How to Register a Vehicle in Idaho
Vehicle registration in Idaho is required for all cars driven within the state. Along with your title, your registration serves as proof that you are the rightful owner of the car. You will need to get Idaho DMV registration documents whether you are moving to the state, buying a new car or buying a used car.
In this article, you will find out everything you need to know about registering a car in Idaho: what documents you need to bring to the DMV, how much liability insurance you need to buy and how to register your vehicle if you have a documented reason to be out-of-state. Additionally, you will learn how the process differs for new car buyers and used car buyers.
Idaho Car Registration Requirements
In order to get a vehicle registration in Idaho, you need to be a resident of the state. Your vehicle must also be titled in Idaho.
You are automatically considered an Idaho resident if you have been living in Idaho for at least 90 days. However, if you would like to go to the DMV and pay for a car registration earlier, you are allowed to declare residency in Idaho at any time. The 90-day timeframe is simply the maximum amount of time you are allowed to live in Idaho before you are declared a resident.
In addition to getting the title, you will need to get your vehicle inspected. You will need to bring these documents along with a form of identification and a form of payment.
Car Insurance Requirements for Registering a Car in Idaho
Before you can register a car in Idaho, you need to get liability insurance. This insurance needs to cover:
- $15,000 worth of damage caused by an accident.
- $25,000 to cover medical or death expenses for any individuals hurt during an accident.
- $50,000 for the total medical or death expenses incurred during an accident.
Though you may choose to get other forms of car insurance, you are not required to do so by the state.
Vehicle Inspection/Smog Inspection/VIN Inspection Requirements in Idaho
To get a new car registration in Idaho, you need to get a VIN inspection. This ensures that there is a record of the vehicle, its condition and its mileage. This inspection will usually be performed by a law enforcement officer or an employee at the DMV office.
Registering a Vehicle in Idaho
If you want to understand how to register a vehicle in Idaho, you first need to know whether you are buying a new car or a used car. The two processes are different, because if you are buying a used car you need to ensure the seller gives you all the proper documentation. Dealerships often handle the registration process for new cars.
Though vehicle registration renewal is yearly and can be done online, you need to submit your initial registration documents in person. Exceptions are made for individuals who have a documented reason to be out of the state, such as service members or students.
How to Register a New Car in Idaho
The vehicle registration process in Idaho is often handled by the dealership that you have bought the new car from. If you choose to handle the process yourself, you will need to have the vehicle’s title signed over to you. Then, you will need to get liability insurance.
Once that is done, you will be able to go the DMV and get the VIN inspected. To pay the car registration cost, you will need to bring either money or a check.
Registering a Used Car in Idaho
Sellers should provide Idaho vehicle registration details to the buyer of a used car. This means signing over the title to you, as well as allowing you to perform an inspection of the vehicle. You will then need to get insurance for the vehicle.
Once you have completed these steps, you will need to bring the title, odometer inspection and proof of insurance to the DMV. An appointment is not required. You cannot get a car registration online in Idaho for a used vehicle, because the DMV needs to examine the documents and ensure that the vehicle’s VIN and odometer have been accurately recorded.
It is important to note that you should not buy a vehicle if the seller is unwilling or unable to provide the vehicle’s title. Without a proper title transfer, you do not legally own the vehicle.
How to Register a Car in Idaho as a New Resident
New residents have 90 days to register their vehicle. You become a resident when you have lived in Idaho for no more than 90 days, though you have the option to declare residency sooner.
Here is what you need to register a car in Idaho as a new resident:
- Title and Registration
- The vehicle, which will be inspected at the DMV office
Vehicle Registration for Military Members in Idaho
Car registration requirements in Idaho are similar for service members and civilians. The biggest difference is that service members who are not currently in Idaho are allowed to apply for their title and registration via the mail.
To get a vehicle registered via the mail, they will need to submit a title, a VIN Inspection Certificate, a facsimile of their driver’s license and a document that proves they have liability insurance. As well, they will need to send a Limited Power of Attorney for Specific Motor Vehicle/Vessel form, along with a check covering the total cost of the vehicle registration.
Students who are currently out-of-state are also allowed to use this process in order to register their vehicle. You may also choose to register your vehicle online, if your county offers that service.
Idaho License Plates
Once you have completed the car registration services required for getting your vehicle titled and registered, you will be able to receive a license plate. In order to do so, you will need to submit:
- The license plate application
- The vehicle’s Idaho car registration form and title certificate
- Proof of identification
- Money or a check
If you are eligible for disability plates, you will also need to submit the Disability License Plates and Placards form. This application requires basic personal information, as well as a signature from a licensed physician. The Medical Certification section should be completed by the physician, who will need to note if you are eligible for disability plates for a limited time or indefinitely.
To get military plates, you will need to submit the Military License Plate Application. This application requires you to submit an official paper proving you were in the military, such as an Honorable Discharge Certificate.
Idaho Car Registration Fees
How much is a car registration in Idaho? The answer varies based on the age of the vehicle.
- For a vehicle that was manufactured no more than two years ago, the price is $69.
- For a vehicle that was manufactured three to six years ago, the price is $57.
- For a vehicle that was manufactured no less than seven years ago, the price is $49.
These car registration fees only apply to vehicles that are a maximum of 8,000 pounds. Trucks, motorhomes and other vehicles are on a different pricing plan.
Idaho Car Registration Forms
- Disability License Plates and Placards
- Limited Power of Attorney for Specific Motor Vehicle/Vessel
- Military License Plate Application
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Division of Motor Vehicles: Registration/Plates from itd.idaho.gov
- Personal Information Requirements for all Vehicle Registrations and Titles from itd.idaho.gov
- Motor Vehicles from itd.idaho.gov