How to Register a Vehicle in Wyoming
Car registration in Wyoming is subject to very few requirements and restrictions. Common prerequisites such as emissions and safety inspections do not apply at either the state or county levels. VIN inspections are necessary only in certain circumstances, such as when transferring vehicles in from out of state. All motorists, however, are required to carry minimum personal liability and property damage insurance coverage before they can be issued plates. Wyoming also requires that several documents in the vehicle registration application process be notarized where other states may not.
The fees associated with registering vehicles in Wyoming vary between counties but are consistently and notably lower than many other states. Exceptions and alternatives to some requirements are available upon request or in special circumstances. New residents and motorists with newly purchased vehicles are strongly encouraged to contact their County Clerks Offices in advance of their applications with questions.
Wyoming Car Registration Requirements
DMV registration in Wyoming requires very little in the way of documentation and inspections. Generally, all that motorists need are:
- Signed and notarized titles.
- Odometer readings (for vehicles 9 or fewer model years old only).
- Title and Registration Application forms (completed, signed and notarized).
- Payment for associated fees.
- Notarized Bills of Sale (where applicable).
Applications and documents can be submitted to any Wyoming County Clerk’s Office.
Car Insurance Requirements for Registering a Car in Wyoming
To apply for a new car registration in Wyoming, motorists must have proof of auto insurance. State law requires that motorists hold at least:
- $25,000 personal injury liability coverage for one person per accident
- $50,000 personal injury liability coverage for two or more people injured in a single accident
- $20,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident.
Motorists without insurance will not be allowed to register vehicles. Motorists who allow their insurance to lapse may have their licenses or registrations suspended and be subject to fines and other penalties.
Vehicle Inspection/Smog Inspection/VIN Inspection Requirements in Wyoming
Registering a car in Wyoming does not require vehicle safety inspections or emissions inspections. State authorities require VIN inspections on any vehicles which have been registered or titled in other states or which are homebuilt or rebuilt. VIN inspections may be conducted by law enforcement officers, commissioned military officers or State DMV representatives. Inspectors must complete the appropriate section on motorists’ Title Application Forms before the forms are submitted to the DMV.
Registering a Vehicle in Wyoming
DMV registrations in Wyoming are administered at the county level. Residents may register their vehicles in any county. While the general rules, policies and forms remain the same, fees and other vehicle registration details may vary. Requirements may also vary by type of registration.
Motorists in Wyoming requesting new titles with their registrations should be aware that the state automatically checks the National Motor Vehicle Titling Information System (NMVTIS) each time it issues a title. If any brands appear on the vehicle’s NMVTIS record, they will be recorded on the new title even if the original title did not carry any brands.
To prevent unexpected or inappropriate brands as the result of retitling during the car registration process, applicants may wish to order an NMVTIS record search ahead of time to ensure that there are no brands on record of which they were not aware.
How to Register a New Car in Wyoming
Wyoming new car registration is almost always handled by dealerships. Due to the low number of requirements, dealers need very little from buyers to complete the registration process. Car registration services may differ from dealership to dealership, however, and buyers should verify with their dealers what services are included.
Registering a Used Car in Wyoming
Motorists cannot complete their initial car registration online. All newly purchased used vehicles must be registered in person at the County Clerk’s Office of motorists’ choice. Along with their notarized Wyoming Applications for Title, motorists will need:
- Their vehicles’ titles with notarized signatures of the buyer(s) and seller(s) and the odometer reading portion correctly filled in. (Does not apply to vehicles 10 or more model years old.)
- Notarized bills of sale.
- VIN checks.
- Proof of insurance.
- Registration fees.
It is important for motorists to be aware that all of the documents involved in getting a DMV registration must be properly notarized before the time of application. This is not the case in many other states and some motorists may be unaccustomed to completing that step.
VIN checks are not required when used vehicles are purchased from dealers, but are necessary for any vehicle purchased in a private sale.
How to Register a Car in Wyoming as a New Resident
New residents have 30 days to get a vehicle registration in Wyoming. All previously registered vehicles being transferred into the state must have VIN inspections in the state before they can be registered. Along with their completed VIN inspection forms, applicants must take the following to the County Clerk’s Office of their choice:
- Signed and notarized Wyoming Application for Title forms.
- Their vehicle titles (with odometer readings).
- Their out of state registrations.
- Proof of insurance.
- Payment for assigned fees.
Applicants lacking titles or other documents may call their local Clerk’s Offices to inquire about alternative options or exemptions, such as Affidavits of Ownership.
Vehicle Registration for Military Members in Wyoming
There are no special DMV registration provision for United States Armed Forces servicemembers in Wyoming. Servicemembers may, however, qualify for specialty license plates. These applications can be made concurrently with vehicle registration applications.
Wyoming License Plates
Upon completion of a Wyoming application for car registration, motorists are issued two license plates. Plates and registrations are mailed to the applicant’s addresses on file.
Wyoming Car Registration Fees
Car registration costs may vary slightly from county to county and by registration type. The DMV encourages applicants with questions about vehicle registration fees to call their local County Clerk’s Office for assistance. In general, motorists can expect to pay:
- Vehicle Title/Registration $15
- Duplicate Title/Registration $15
- VIN Inspection $10
- Searching or filing a new lien $20
- Amending or assigning liens $5