In order to renew your Arkansas drivers license, you need to complete a number of important steps when applying. In order to simplify the process, you will need to gather the necessary documents and calculate your required fee payment before being able to renew your Arkansas drivers license. Online assistance can help you complete all of these steps quickly and easily by providing you with all of the information you need to know about renew your license. Start simplifying your application process today.
2. By Mail
Rather than get ahead with online assistance and services, some Arkansas residents prefer to handle their DMV transactions via mail. Drivers can complete a few different procedures by mail, but payment methods are restricted, and the transactions have inconvenient and lengthy turnaround times for results.
3. Via a DMV Office
Certain transactions must be completed in person at an Arkansas DMV office. However, before visiting a local branch, be sure to verify that the location offers the service you require. Not all DMV procedures can be completed at every location. Additionally, note that wait times are typically lengthy. So make sure to take advantage of online assistance to prepare for your visit.
Arkansas Drivers License Renewal
Drivers must be familiar with how to renew drivers licenses in Arkansas in order to maintain their current driving privileges. The state's drivers license renewal process must be completed through the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (AR DFA). In most cases, you will be required to make an in-person visit at the local DMV if you are present in the state. Those drivers who are currently out of state can renew drivers licenses in AR by mail instead. Read more about the driver's license renewal process in the sections below.
How to Renew Your AR Driver's License
Arizona drivers can renew drivers licenses in person by visiting their local DMV office. Those drivers who are out of Arkansas or on a military service may be allowed to complete a drivers license renewal by mail, but only if they fulfill certain requirements. To find out whether you are eligible to renew AR drivers licenses from out-of-state, contact the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (AR DFA).
The Arkansas driving license renewal fee may vary, depending on the type of driver's license you apply for. The renewal cost for a Class D driver's license is $40, the same amount as for a new regular AR driving license.
When to Renew Your Arkansas Driver's License
Renewing drivers licenses in Arkansas is a process that must be done before your license's expiration date, which is often your birthday. Note that an AR drivers license renewal must be conducted every eight years via the state's Department of Finance and Administration. The validity period of your driver's license will be for eight years.
Note: Drivers who have traffic violations or unpaid traffic tickets must resolve these matters before renewing their drivers licenses. Order a copy of your AR driving record today, in order to check your driving history.
Drivers are required to renew expired drivers licenses in Arkansas within 31 days of the expiration date to avoid penalties and fees. For your convenience, a renewal notice will be sent to you in the mail prior to the expiration date on your driver's license.
Requirements To Renew An Arkansas License
Arkansas drivers must renew drivers licenses in person at their local AR DFA office. When completing your DMV drivers license renewal in AR, make sure to be prepared for the following:
- Submit your current AR driver's license.
- Pay the $40 required fee.
- Pass a vision exam.
Out-of-State Military Renewal
The steps to renew drivers licenses in Arkansas is also available to drivers in the military, or who are studying and working out of state. Note that you can begin the process by submitting a drivers license renewal request by phone. An application form will then be sent to your out-of-state address. Drivers can also send their request via email or directly to an Arkansas DFA office. When submitting your information, make sure to include your full name, driver's license number or Social Security Number, permanent address in Arkansas, current out-of-state address and phone number. To finalize the process, complete the following:
- Fill out a drivers license renewal application form.
- Make a payment of $40 using a check or money order.
- Send your application and payment to the AR DMV.