In order to apply for a new South Dakota car registration, you need to complete a number of important steps when applying. In order to simplify the process, you will need to gather the necessary documents, calculate your required fee payment before being able to obtain a South Dakota car registration. Online assistance can help you complete all of these steps quickly and easily by providing you with all of the information you need to know about replacing your license. Start simplifying your application process today.
2. By Mail
Rather than get ahead with online assistance and services, some South Dakota residents prefer to handle their DMV transactions via mail. Drivers can complete a few different procedures by mail, but payment methods are restricted, and the transactions have inconvenient and lengthy turnaround times for results.
3. Via a DMV Office
Certain transactions must be completed in person at a South Dakota DMV office. However, before visiting a local branch, be sure to verify that the location offers the service you require. Not all DMV procedures can be completed at every location. Additionally, note that wait times are typically lengthy. So make sure to take advantage of online assistance to prepare for your visit.
South Dakota car registration is a process managed by the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) of the state Department of Revenue. The SD DMV handles car registration and titles for new and used vehicles and ensures compliance with the state laws and regulations pertaining to vehicle ownership. New car registration and title documents must be issued any time a transfer of ownership takes place. To learn more about the kinds of car registration in SD and how to obtain them, read the sections detailed below.
South Dakota Vehicle Registration Information Required
Whether you need to get car registration for a new or used vehicle, most of the required documentation is the same. First, obtain the SD vehicle registration Form MV-608, Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration. This application must be signed by the owner on record or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the recorded owner. When an authorized agent signs a car registration application, it must be accompanied by a power of attorney granting him or her permission to do so. Applications for vehicles purchased out-of-state must be presented to the SD DMV car registration agent with a bill of sale, purchase order or sales contract.
Other registration of vehicle documentation should include a driver's license to verify identity. South Dakota is a "plate with owner" state, which means that the owner retains their license plates when they sell a car and transfers the license plate to the next vehicle. This means that you should take your old license plates to the SD DMV car registration appointment so that the agent can reassign them to your new car.
Where to Register a Car in South Dakota for the First Time
Drivers wondering, "Where do I register my car for the first time?" can contact their local county treasurer's office. First-time car registration in South Dakota is processed at these facilities located across the state. New South Dakota residents must obtain auto registration and change auto titles to SD within 90 days of moving. Current SD residents must get car registration on newly-acquired vehicles within 45 days of taking possession. Online and mail-order auto registration services are only available to applicants renewing registration.
How to Register a New Car in South Dakota
In South Dakota, a new car registration can be initiated by the purchaser or by the dealer if the car was bought at a licensed dealership. Car registry applicants who bought a new car from a dealer must include the dealer's purchase order when providing documents to the DMV agent.
Motor vehicle registration fees will vary according to the vehicle's age and weight. The purchase price on the new vehicle also influences the car registry fee, with things such as cash down payments, rebates or other applied money impacting the total amount due. If the vehicle weighs less than 10,000 pounds, the auto registration fee is based on the DMV current license fee schedule. Pickup trucks that weigh between 6,000 and 9,999 pounds can have their car registration fees determined under the current, non-commercial gross weight vehicle fee schedule. Some counties also impose a wheel tax that varies by location.
How to Register a Used Car in South Dakota
Getting car registration on a used vehicle bought in South Dakota is much like obtaining it on a new car, whether you purchased it at a dealership or from an individual in a private transaction. Drivers who move to South Dakota but have already obtained vehicle registration and titling in another state are granted reciprocity with regard to paying taxes. If your previous state tax rate is above the South Dakota rate, then you will not have to pay additional tax at registration. If your state tax rate is below South Dakota rate, then you will only have to pay the difference between the two figures. To avoid fines, register and title cars within 90 days of your move. South Dakota DMV car registration agents accept payments by cash, check or money order. Some locations also accept debit and credit card payments.
Temporary South Dakota Vehicle Registration
Temporary vehicle registration in South Dakota is called a Seller's Permit. This car registry document allows a new car owner to drive it legally on roadways while waiting to apply for their own title and registration. The seller can print this temporary DMV car registration for the buyer online or obtain one at a County Treasurer's office. South Dakota temporary car registry Seller's Permits are valid for 45 days, the same length of time the new owner has to obtain a new title and registration. Car buyers who need to pull a trailer behind their new, unregistered vehicle will need to purchase an additional 5 to 15 day permit from the County Treasurer's office to do so.
If you wish to visit the main DMV car registration headquarters, go to:
Division of Motor Vehicles
445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
Questions about how to get car registration in SD may be emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org or you can call (605) 773-3541 during normal business hours.