How to Order Your Louisiana Driving Record
A Louisiana personal driving record is issued by the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles for all residents who possess valid driver’s licenses. If you want to find the needed information about your LA driving record, continue reading below.
What is on my Louisiana driving record?
Depending on the type of driving record and where you purchase it, your Louisiana driving record may provide either a partial or complete outline of your personal LA driving history. If you order your driving record directly from the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles, it will contain:
- Your date of birth.
- Your home address.
- The application date and status of your driver’s license.
- A list of all car crashes.
- A list of driver’s license suspensions or revocations.
- Past traffic violations and violation points.
- Louisiana DUI reports.
If you order your driving record through DMV.com, you will receive valuable information such as: violation convictions, accidents (if reported by the state), suspensions or limitations, special license classifications and DUI offenses on record. DMV.com recommends ordering a copy to stay on top of your files. Find out what is on your driving history report by filling out the form above to order a copy of your records.
Did you know? Your personal driving history is a public record. Potential employers, insurance providers, and courts of law can all request a copy of your driving history.
What do points on my Louisiana driving record mean?
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles driving record does not have an established point system, so instead of revealing demerit points, it focuses on the driver’s past violations. Accumulating too many offenses might get you a suspension or revocation on your driver’s license.
If you find any incorrect information written on your driving record, contact your local Louisiana OMV office to fix the mistakes. You may also take a traffic school course in order to avoid future violations and to help you become a better driver.
How do points against my Louisiana license affect me?
Louisiana drivers do not accumulate demerit points on their driving history reports, since there is no official point system established. However, accumulating too many offenses on their LA OMV driving record will bring them the following suspensions:
- One-year suspension for the first DWI offense
- One-year suspension for three charges of reckless driving within 12 months
- Six-month suspension for refusing to submit to a blood/breath test
- Three-month suspension for people who are 21 years old and who fail a blood/breath test
The amount of offenses you commit may also affect your employment status and raise your auto insurance premiums.
How do I remove drivers license points from my record?
Louisiana residents do not have the obligation to remove demerit points from their driving history reports, because the state does not have a point system. However, you can limit the offenses and violations you commit, thus keeping a clean LA OMV driving record.
To achieve this, you need to become a safer and more responsible driver and complete a state-approved traffic school course. For a list of traffic schools, click here.
How long do points stay on my Louisiana driving record?
Since there is no official point system in Louisiana, demerit points cannot be placed on a personal driving record. Nevertheless, the traffic violations and offenses you have committed, might bring you a suspension on your driver’s license.
If you want to avoid this situation, you are advised to order a copy of your driving record. Stay on top of the number of traffic convictions that are recorded, and take the necessary steps to keep your driving privileges in place.
Louisiana DUI Records
The LA DUI criminal records are an integral part of the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles driving record. A complete list of the DUI offenses you have committed while operating a motor vehicle are listed within. If you plan on enrolling in a drug and alcohol education class will require you to show your DUI arrest records.
How do I know if my Louisiana driving license is suspended?
Finding out whether your driver’s license is suspended or not is something that you can do once you order your personal driving record. In it, your status is revealed. You can also check how many traffic violations you have committed and how many more it will take until your driving privileges are suspended.
Previous Traffic Violations
While operating a motor vehicle, you may commit a traffic violation – it could be not using a turn sign to speeding. Any traffic violation you are convicted will be recorded on your Louisiana driving record as follows:
- Minor traffic infractions: 3 years
- Major traffic infraction: 5 years
- DUI- or DWI-related convictions: 10 years
Details on the violations and offenses you were convicted of can be found in your personal Louisiana driving history report.
Why do I need a copy of my Louisiana driving record?
Louisiana drivers need a copy of driving records in the moments when they apply either for auto insurance or for a commercial driver position. Providing a personal LA driving record to the insurance company or to the potential employer might help you in determining lower insurance premiums and in getting a truck driving position in a company.
Check for Points in Louisiana
Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles driving record does not contain points, because LA does not have an established point system. However, the driver’s personal driving history contains all the past violations and offenses. Ordering a driving history record will help drivers in finding out how many more offenses they can commit before their license gets suspended.
Applying for a Commercial Driver Position in Louisiana
Employers conduct research on potential employees by checking employee driving records as part of the interview screening process. The driving history will indicate if a potential candidate will be a liability for the company later on. Companies want to avoid paying for medical bills or property damages, as well as ensure their driver will responsibly transport goods or materials.
Having a clean Louisiana driving record will provide you with an opportunity to get a job as a commercial driver. However, if you have too many violations or accidents on your LA personal driving history record, the employer might reject your application for the job position.
Order your personal driving record before applying for a job, in order to fix any possible mistakes and to prepare yourself for questions about your infractions on the day of the interview.
Lower Louisiana Car Insurance Premiums
Having a high number of traffic violations and offenses on your LA driving record will increase your insurance premiums. Before you apply for auto insurance, you need to keep a clean driving history and try to fix any possible mistake in the efforts to lower your coverage rates.
Take Louisiana Traffic School to Prevent Points
You will not be required to take a traffic school course as a method for removing demerit points, since there is no official point system in Louisiana. However, you are advised to enroll in a state-approved traffic school for becoming a safer and more responsible driver.
Another advantage of attending a traffic school in Louisiana is that you will be able to keep your low insurance premium after you have committed an accident or a traffic violation.
Why do employers check your Louisiana driving record?
When employers analyze their potential candidates, they make an examination of their past driving experience by ordering employee driving history reports. These records help the employers to determine whether a potential candidate is a responsible driver. Eligible truck drivers will have a clean driving record as it indicates that they will be safe when transporting goods and materials, and avoid reckless behavior that would incur medical bills or property damage costs.
Ordering a copy of a potential employees motor vehicle record is a regular part of the interview screening process. The information within helps employers select only the best and safest candidates.
How do I get my Louisiana driving record?
DMV.com recommends ordering driving records from a secure and reliable source. You have the option of ordering your driving record directly from a local government branch of the Louisiana OMV. This is usually the most cost-effective way to obtain your driving record.
As an alternative option, DMV.com has partnered with BackgroundChecks.com to deliver you the most up-to-date information quickly and conveniently. We partnered with BackgroundChecks.com because their commitment to keeping your information confidential and safe is a top priority.
Different Types of Louisiana Driving Records
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles issues only one universal complete driving record. It contains all the important pieces of information about a driver’s past driving experience from the first offense until the very last one.
How do I fix a mistake on a Louisiana drivers history report?
When you find a mistake on your Louisiana driving record, you are advised to report it immediately to the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles. As long as you keep your driving record clean, you can get lower auto insurance premiums and higher employment opportunities.
What is not included on my Louisiana driving record report?
Future employers or insurance companies order Louisiana driving records for learning the driving history of an applicant. If you need information on criminal histories, vehicle histories or financial backgrounds, review the other available records below:
Louisiana Vehicle Registration History
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles offers not only driving records, but also a vehicle registration history for every driver. This document is proof of all the previously owned and registered vehicles you have and have had in Louisiana.
Driving Record Fees in Louisiana
In addition to the standard $16 driving record fee in Louisiana, motorists may have to pay a $2 fee when requesting this document online.