The Idaho drivers license reinstatement process must be completed by drivers with suspended or revoked drivers licenses in due time, as driving with a suspended drivers license in ID is against state law. The Idaho Transportation Department (ITD) penalizes drivers for a wide range of both driving and non-driving offenses. The steps to reinstate suspended drivers licenses in ID differ based on the severity of the violation and the corresponding penalty issued by the ITD. For certain more serious offenses, for instance, drivers will be required to submit proof of financial responsibility (Form SR-22) in addition to meeting the standard requirements. Find out more about the driving license reinstatement procedure in ID in the sections below.
Reinstating an Idaho Suspended License
The procedure to reinstate drivers licenses in Idaho can be completed by applying directly to the state transportation department. Note that for a drivers license restoration in ID, not all ID DMV offices accept applications. Contact the department prior to initiating the procedure to inquire how and where to submit your request. Certain steps in the process, such as paying the reinstatement fee, may also be completed via the ITD Online Services.
Note: To learn more about the conditions of your ID drivers license suspension or revocation, and to prepare for the reinstatement procedure, order your driving record via the internet.
How to Reinstate an Idaho Suspended Drivers License
When reinstating drivers licenses in Idaho, licensees will be required to complete several mandatory steps, such as waiting out a specific penalty period and paying certain fines. Drivers who were issued a stricter drivers license revocation or suspension may also be required to take other actions as well, such as meeting certain court-imposed obligations.
Prior to and during the ID driving license restoration procedure, you may be required to complete any of the following steps:
- Pay the reinstatement fee online or in person.
- Complete the mandatory suspension or revocation period.
- Serve a jail sentence (for more serious offenses).
- Submit the SR-22 Proof of Insurance.
- Install an ignition interlock device.
- Provide payment for other court-imposed fines.
Note: Contact the DMV in ID to inquire about whether or not you are able to pay your reinstatement fee by mail.
The above list does not include all steps in the ID drivers license reinstatement process, as depending on your circumstances, you may also be required to complete other specific steps. If you stop meeting your child support obligations, for instance, you may be required to provide all late payments prior to initiating the restoration procedure.
Fees to Reinstate an Idaho Drivers License
An important step when reinstating suspended drivers licenses in Idaho is to pay several types of reinstatement costs. The total payable amount generally varies based on the nature of the ITD-imposed penalty. To restore revoked or suspended driving licenses in ID, drivers will be required to pay a reinstatement fee ranging from $15 to $285. Less serious suspensions can be lifted by paying a smaller fee. Also, motorists convicted of multiple offenses will be required to pay a separate reinstatement fee for each of them.
In addition to the driving license reinstatement costs set forth by the department, drivers may also be required to pay other fees as well. For instance, licensees convicted of a DUI violation in ID may be ordered to install an ignition interlock device (IID). In such cases, offenders will be required to pay the IID installment fee, as well as the monthly costs.
Note: Contact your local ID DMV location for more information regarding the reinstatement fees applicable to your case.
Suspension Periods in Idaho
Completing the Idaho driving license revocation or suspension period is the first step when restoring your driving credentials. The duration of the DMV penalty period generally varies based on the type and seriousness of the committed violation. Driving Under the Influence offenses, for instance, result in longer penalty periods. Repeat offenders are at risk of incurring longer driving license suspension periods, as well. Note that several types of penalties may be of an indefinite nature, and they can be lifted only after completing a certain action. Drivers can easily obtain an online copy of their driving record and review the DMV-imposed penalty and its duration.
The department also issues suspended drivers licenses in ID of varying length for an excess of negative points on the driver's record. Review several point-related suspension periods in the following list:
- 12 to 17 points within a 12-month period: 30-day suspension.
- 18 to 23 points within a 24-month: 90-day suspension.
- 24 or more points within a three-year period: Six-month suspension.
Note: Moving offenses committed by teenage drivers are treated under stricter rules and regulations. Motorists younger than 17 years of age who commit two moving violations, for instance, will be penalized with a 30-day suspension, regardless of the amount of points on their record.
