Drivers may get suspended or revoked driving licenses in Louisiana whenever they disobey state regulations and road rules for operating motor vehicles. Motorists will get a drivers license suspension or revocation for driving-related or non-driving-related offenses. The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles can revoke your driving privileges for various reasons. You can reinstate drivers licenses by fulfilling certain requirements and paying fees, which may differ depending on the violation you have committed. For more detailed information about how to complete an LA driving license reinstatement process, continue reading the sections below.
Reinstating a Louisiana Suspended Drivers License
To reinstate suspended drivers licenses in Louisiana and continue operating motor vehicles on public roads, drivers must complete a set of requirements and pay the applicable fees. Drivers can get a drivers license suspension or revocation for various reasons, including but not limited to: usage of wireless device while operating a motor vehicle, falsification of license information, refusal of a blood alcohol content test, failure to answer a traffic law change or to comply with a financial responsibility law, perpetration of the Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) offense and failure to pay child support or state income taxes.
How to Reinstate a Louisiana Suspended Drivers License
The Louisiana drivers license reinstatement procedure varies according to the type of violation committed. Drivers can reinstate drivers licenses in LA by fulfilling several requirements and paying certain fees. As part of the process of reinstating drivers licenses, motorists may be required to satisfy court requirements, provide compliance documents to the LA OMV, provide an SR-22 from the car insurance company, and pay the applicable reinstatement fees. Note that these requirements may vary depending on your violation. The necessary documents and payment can be submitted by mail or in person at a regional OMV branch. You must check whether the location you have chosen processes drivers license reinstatements if you decide to go in person at the OMV. Drivers who choose to finish the procedure by mail need to wait up to 10 business days for the process to be completed.
Note: Before reinstating suspended drivers licenses, drivers can check their driver reinstatement status online through the LA OMV website. To use this service, you need to provide your driver's license number and the last four digits of your Social Security Number.
Fees to Reinstate a Louisiana Drivers License
When reinstating suspended drivers licenses in Louisiana, drivers are required to pay certain fees, which may vary depending on the type of offense. To reinstate drivers licenses which are suspended due to a Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) offense, drivers are required to pay the following fees:
- $100 for first offense.
- $200 for second offense.
- $300 for third offense.
Drivers who have failed or refused a blood alcohol content test must pay $50, while a drivers license suspension due to an SR-22 cancellation requires payment of $60. Motorists who commit other offenses and get suspended drivers licenses as a result, must pay $60 reinstatement fee.
In addition to the applicable fees, drivers may have to pay additional court fines and fees as part of the driving license reinstatement process.
Suspension Periods in Louisiana
Drivers can reinstate suspended drivers licenses in Louisiana after a completion of a specific period, which varies depending on the type of violation they have committed. You can order a copy of your LA driving record, if you are unsure of the status of your driver's license. Committing a Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) offense can get you the following suspension periods:
- One-year suspension for first conviction.
- Two-year suspension for first conviction (with BAC level of 0.2 percent or more).
- Two-year suspension for second conviction.
- Four-year suspension for second conviction (with BAC level of 0.2 percent or more).
- Three-year suspension for third conviction.
A refusal to submit to a BAC test will result in a suspended drivers license from 180 days to 545 days for the offense.
Louisiana Point System
Often times, suspended drivers licenses are issued due to accumulation of demerit points. Louisiana, unlike other states, does not have a point system to evaluate violations and offenses committed while operating motor vehicles. Instead, Louisiana has access to the Problem Driver Pointer System (PDPS) database maintained by the National Driver Register (NDR). This computerized collection of data encloses information about drivers license suspensions, revocations, cancellations, denials or traffic-related offenses. In addition, the PDPS system includes a driver's personal details, such as his or her: full name, date of birth, gender, state and Louisiana driver's license number.
Traffic School in Louisiana
Motorists can avoid LA drivers license suspensions by attending a state-approved traffic school courses, known by different names depending on the parish or city in which the traffic citation was given. Drivers can dismiss traffic violations from their LA driving records by enrolling in a Pretrial Traffic Diversion Program, which can be suggested by their court. Licensed drivers may take defensive driving courses to avoid a suspended drivers license, to help lower their auto insurance premiums, to dismiss a traffic ticket, to satisfy a court requirement, or simply to become better driver.
