An Alabama motorcycle license is an official credential issued by the state Department of Public Safety (DPS) for the purposes of granting driving privileges to motorcyclists within the state. Applying for a can be completed through a local DPS office, which oversees the issuance of Alabama driver’s licenses and identification cards. The department issues the AL motorbike driving license as a separate license instead of as an endorsement added to an existing driver’s license. However, depending on the rider’s age, the department may place certain restrictions on the license. Learn more about applying for a motorcycle license in AL by reading the sections below.

Motorcycle License Requirements in Alabama

To get a full bike license in Alabama, applicants will be required to meet the applicable requirements set forth by the state. The main requirement to obtain a license is meeting the minimum age, which varies depending on the type of license requested. An unrestricted AL bike license, for example, can only be obtained by riders 16 years of age or older. However, drivers between 13 and 16 years old can also obtain a restricted class M license for a motor-driven bicycle.

One of the more important bike license requirements in AL is submitting several types of documents, which will vary slightly depending on whether you are requesting a standard credential or one that abides by the regulations of the federal REAL ID act. The standard paperwork for a full motorbike license is outlined below:

  • Two forms of identification, which must contain a photo ID document and a form from the DPS primary list of documents (one form can meet both requirements).
  • Three forms of identification, if submitting non-photo identification documents.
  • A Social Security card or a letter of ineligibility.
  • Two proofs of state residency, such as financial statements and rental agreements, if applying for a REAL ID license.
  • Proof of school enrollment or graduation, if younger than 19 years of age.

To get motorcycle license credentials, applicants will also be required to prove that they have the knowledge and skill necessary to safely operate a motorcycle by passing the state driving exams. Other requirements include paying the total AL motorcycle license cost, as well as keeping a clear driving record as well. Applicants who are penalized with a driving license suspension in any state will be unable to apply for a license with the department. Riders licensed outside of Alabama may be able to replace a motorcycle license from out-of-state without retaking the state driving tests.

Alabama Motorcycle License Tests

The state DPS will issue an AL Class M license only to applicants who successfully pass the state licensing tests. The main tests administered when getting your motorcycle license are the vision screening, the knowledge test and the practical riding test. While the vision test is the same as the one that must be met by driving license applicants, the knowledge and the skills test differ. The written exam administered to bike license applicants will test their knowledge on road rules and regulations, traffic signals, driving laws and safe riding practices. The Class M license driving test, on the other hand, will examine the rider’s basic vehicle control skills and his or her ability to maintain a steady composure in risky traffic situations.

The Alabama Motorcycle License Application Process

Since you cannot obtain your first motorcycle license online, you will be required to submit the necessary documents and fees in person through a nearby DPS driver license office. To expedite the process of applying for a bike license you can schedule an appointment for your visit through the official DPS website. To finalize the process of getting your motorbike license in AL, you will most likely be required to follow these steps:

  • Submit the necessary identification documents.
  • Pass the applicable licensing tests.
  • Pay the applicable licensing fees.

Note that when applying for a class M license in AL, you may be required to make several office visits, since you may have to take the skills test on a separate date. The state DPS will print your bike license and mail it to your address within 30 days after passing the on-cycle test. Until you receive your official license, you can utilize the temporary license issued to you on the date you pass the final test.

Alabama Motorcycle License Fees

Arranging payment for the Alabama motorcycle license cost is one of the more important steps when applying for a motorbike permit in the state. The fee for a standard M class license in AL is currently set at $36.25. However, the total cost of a new motorbike license will also include a knowledge test fee of $5. Licensing fees do not include vehicle registration fees for motorcycles. If you obtain a restricted license for a motorcycle, which authorizes you to drive only motor-driven cycles, you may be able to convert it to a full license at no cost once you are 16 years old.

For more information about the license fees, contact a local DPS office. Note that depending on your county of residence, you may be required to pay an extra service fee.

Last updated on Wednesday, September 26 2018.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!