Idaho Point System
The Department issues driving license suspensions in Idaho for an excessive number of negative points under its Violation Point System (VPS). Per the VPS rules and regulations, different types of moving offenses will result in a different number of demerit points. Note that the ITD will not assess more than four points for any single traffic violation. Several examples of moving violations and their corresponding point penalties are outlined below:
- Crossing over a fire hose: 1 point.
- Driving through a prohibited safety zone: 2 points.
- Passing a moving vehicle from the left side: 3 points.
- Participating in highway races: 4 points.
While moving offense convictions and the resulting ID drivers license suspensions are permanently displayed on the motorist's record, negative points are only assessed for three consecutive years from the date of conviction.
Note: To review the full chart of moving violations and their corresponding point values, contact a nearby Idaho DMV location.
Traffic School in Idaho
To avoid a suspended driving license in Idaho due to an excess of points, drivers have the option of reducing their total point count by completing a state-approved defensive driving course (DDC). Motorists who would like to utilize this option must complete the DDC program prior to the starting date of their ID driving license suspension. By graduating from an ITD-approved traffic school, drivers will be eligible to remove a maximum of three demerit points. Note that, while the points related to a traffic conviction are removed, the conviction itself will still remain on your record.
In addition to avoiding a suspended drivers license, licensees who participate in a defensive driving program also have access to other benefits. Idaho car insurance providers, for instance, may reduce your insurance payments once you submit the certificate of completion of a driver's course. By completing a DDC course, you will also improve your driving expertise, which will result in less traffic citations in the future.
Note: Drivers can remove points from their record by enrolling in an accredited traffic school only once every three years. Also, commercial drivers are ineligible to reduce their point count by completing such courses.
Types of Idaho Driver's License Suspensions
The Idaho drivers license suspensions and revocations issued by the state DMV vary based on the type and seriousness of the committed offense. Less severe driving license suspensions are generally reserved for minor offenses. Serious offenses such as manslaughter or reckless driving, on the other hand, may result in revoked driving licenses in ID, which can be restored after meeting more complex criteria.
Review several driving and non-driving violations that result in DMV-imposed penalties, such as revocations and suspensions in the following list:
- Providing false information to the Idaho Transportation Department.
- Fleeing from the scene of an accident that resulted in property damages, injury and/or death.
- Refusing to undergo a chemical test for DUI purposes.
- Failing to provide proof of a valid vehicle insurance policy upon request from a law enforcement official.
- Driving with a suspended license in Idaho.
Apart from the standard DMV suspensions and revocations, which result from convictions for driving and non-driving offenses, the department may also administer other types of penalties, such as drivers license cancellations and disqualifications.
Note: By requesting your driving record online, you will obtain detailed information about your ID driving license revocation, suspension or other type of ITD-administered punishment.
Idaho DUI Suspensions
The procedure to reinstate suspended drivers licenses in Idaho after a driving under the influence offense varies based on the type and severity of the violation and its corresponding DMV penalty. Note that the ITD issues stricter punishments for DUI infractions, in comparison to other types of offenses. Also, commercial operators and drivers younger than 21 years of age must abide by lower Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) limits than regular motorists. The following two sections review the DUI-related drivers license suspensions in ID for both adult and young drivers.
Drivers Older Than 21
The department issues suspended driving licenses in Idaho to any adult driver apprehended while driving a vehicle with a BAC level of 0.08. The requirements to reinstate driving licenses from DUI-related convictions generally vary based on whether or not the driver was previously charged for other DUI offenses. Repeat offenders, for instance, are often required to install an ignition interlock device (IID).
The following list provides an overview of the types of penalties administered as a result of DUI violations within the state:
- First DUI convictions: 90 to 180 days of driving license suspension in ID, a six-month jail sentence and a $1,000 fine.
- Second DUI convictions within 10 years: A suspended license of one year, a jail sentence ranging from 10 days to one year, a $2,000 fine and the mandatory installment of an IID.
