In order to apply for a new North Dakota car registration, you need to complete a number of important steps when applying. In order to simplify the process, you will need to gather the necessary documents, calculate your required fee payment before being able to obtain a North Dakota car registration. Online assistance can help you complete all of these steps quickly and easily by providing you with all of the information you need to know about replacing your license. Start simplifying your application process today.
2. By Mail
Rather than get ahead with online assistance and services, some North Dakota residents prefer to handle their DMV transactions via mail. Drivers can complete a few different procedures by mail, but payment methods are restricted, and the transactions have inconvenient and lengthy turnaround times for results.
3. Via a DMV Office
Certain transactions must be completed in person at a North Dakota DMV office. However, before visiting a local branch, be sure to verify that the location offers the service you require. Not all DMV procedures can be completed at every location. Additionally, note that wait times are typically lengthy. So make sure to take advantage of online assistance to prepare for your visit.
Car registration in North Dakota is managed by the Department of Transportation (NDDOT) headquartered in Bismarck. The DOT issues vehicle registration to ensure that the cars on state roads meet certain safety standards. Exemptions from acquiring ND car registration are granted to full-time military stationed in state and to out-of-state students, but these drivers must keep their home state registrations current. Continue reading to learn more about North Dakota vehicle registration and the steps you must take to get your vehicle registered properly.
North Dakota Vehicle Registration Information Required
North Dakota motor vehicle registration requires the same documentation whether the registration is for a new or used vehicle. NDDOT registration of vehicle rules do not require drivers to obtain smog or emissions testing on their vehicles. Applicants for auto registration services should gather the following documents:
- Certificate of Title or Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO).
- Valid, non-expired driver's license or state-issue photo ID card.
- Bill of Sale or Purchase Order.
- Damage disclosure statement on vehicles less than 9 years old.
- NDDOT Form SFN 2872, Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Vehicle.
Odometer disclosures are a part of ND auto registration transactions because of the federal law called The Truth in Mileage Act (TIMA). It influences the car registry process because TIMA requires the seller of a vehicle to make an honest odometer reading disclosure to the buyer when the car is sold or the ownership transferred.
Although drivers getting car registration will not find themselves fined for not having auto insurance at the time they register their car, it is against the law to drive any vehicle that has not been insured to the state's minimum standards. The DOV recommends car registration applicants to have insurance before applying. Applicants wondering, "How can I register my car with proper auto insurance?" should note that North Dakota requires minimum liability coverage of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury and $25,000 per accident for property damage. This must be issued through an ND agent with an insurance company licensed to do business in North Dakota.
Where to Register a Car in North Dakota for the First Time
All new car registration applications in North Dakota must be submitted in person at a Motor Vehicle branch office site. Twenty-one motor vehicle registration offices are located throughout the state and most are open Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Central Standard Time.
How to Register a New Car in North Dakota
Once you have obtained the car registration disclosure statements and other documentation listed above, visit your closest Motor Vehicle branch office and submit your paperwork. After the DMV car registration agent processes your application, you must pay all applicable fees and taxes by check or money order. You will receive two license plates for each car you register. One plate is for the front bumper and the other is for the back bumper, and both plates must be secured to the car and clearly visible.
How to Register a Used Car in North Dakota
Applicants wondering how to get car registration completed on a used vehicle can simply follow the same steps outlined above. The process for used car registration in North Dakota is the same as for new cars. New residents need to show the car registration agent their out-of-state Certificate of Title and must register their vehicles within 30 days of moving. Before car registration can take place, any lien on the out-of-state title must be released if the owner is transferring ownership to another person while obtaining a title and registration. If the car owner remains the same, the lien can be carried over and will appear on the new documents. As with new car registration, applicants must pay all associated fees and taxes for their used car registration. Fees will vary according to the year the vehicle is first registered and its weight.
Temporary North Dakota Vehicle Registration
Temporary North Dakota car registration permits can be obtained at any Motor Vehicle Division office or North Dakota Highway Patrol office. These car registry documents are intended for drivers who live out-of-state but purchase a vehicle in North Dakota. Temporary "Drive Out" permits are valid for 30 days from the date of issue and allows the applicant to drive legally from to their home state. Drive Out permits must be displayed in the window of the vehicle at all times.
The MVD also provides a self-issuing temporary auto registration permit that can be used on cars for up to 30 days from the date of acquisition. The temporary car registry applicant must obtain these from a dealer or law enforcement agency and obtain proper registration and title during the 30 days.
Applicants with questions on how to get car registration documents can call the North Dakota DOT at (701) 328-2725, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. through 5 p.m.