DMV.com is a privately owned website. Privacy

How to Renew a Driver's License in Alabama

Alabama Drivers License Renewal

The process for renewing drivers licenses in Alabama must be completed by drivers who want to continue operating motor vehicles on public roads. Drivers can begin with the AL drivers license renewal process at the nearest Department of Public Safety (DPS) office. In Alabama, you are required to renew their drivers licenses every four years. The AL DPS permits drivers to renew drivers licenses 60 days before the expiration date. Read below to learn more about how to get a renewed driver's license.

How to Renew Your AL Driver's License



Renew Alabama Drivers License

Note: Note: The expiration date of your license can be found on the front of your driver's license, under the class of the vehicle you are operating.

When beginning your process for Alabama drivers license renewal, you will have to first select the most suitable option for you. You can renew your drivers license in AL at the nearest AL DPS office within 60 days prior to the expiration date. The renewal process will require you to submit certain documentation at the DMV office, as well as an application form for renewing drivers licenses, available online. The Alabama Department of Public Safety (AL DPS) also allows drivers to renew drivers licenses in a 60-day period after the expiration date. Drivers also are allowed to renew their licenses up to three years after the date of expiry, but may be required to retake all of the necessary exams.

Fees

The fees for a DMV license renewal in Alabama might vary, depending on the type of driver's license you are renewing, and your renewal method. The current AL driving license renewal fee is $36.25. This fee may be subject to change without notice, therefore contact the Alabama Department of Public Safety before making any payments. Acceptable payment methods include cash or money order. Drivers are encouraged to renew their drivers licenses before the expiration date in order to avoid any additional fees.

When to Renew Your Alabama Driver's License

Drivers can renew drivers licenses in Alabama up to 60 days prior to the expiration date. Additionally, drivers are allowed to complete their drivers license renewal application within a 60-day "grace period" after the expiration date. The Alabama DPS will allow you to renew your drivers license within three years after it expires. Your AL driver's license will still be valid during this 60-day period.

Expired License

Motorists with AL expired drivers licenses in their possession must renew their credential in order to maintain driving privileges. Drivers will be given a 60-day "grace period" to complete drivers license renewal application process. During this period drivers can legally operate a motor vehicle and renew their drivers licenses without taking any re-examinations. Alabama residents are also allowed to renew expired drivers licenses within three years after the expiration date, but are prohibited from driving motor vehicles with an expired license, because they will be considered as illegal drivers. During this three-year period, drivers with expired drivers licenses will be required by the AL DPS to retake the written and/or the road test in order to renew their drivers licenses.

Temporary Permits

Temporary permits are issued by the Alabama Department of Public Safety (AL DPS) only to those applicants who have requested a drivers license renewal in person at the DMV office. After submitting the necessary documentation, the AL DPS will issue a temporary permit that you can use until you receive your permanent drivers license in the mail. The permanent renewed driver's license will arrive at your mailing address within 30 days.

Requirements To Renew An Alabama License

Drivers who want to renew drivers licenses in Alabama must complete certain requirements set by the Department of Public Services (AL DPS). Whether you are renewing in person or by mail (for the military members), you will be required to submit the following documentation to the nearest DMV office:

Drivers may also be required to provide proof of identity and address of residency, depending on their specific situation. Contact the Alabama DPS before your DMV drivers license renewal process to find out more. Additionally, drivers who have expired drivers licenses in Alabama that have been invalid for more than 60 days will need to retake the written and/or road test.

AL Drivers License Online Renewal

The process of renewing drivers licenses in Alabama cannot be completed online. However, you can obtain an electronic version of the AL drivers license renewal application form from the DPS website. When filling out this form, make sure to adhere to special instructions about how to renew drivers licenses. Once you have completed the form, submit it either in person at the nearest DMV office, or by mail if you are out-of-state and in the military.

Renewing Your AL Drivers License In-Person

The Alabama drivers license renewal processes can be completed in person at the nearest DMV office. The AL Department of Public Safety has certain requirements set for drivers who want to renew their drivers licenses. Drivers are required to do the following:

  • Submit their current Alabama driver's license.
  • Submit a payment for the required fee, either via cash or a money order.
  • Have their photo taken at the DMV office.

Drivers may also be required to submit proof of identification and their current residential address. To ensure you have the proper documents at hand, contact the AL DPS prior to renewing your drivers licenses in Alabama.

Out-of-State Military Renewal

The Alabama DMV license renewal process is available to drivers currently serving in the military, who are not present in the state to complete any necessary steps. Note that military members can only renew their drivers licenses in AL by mail. To get started, download the drivers license renewal application form from the AL DPS website, complete it and send by mail to the AL DPS mailing address. Along with the application form, drivers must include a money order for the $36.25 driving license renewal fee. Provided that the AL DPS has your photograph and signature on file, you will get your new drivers license by mail at your out-of-state address.

Note: Military members who are renewing drivers licenses in Alabama from out-of-state must provide an in-state residential address.

Have a Question? Get Instant Online Answers!

Powered By

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save DMV.com Exclusive!