- Third or subsequent convictions within 10 years: A suspension ranging from one to five years, a jail sentence lasting from 30 days to 10 years, a $5,000 penalty fine and the installment of an IID.
Note: Third or subsequent DUI violations are considered felonies under state laws.
Commercial drivers are subject to stricter ID drivers license suspensions, in comparison to the above penalties. Also, commercial licensees are in violation of the law if their BAC level is higher than .03 percent. Regular drivers who operate their vehicle with a BAC level higher than .19 percent may incur harsher punishments than those detailed above.
Drivers Younger Than 21
Licensees younger than 21 years of age face driving license suspensions in Idaho whenever they operate their vehicles with a BAC level of 0.02 or higher. First-time offenders will be issued a one-year suspended driving license. For second DUI offenses, young motorists may receive a drivers license suspension of two years. If you commit three or more offenses, your credential may be suspended until you turn 21 years of age.
Note: Young motorists are generally subject to smaller fines and jail sentences.
Car Insurance Suspensions in Idaho
Reinstating suspended driving licenses in Idaho is a process that must also be completed after violating the state mandatory vehicle insurance laws. To avoid an ID driving license suspension for a no-insurance offense, drivers must maintain a valid car insurance policy at all times. The minimum required amount of coverage is $15,000 for property damages, $25,000 for injury or death of one individual and $50,000 for injury or death of two or more individuals. Motorists must also be prepared to present proof of insurance upon request from a law enforcement official.
An important step when reinstating driving licenses from a no-insurance violation is to maintain the SR-22 proof of financial responsibility. First-time offenders will be required to provide the SR-22 form for a full year. For a second violation, you will be required to maintain the proof of insurance for three consecutive years.
Traffic Summons or Failure to Pay
Suspended drivers licenses in Idaho are also issued to drivers who fail to resolve an ID traffic ticket issue in due time. After receiving a ticket, drivers have two options: either plead guilty and provide the fine payment to the assigned court, or appear at their hearing and present their case. If you choose to plead guilty, you may be able to pay the traffic citation via several methods, such as online and in person. For more information about the available payment methods, contact the corresponding state court.
Prior to initiating the process to reinstate drivers licenses in ID for a ticket-related offense, you must pay the full fine amount, as well as any additional court costs. The total cost amount generally varies based on the type of traffic offense that was committed. Failure to fasten your seatbelt for instance will result in a $10 ticket. Speeding in a school zone, on the other hand, is a more serious infraction that results in a $156 ticket.
Note: To review the applicable traffic ticket fines in ID, obtain the complete Infraction Penalty Schedule through a local office of the ID DMV.
Idaho Hardship Drivers License
While completing an Idaho drivers license suspension or revocation, motorists have the option of applying for a restricted credential, which will allow them to drive to and from their place of employment, school or medical facilities. The ITD classifies this type of hardship license as a restricted driving permit. An important eligibility requirement for a restricted license in Idaho is to have a clear driving status in the remaining U.S. states.
Note: Regardless of the reason for incurring a suspended driving license in ID, commercial drivers are ineligible for a restricted permit.
Applying for an Idaho Hardship License
To apply for a restricted driving permit while completing an Idaho driving license revocation or suspension, drivers can submit their request at the department's main office in Boise. If you were convicted for violating the state motor vehicle laws by a state court, however, you will be required to submit your request to the court that processed your case.
To finalize the application procedure, motorists may be required to submit a specific application form, as well as the following items:
- A work verification document that outlines the applicant's job position, working hours and place of employment (if requesting a permit for a work-related reason).
- A letter from a doctor describing the medical reasons for obtaining a restricted license to drive (if applying for a health-related reason).
- An SR-22 certificate of insurance or a valid insurance card.
- Payment for the reinstatement fees, as well as $60 payment for the restricted credential's fee.
Note: Idaho drivers convicted of a driving offense in an out-of-state court can apply directly through the ITD.