Wyoming DUIs and DWIs
FREE DUI Attorney Consultation
Find a Top Rated Lawyer In Your Area
Drivers who violate Wyoming DUI laws may be penalized with several harsh penalties, such as lengthy driver’s license suspensions or revocations and jail sentences. In addition to the administrative DUI penalties issued by the Department of Transportation (DOT), motorists convicted of driving while under the influence (DWUI) will also be sanctioned through the state court system.
Note that, even if you avoid a DWI conviction, the administrative penalties will not be affected and you will be required to complete your DOT-imposed suspension. Read the following sections to learn more about the drunk driving laws in WY and the consequences that may arise by violating them.
Wyoming DUI Citations and Convictions
Motorists are at a risk of receiving a Wyoming DWI ticket if they operate their vehicle while intoxicated with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) above the legal limit. When placed under a DWI arrest, drivers will be asked to take a BAC test for purposes of determining the level of their intoxication.
Those who fail the BAC test will be penalized with a suspended license for the duration of 90 days. The penalties for refusing to undergo testing, on the other hand, are more severe than those that apply for a test failure.
If your DUI violation results in a DWI conviction on your driving record, you will also be facing criminal penalties administered by the state courts. Note that if you complete a certain portion of an administrative penalty period, it will be credited toward any court-imposed suspension or revocation.
Wyoming Under the Influence Violations and Penalties
Several Wyoming DUI penalties are generally administered to drivers who violate the state driving laws. The consequences that may arise from DUI offenses in WY vary based on factors such as the driver’s age and the number of previous convictions on record. Unlike first DUI convictions, for instance, subsequent court convictions will result in longer jail sentences and larger fines.
First DUI Offense
Reports of first DWI convictions in Wyoming result in 90-day license suspensions and fines of up to $750. Drivers who violate the state laws on DUIs for the first time are also penalized with jail sentences of up to six months. If your BAC level was .15 percent or greater at the moment of arrest, you will also be required to install an ignition interlock device for 6 months following your driving license reinstatement.
Second DUI Offense
Second DUI violations committed within 10 years of the first may potentially lead to credential suspensions of one year. Drivers who commit second DUI offenses will also be penalized with an imprisonment sentence of up to six months with a mandatory jail stay of 7 days. The WY cost of DUI fines for second drunk driving convictions currently varies from $250 to $750.
Third and Subsequent DUI Offenses
Convictions of third or subsequent DUI violations in Wyoming result in license revocations of 3 years. The jail sentence imposed for second convictions is set at 2 years with a mandatory prison term of 30 days. The applicable fines in this type of cases may range up to $10,000, and motorists will be required to attend a substance abuse evaluation and adequate treatment program as well.
Drinking and Driving in Wyoming
Severe Wyoming DUI consequences arise when a conviction is reported on a driver’s record due to the contributing role of intoxicants in almost half of the accidents that result in the loss of human life within the state. The possibility of committing a DUI offense in WY increases with the amount of alcohol and/or drugs that you have consumed, since intoxicants severely impair your ability to drive.
As a strong deterrent against drunk driving law violations, the Department of Transportation and the presiding courts implement a combination of the penalties above. One of the consequences of DUI in Wyoming is the mandatory participation in a substance abuse evaluation and treatment program.
Wyoming DUI Attorneys
By hiring a Wyoming DUI lawyer, drivers who have been arrested for a DUI will improve their chances of obtaining a favorable outcome regarding their case. A good DUI defense attorney in WY can help defendants choose the best plea to take and prepare an adequate defense strategy. Should a client be unfamiliar with the specific laws he or she has violated, a lawyer can provide an in-depth explanation.
An attorney can help you meet any court-imposed requirements after the conclusion of the proceedings as well. When seeking DUI help in WY, contact several lawyers and inquire about their experience with cases similar to yours in order to ensure you engage the services of a professional that will meet your needs.
Wyoming Open Container Laws
As part of the Wyoming DUI laws, motorists are also prohibited from consuming or possessing alcoholic beverages while in operation of their vehicles on any public roadway within the state. To avoid committing a violation, motorists who are transporting alcoholic drinks must avoid opening the containers and store them in a remote section of the vehicle, inaccessible to the driver.
Reinstating a Suspended Drivers License in Wyoming
Reinstating a license from a Wyoming DUI drivers license suspension or revocation is a process that can be finalized only after completing the penalty period of the administrative and/or court-imposed sanction.
Eligible drivers can pay the cost of DUI reinstatement by mail, by phone or in person at a DOT location. However, motorists whose licenses were suspended or revoked due to a Wyoming DUI offense will first have to ensure they have:
- Fulfilled any court-imposed obligations.
- Installed an ignition interlock device (if required).
- Enrolled in a substance abuse assessment and treatment program (if required).
- Filed the mandatory proof of vehicle insurance.
Note: Drivers whose credentials were revoked as a result of a DWI conviction will also be required to retake the driving tests and reapply for a new driving license in WY.
Wyoming Alcohol Awareness Classes
Motorists who commit a DUI violation in Wyoming may be required to attend a specialized DUI traffic school program as part of the administered penalties. Classes generally cover topics on the applicable driving laws and the effects of intoxicants on the driver’s ability to operate a vehicle.
To learn whether or not you are required to attend a WY DUI course as part of your reinstatement requirements, contact a nearby DOT office.
Wyoming SR-22 Insurance
As one of the conditions to reinstate a suspended license or a revoked credential, drivers are generally required to submit proof of a valid car insurance policy. As evidence of DUI insurance, the state DOT requires the submission of the SR-22 form, which is a document that proves the driver’s future financial responsibility.
Note that DUI insurance companies in WY submit the SR-22 form on behalf of the motorist, and they must inform the department in the event that the policy is canceled. This certificate of SR-22 car insurance must typically be maintained for at least three years from the date of conviction.
Wyoming Laws That Pertain to DUI/DWI
The strict Wyoming impaired driving laws that are regulated by law enforcement agencies within the state prohibit drivers from operating a vehicle with a BAC level over the legal limit. Note that motorists may be committing a DUI violation with a different amount of BAC, as the legal limit of intoxication varies depending on the age of the driver.
Adult licensees, for instance, are at risk of arrest for DWI if they drive with a BAC level greater than .07 percent. Drivers younger than 21 years of age, on the other hand, will be in violation of the state laws if they operate a motor vehicle with a BAC level larger than .01 percent.
Note: In certain cases, adult motorists may be subjected to DUI penalties even with a BAC as low as .05 percent.
Probationary Driver License in Wyoming
Drivers who are completing a DUI drivers license suspension in Wyoming may be eligible for limited driving privileges, which will allow them to resume their driving activities in limited circumstances. Motorists whose driving licenses were affected by a conviction can initiate the process of applying for a probationary license by requesting a record review with the DOT Office of Administrative Hearings.
If you are applying for limited driving privileges while a DUI suspended license is in effect on your driving record, you will be required to submit your plea in writing, along with the applicable fee payment, within 20 days of receiving the notice of suspension. After receiving your application, the department will review your eligibility for a probationary license and send you instructions on how to proceed with the application process.
Note: Drivers penalized with WY DUI violation-related suspensions can apply for limited driving privileges only once within a five-year period.