Wyoming Boater Registrations
Wyoming boat registration is managed by the Wyoming Game and Fish Department (WGFD), which states that all motorized watercraft, including those with trolling motors, must obtain and maintain current registration. The process of registration provides important identifying information to marine deputies and helps keep Wyoming’s waterways safe for all WY boat enthusiasts. Learn how to register a boat in Wyoming and find out about the state’s laws and regulations when you review the sections below.
Requirements for Boater Registration in Wyoming
“What do you need to register a boat in Wyoming?” is a question many boaters in the state may ask. One of the requirements for registration of a watercraft is to verify that your hull identification number (HIN) matches the one on your vessel and the number recorded on your DMV records. This HIN is similar to a vehicle identification number (VIN) on a car. If not, this can cause serious problems in the future.
If you discover that you do not have a HIN, or it does not match, visit your local WGFD office for help. One registration form is used for all types of vessel registration, the Watercraft Registration Application. For new registrations and transfers of ownership, provide proof of ownership in the form of a certificate of title with a valid HIN in your name.
If you bought your boat prior to January 1, 2010, call the WGFD at (307) 777-4638 for proof of ownership documents. You need to make sure that you have followed Wyoming boat registration instructions that state all motorboats must be assigned a certificate of title before getting a registration.
Exemptions from Boat Registration and Titling in Wyoming
If you are asked, “Is your boat exempt from registration in Wyoming?” refer to the list below. Common boat registration exemptions in WY are extended to the following:
- Canoes and kayaks.
- Sailboats and sailboards.
- Rowboats and other vessels powered by oars and paddles.
- Boats owned by the U.S. government.
- Out-of-state registered vessels not kept in Wyoming for more than 90 consecutive days.
Wyoming Boat Insurance
Like other types of insurance, WY boat insurance rates vary according to the level of coverage purchased. Similar to auto insurance quotes, boat insurance quotes in WY are easily obtained online or by phone.
Insurance programs specifically for boats in Wyoming are not required for registration or legal operation of a vessel on state waters. Because many insurance companies that provide boat coverage offer competitive rates, many boaters choose to protect their investments through purchasing insurance coverage.
Wyoming Boat Registration Fees
If you are wondering, “How much does it cost to register a boat in Wyoming?” note that the WGFD utilizes a simple, flat-rate registration fee schedule. The boat registration fees in Wyoming listed below are based on the length of registration and apply regardless of the length or weight of the vessel being registered.
Your total boat registration cost in Wyoming will include a state sales tax of 4 percent of the sale price and possibly, a local sales tax depending upon your county of residence. Rates are listed with and without the addition of the Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) fee.
- One-year registration: $15
- One-year registration with AIS: $25
- One-year dealer registration: $15
- Three-year registration: $40
- Three-year registration with AIS: $70
- Duplicate registration documents: $5
Renewing Your Wyoming Boat Registration
You may renew boat registration online in Wyoming by submitting information and paying fees through the WGFD’s renewal portal. If you prefer in-person transactions but are unsure of how to renew your boat registration in WY this way, simply visit your closest WGFD office with your registration renewal notice and the proper fees, and a clerk will submit your application.
Or, you may mail your renewal documents in Wyoming to:
Wyoming Game and Fish Department Headquarters 5400 Bishop Blvd. Cheyenne, WY 82006
You will know when to renew a boat registration in Wyoming even without receiving a registration renewal notice. Not only is the registration renewal date shown on your registration documents, all watercraft registrations expire on December 31 for the period and year you chose at the time of registration.
Replacing Your Wyoming Boat Registration
You should replace a boat registration in Wyoming any time you discover that the documents are missing or destroyed. You may not replace a boat registration online, but it is simple to request a duplicate registration in person or by mail.
The process of registration replacement in Wyoming involves completing registration replacement form called the Wyoming Watercraft Application and check the “duplicate” box. Take it along with your $5 fee payment to your local WGFD regional office, or mail your application to the same address used for registration renewal above.
Boater Safety Courses in Wyoming
Boaters are not required to take a boater safety course in Wyoming, but the WGFD strongly recommends it for all serious boat enthusiasts. Taking this type of course provides you with the knowledge to become a smarter and safer boater, and it can even result in discounts on boat insurance premiums.
There are several boating safety education options in Wyoming, such as an online course. Or you can request a home study course from the WGFD headquarters in Cheyenne.
Wyoming Boater License
Unlike a driving license, an online boating license or one obtained in person is not a requirement in the state of Wyoming in order to operate a boat. Instead of a boater license, a boater safety card provides proof that a boater completed a boating safety course and has acquired the knowledge and skills to be a safer boater.