Arkansas DUIs and DWIs
FREE DUI Attorney Consultation
Find a Top Rated Lawyer In Your Area
Both Arkansas DUI and DWI offenses are considered serious and dangerous traffic violations. Drivers who break AR driving laws will receive severe penalties as a result of drinking while driving.
DUI penalties include certain demerit points added to your driving license, high fines, imprisonment and driver’s license suspension. Discover more details about DUI consequences in Arkansas by reading the following sections.
DUI Citations and Convictions in Arkansas
A DWI conviction is a severe sentences that is given to those who are found guilty of drinking while driving. Drivers charged with a DUI will also have points added to their driving records and face related penalties even if they are not convicted in court.
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs may also be considered a felony or a misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances and the number of DUI charges and conviction a driver has accumulated over time.
Arkansas DUI Violations and Penalties
Consequences for driving while intoxicated may vary based on the severity of the charge and any additional charges. Penalties will also vary depending on the age, breath alcohol content (BrAC) and blood alcohol content (BAC) of the driver. Motorists will also receive varying consequences depending on how many consecutive DUI violations they commit.
First DUI Offense
The penalties for a first DUI may bring you a driving fine between $150 and $1,000 that must be paid along with the applicable court costs. Additionally, drivers may receive a prison sentence of one year and may get their driving privileges suspended for a period of up to six months.
Note: A first refusal of a blood alcohol concentrate (BAC) test will result in a driver’s license suspension period of 180 days.
Second DUI Offense
After the first DUI offense, drivers may be sent to prison for a specified period of time, depending on the severity of the offense and the consequences that resulted. A second DUI offense committed in a period of five years may result in a two-year driver’s license suspension and overall tougher penalties.
In such situations, an AR drunk driving attorney is needed to help you avoid further penalties and to help you get out of prison.
Third DUI Offense
Drivers who commit a third DUI in a five-year period may receive a driver’s license suspension for 30 months. Hiring a DUI defense attorney is the best solution if you do not want to lose your driving privileges.
Fourth DUI Offense
Committing a fourth offense will bring you the most severe penalties. For instance, a fourth DUI within five years may result in your driving license being revoked for a period of four years and an extended prison sentence.
Note: Refusing a BAC test for a fourth time within five years will result in a permanent revocation of your driving privileges.
Drinking and Driving in Arkansas
Driving intoxicated includes operating motor vehicles not only under the influence of alcohol, but also under the influence of drugs and other intoxicants that can impair a motorist’s ability to driver safely. In addition to a DUI, drivers may be charged with committing a criminal offense if they cause the death or injury of other drivers and passengers.
Hiring a DUI attorney is an action that you must make immediately after committing such a criminal offense in order to avoid severe penalties and to reduce the possible prison sentence.
Arkansas DUI Attorneys
A DUI attorney is a legal representative who will defend you against severe charges that you are faced with. These attorneys specialize in citation laws and have full access to information regarding Arkansas drunk driving laws and charges.
Drivers are encouraged to hire a defense professional who will help them deal with everything form minor misdemeanors to severe felonies. Prior to hiring a DUI lawyer, drivers should keep in mind that they will need to conduct background checks for several possible legal representatives in order to choose the best one.
Reinstating a Suspended Drivers License in Arkansas
The process of reinstating a suspended license may vary depending on the type of DUI charge and the severity of the offense you have committed. Drivers who are charged with a DUI may reinstate their driver’s licenses by waiting for the suspension period to pass and satisfying the court requirements.
In addition, they may need to submit clearance documents and a proof of SR-22 auto insurance. Motorists will also need to pass the required exams and pay the reinstatement fees. Moreover, drivers may be required to take driving education courses that focus on DUIs, such as a Drug and Alcohol Safety Education Program (DASEP).
Arkansas Alcohol Awareness Classes
Drivers may be required to enroll in DUI courses when facing drunk driving charges in Arkansas. For instance, motorists may complete the AR Drug and Alcohol Safety Education Program (DASEP) in order to prevent accumulating demerit points on your license and driving record, or to avoid a driver’s license suspension.
For more information about the available traffic school courses available for DUI education, contact your local Arkansas DMV office.
Arkansas Laws That Pertain to DUI/DWI
Harsh DUI penalties will be given to drivers who fail or refuse to take a BrAC or BAC test when pulled over by a law enforcement officer. This offense is considered a breach of the implied consent law, which must be followed by all drivers.
Moreover, drivers will be charged with a DUI when they have a higher BAC level than the allowed 0.08 percent for adults, or the 0.02 percent for minors who drive.
Note: Unlike most states, Arkansas does not have an open container law.
Arkansas Hardship License
Hardship licenses in Arkansas are issued only to minors between 14 and 16 years of age who need to legally operate a motor vehicle for work, school or medical reasons.