mail to your nearest tag office. Along with this you must pay the replacement fee of $22 to the Oklahoma Tax Commission. Remember to mention your driver license number on the check or money order.
CUSTOM AND PERSONALIZED PLATES
These are the different types of plates in the regular series: Auto, Commercial, Trailer, Motorcycle, Permanent Trailer Identification, Disabled Person, Disabled Veteran, and Foreign Organization. You can pick up the proper application forms for regular series license plates and submit them at your local tag office with the appropriate fees (see below).
Specialty License Plates
Oklahoma allows a large variety of personalized and specialty plates. Some of them are Air National Guard, Amateur Radio, Animal Friendly, Balloonist, Child Abuse Prevention, Desert Storm, Firefighter, Jaycees, Rotarian, Silver Star, World War Veteran and so on. You can check the following link for information on the plates.
You will have to fill out the application form for personalized license plates and customized license plates according your preference. Use the following link if you require Personalized License Plate for Boy Scouts, Lions Club, 4-H Club and Patriot plates. Along with the application you must also pay the fees as mentioned in the application form. It may take up to four months to get your personalized plates for the first time, and about two months for renewal.
The application and fees can be sent to:
Oklahoma Tax Commission Motor Vehicle Division Special Plate Section 2501 Lincoln Boulevard Oklahoma City
If you own a vehicle that is over 25 years old and is used for purposes of display, you can apply for antique plates. For this you must submit a completed Classic Vehicle License Plate application form along with the title, registration and insurance to the above address in person or by mail.
Note: Your license plate must be registered at all times. You could face a penalty if you fail to renew it in time.
Replacing a license plate will cost you $22 and an annual renewal will cost you $21. Information regarding the fees applicable for each license plate is available at the Oklahoma license plate page.
WHAT TO DO WITH PLATES WHEN BUYING/SELLING A VEHICLE
You can either transfer your plate or surrender it at the local tag agent.