What To Do After a Car Accident in Alabama
Compare Auto Insurance Rates and SaveDMV.com Exclusive!
Best practice guide for what you need to do in case you are in an auto accident in AL
If you are involved in an accident or collision in Alabama, you must be prepared to act responsibly and in accordance with State law. Following are some general guidelines and more specific requirements to follow in case of an accident.
FIRST AND FOREMOST
As a responsible driver, you must never leave the scene of an accident. Not only is it essential that you provide any necessary help immediately following an accident, but leaving an accident scene can result in having your driving privileges revoked or your license suspended.
After stopping your vehicle, you should pull up as close to the accident as safely possible, without obstructing traffic. Take a moment to assess the situation, and do not panic. Be aware of the traffic situation, and any other potential dangers, such as fire.
You should do your best to provide immediate assistance to other motorists, passengers or pedestrians that may have been injured in the accident. Take extra care when attempting to move an injured person; if possible, wait for an ambulance to arrive. Notify 911 to report any injuries and call for medical assistance. If the accident did not result in any injuries, inform the local Alabama police, sheriff or highway patrol.
If you have been injured in a car accident, it is important to stay calm. If possible, ensure that you are out of danger and not blocking any oncoming traffic. Call or wait for help, and do not attempt to move if you are unable to do so. See Auto Accident Injuries for more information.
If you are involved in an accident in Alabama, you are required to provide certain information to the other parties involved. Likewise, fellow motorists, passengers or pedestrians involved in the accident must share similar information with you. Also, it is often wise to ask for the information of witnesses to the accident just in case you need to have them testify at a later date. The key information to exchange in the aftermath of an accident includes:
- Name, address and contact details
- Driver license number
- License plate number of the vehicles involved
- Auto insurance information for the motorists involved.
If you hit an unattended vehicle, you must make an effort to find the owner or driver, and follow these same procedures. If you are unable to locate the owner of an unattended vehicle, you are required to leave a note indicating your name and contact information, and a brief description of the accident.
REPORTING AN ACCIDENT TO THE ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
- In some situations, you must report an accident to the Alabama Department of Public Safety. You are required to complete and submit a Safety Responsibility Accident Report within 30 days of an accident, if any of the following apply:
- The accident caused injury or death
- The accident resulted in damage to property exceeding $250
The duly completed form should be mailed to the following address:
Driver License Division Safety Responsibility Unit P.O. Box 1471 Montgomery, AL 36102.
- Please note that this form has to be completed even if the accident was not your fault. Out of state drivers who are involved in an accident in Alabama are also required to complete the form in case any of the above applies. All submissions must be made by mail or in person. Submissions through fax will not be entertained. For more information on filling out Safety Responsibility Accident Report check out the FAQs.
- Your report must include detailed and current information regarding your insurance coverage. Any law enforcement officials that arrive on the scene have the right to ask you to provide Proof of Liability Insurance. If you do not have the necessary papers on hand, or no law enforcement officials arrived on the scene, you are required to submit the a Proof of Liability Insurance form to the Department of Public Safety.
- If your license is suspended as a result of being involved in an accident, you have the following options available to you:
- In case you have completed payment for all damages that you owed, you should complete and send a General Release form to the Department of Public Safety.
- In case you have started to make payments for damages caused as a result of an accident you should send a Conditional Release form to prevent your license from being suspended.
- If your driver license has been suspended as a result of your involvement in an accident but you have not been sued, AND more than two years have passed since the date of the accident, you can initiate the process for getting your license reinstated by filling a No Court Action Statement.
- Notify your auto insurance company if you are involved in an accident.
- See also Auto Accident Injuries.
- In the event that you are injured in an auto accident, consider contacting a personal injury attorney. Retain copies of any medical expenses incurred as a result of an accident.
- See also Driving Record and Driving School.