Types of Louisiana Drivers License Suspensions
A Louisiana drivers license suspension may be issued by the state Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) to motorists who have committed offenses while operating motor vehicles. Drivers may get a revoked drivers license as a result of violations such as the following:
- Using a wireless device while operating motor vehicle.
- Texting while driving.
- Changing your license information and making a false statement.
- Using a driver's license illegally.
- Failing to stop in an accident, or to stop for a school bus.
- Committing a Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) violation.
- Refusing a blood alcohol content test.
Louisiana DUI Suspensions
Drivers who commit serious DWI offenses are faced with suspended driving licenses and additional penalties imposed by the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles. The period of drivers license suspension or revocation will depend on the severity and repetitiveness of your violation. DWI convictions are the same for both minor and adult drivers. The only difference being the allowable limit of Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level that can result in a DWI conviction.
Note: Drivers who commit a DWI offense and refuse to submit to a BAC test will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in their vehicles.
Older Than 21
Drivers who are 21 years of age or older can be charged with DWI if they are found to have a BAC level of 0.08 percent. Driving a motor vehicle with a BAC level above the permitted limit will bring you the following LA driving license suspensions and criminal penalties:
- First offense: 90-day suspension, from 10 days to six months in jail, payment of $300 - $1,000 fine, enrollment in a Substance Abuse Program, Driver Improvement Program and Community Service Program.
- Second offense within 10 years: 90-day suspension, mandatory 48 hours in jail, payment of $750 - $1,000 fine, enrollment in a Substance Abuse Program, Driver Improvement Program and Community Service Program.
- Third offense within 10 years: 24-month suspension, from one to five years in jail, payment of $2,000 fine, enrollment in a Substance Abuse Program, Driver Improvement Program and Community Service Program.
- Fourth offense within 10 years: two-year suspension, two years in jail, payment of $5,000 fine, enrollment in a Substance Abuse Program, Driver Improvement Program and Community Service Program.
Younger Than 21
A DWI conviction may be charged to drivers younger than 21 years of age when they are found to have a BAC level of 0.02 percent at least. Other criminal penalties and suspension periods for minors are the following:
- First offense for BAC results above 0.02 percent: no drivers license suspension, payment of $100 - $250 fine, no jail-time, enrollment in a Substance Abuse Program and Driver Improvement Program.
- First offense for BAC results above 0.02 percent: no drivers license suspension, payment of $150 - $500 fine, from 10 days to three months' jail-time (with mandatory 48 hours), enrollment in a Substance Abuse Program and Driver Improvement Program.
Car Insurance Suspensions
Motorists may face a drivers license suspension in Louisiana if they do not maintain insurance for their motor vehicles. According to state law, drivers are required to purchase minimum liability car insurance coverage. In Louisiana, you must pay $15,000 for bodily injury to one person, $30,000 for bodily injury to more than one person in an accident, and $25,000 for property damage. Failure to provide proof of car insurance when required may bring you an LA suspended driving license.
Traffic Summons or Failure to Pay
Drivers may get LA driving license suspensions as a result of failure to pay traffic tickets or court fines. You must contest traffic tickets either online or in person with the Traffic Court. The fastest option is to pay your traffic ticket online through the service offered at the Traffic Court website. To begin the procedure, you must enter the traffic ticket number and then follow the prompted steps.
Louisiana Hardship Drivers License
During your LA drivers license suspension period, you may obtain a hardship license for operating a motor vehicle in specific situations, such as going to work or maintaining life necessities. Only drivers with Class D or Class E licenses may obtain such restricted credentials.
Drivers who want to apply for a hardship license in Louisiana may have to install Ignition Interlock Devices (IID) in their vehicles, if they committed the following violations:
- Submitting to a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) test.
- Refusing to submit to a chemical test.
- Driving While Intoxicated (DWI).
- Getting a vehicular negligent injury.
- Driving under suspension.
Note: Commercial drivers license holders are not allowed to apply for a hardship license.
Applying for A Louisiana Hardship License
Before reinstating suspended driving licenses in Louisiana, drivers may be issued hardship licenses from a nearby Motor Vehicle Field office. Drivers are required to contact a local OMV branch by phone and check their eligibility for a hardship license before visiting a Field office. This restricted license can be obtained by providing the following materials for application:
- Proof of SR-22 insurance.
- Ignition Interlock Lease and Installation Agreement.
- Court order.
- Recommendation letter from Support Services.
- A written statement from the employer.
- Payment for the applicable fees.